We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
51
288
231
49
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
288
231
49
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sule pagoda toilet and shower free bottles of water hot water location is great aung san market walking distance heart of downtown boutique hotel street food noodles privacy corridor taxi
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a nice little hotel in central Yangon, 2 blocks away from the Sule Pagoda and walking distance from the Aung San Market. The rooms are clean and comfortable although not very big; the people are very nice and helpful and the breakfast is decent. For Yangon standards I think this is a very decent deal unless you have loads of dollars in which case you can go and stay at the Traders Hotel, on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived in the dark as our plane from Mandalay was delayed and were only staying overnight but the room smelled of mildew and it was filthy.around the windows etc. we would not have a shower as we could/would not stand on the timber. the shower and toilet were on either side of a cupboard and were curtained off from the room and bed Not a separate bathroom. Toilet seat and lid were permanently brown stained. Bed comfortable and breakfast just adequate .
We had stayed in two beautiful hotels prior and done the cruise on the Irrawaddy on Pandaw so were very disappointed in this accommodation. Show walls were also stained and dirty.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The East Hotel would be above average compared to similar properties in Myanmar, but that means about "average" by international standards. Great location in Yangon, right across from the much-more expensive Traders Hotel. We stayed here both upon our arrival and departure, touring the country in between. Friendly staff and a decent restaurant for those times when you just don't want to venture out. Unlimited bottled water on every floor: Very, very nice amenity! Strong A/C and hot water. On the down side, our first room had a beaded curtain as a door to the bathroom and during our second stay, there was a folding door -- neither allowed much privacy by Western standards. The East is a good option for the price. There was also a mix up on our check-out date and the staff was kind enough to allow us to check out at 8 pm since our flight was at midnight... much, much appreciated!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzy4751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The best reference to this Hotel it's the location, that couldn't be better.
It has all the amenities you may need, although it is not a luxury or "boutique" hotel, not by far, but it's Yangon and you must adapt yourself to it's reality, so I believe the the cost-benefit balance it's quite positive.
It is spotless clean and with very attentive staff as is standard in Myanmar.
You have restaurants an all the shops at walking distance and the taxis are really inexpensive if you're too tired to walk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tugaviajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

for people in budget, it is a good catch.

i don't understand how the prices have gone double and the service and amenities the same.

i hated the fact that there are no lights. i can't see a thing. i had to use the reading lights to see my luggage. there were also holes on the floor. me and my friend can only wonder why.

but there's free water. i think water is cheap in myanmar.

i've read that the high tourist influx caused the prices to reach an all time high. bangkok hotels are really value for money. yangon has a long way to go before prices become competitive again. for the money i paid USD 90- i could probably stayed two days in a good hotel in bangkok.

A.S.

Room Tip: free water. bring wet ones in myanmar. there's gonna be a lot of barefoot walking. wear rubber sandals. bring plastic so you don't have to deposit your shoes and be asked to make a "donation" in pagodas.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews