We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Spring Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$334
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
50
285
230
48
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
285
230
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssule pagodatoilet and showercentral locationfree bottles of waterhot waterwalking distancemain buildinglocation is greataung san marketboutique hoteldowntown yangonstreet foodnoodlesprivacycorridortaxiwardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location in central downtown Yangon, close to markets, restaurants, sights. I liked the restaurant, with its trendy decor and ambient music, and the papaya milk shakes. The staff were friendly. The room was a reasonable size but - and this is a big but - the toilet and the only window were behind a screen that folded in and out of the room. Hardly ideal, and embarrassing for a married couple like us, let alone people who might have stomach problems. Our shower overflowed regularly into the room. But, having said all that, it was good value for the money we paid

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JeffAstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a nice little hotel in central Yangon, 2 blocks away from the Sule Pagoda and walking distance from the Aung San Market. The rooms are clean and comfortable although not very big; the people are very nice and helpful and the breakfast is decent. For Yangon standards I think this is a very decent deal unless you have loads of dollars in which case you can go and stay at the Traders Hotel, on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived in the dark as our plane from Mandalay was delayed and were only staying overnight but the room smelled of mildew and it was filthy.around the windows etc. we would not have a shower as we could/would not stand on the timber. the shower and toilet were on either side of a cupboard and were curtained off from the room and bed Not a separate bathroom. Toilet seat and lid were permanently brown stained. Bed comfortable and breakfast just adequate .
We had stayed in two beautiful hotels prior and done the cruise on the Irrawaddy on Pandaw so were very disappointed in this accommodation. Show walls were also stained and dirty.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The East Hotel would be above average compared to similar properties in Myanmar, but that means about "average" by international standards. Great location in Yangon, right across from the much-more expensive Traders Hotel. We stayed here both upon our arrival and departure, touring the country in between. Friendly staff and a decent restaurant for those times when you just don't want to venture out. Unlimited bottled water on every floor: Very, very nice amenity! Strong A/C and hot water. On the down side, our first room had a beaded curtain as a door to the bathroom and during our second stay, there was a folding door -- neither allowed much privacy by Western standards. The East is a good option for the price. There was also a mix up on our check-out date and the staff was kind enough to allow us to check out at 8 pm since our flight was at midnight... much, much appreciated!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezzy4751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The best reference to this Hotel it's the location, that couldn't be better.
It has all the amenities you may need, although it is not a luxury or "boutique" hotel, not by far, but it's Yangon and you must adapt yourself to it's reality, so I believe the the cost-benefit balance it's quite positive.
It is spotless clean and with very attentive staff as is standard in Myanmar.
You have restaurants an all the shops at walking distance and the taxis are really inexpensive if you're too tired to walk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tugaviajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews