We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but decent city hotel in a great location”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Overpriced but decent city hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Decent choice for Yangon but highly over-priced like pretty much all hotels in Myanmar (due to the rising tourism and poor amount of options).
The room was clean and functionally designed, though tiny and without a real window. The breakfast was good and also the inhouse dinner restaurant is good with a nice choice of local and European dishes.
The best is the location: Only a 5 minutes walk to Sule Pagoda or to the train station and 10-15 minutes to the central market.
If the prices drop during the next few years due to a greater amount of options, the East Hotel will still be a good options.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raskolnikow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    271
    217
    40
    15
See reviews for
41
245
101
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Bathroom was not an issue for me. There was free bottled water available at every floor which you can take when you get out. Breakfast was ok, but may not be enough for some. Internet signal is intermittent even in public areas, but it's like that everywhere in Yangon. Hotel does not accept credit card so be sure to bring cash if you are settling the charges there. All in all, it was a great vacation for
us in Yangon.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maria ronila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a nice stay at East hotel. They have good prices and their rooms were comfortable and modern. The breakfast and cafe were also very pleasant. The wifi was pretty decent at times! Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathyu2crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

East Hotel is in a fantastic location for a few days sightseeing in Yangon. Breakfast is good, it's easy to get a taxi from the hotel, and the staff are incredibly helpful. The rooms are quite basic for the price however and the bathrooms are not fantastic. If you intend to use the hotel as a base to see the city from and don't intend to spend anytime there it is a good option for a couple of days in Yangon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niall-archibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The only reason I'm not giving this hotel anything less than a "3 Bubble" is because they immediately refunded my money when I told them I wasn't getting what I paid for. That reflects well for their professionalism.

I checked into this hotel which I thought had internet. When I was dropped off at the room, I couldn't get online. Additionally, the room smelled, and you can not open the windows in this hotel for fresh air. If you ask me, this is a fire-hazard.

Since the room smelled, I couldn't open a hotel window and I couldn't get internet I walked down stairs and immediately checked out and walked across the street to the lesser known Clover City Plus Hotel behind the Shangri-La where I stayed and the rate was better too.

Room Tip: - Location for the hotel is great. - If you need internet, this isn't your place. - NOTE: Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at what we thought was a three star hotel but received a give star service and a great experience! The hotel was good, restaurant wonderful but it was the staff that made our visit outstanding. Our luggage had been lost in Washington DC and the staff personally made numerous phone calls insisting on help in locating it. Our every need and whim was catered to, whether it was cash exchanging, dry cleaning, laundry, treating us like princesses!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avh455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Location is perfect! One block and you're in the Bogyoke Aung San Market, at another block is a rooftop bar, in front is Shangrila Hotel, at the end of the road is the Sule Pagoda and Independence Park and if you walk a bit further there's a row of old beautiful colonial buildings where you can do a "heritage walk"; around 4 to 5 blocks away is 19th street (row of restaurants and bar), an easy 10 minute walk...and don't worry it's very safe to walk around even in the wee hours of the night. There's a "street food" area at the back of Shangrila by the way. There were welcome drinks and cold towels upon arrival which we highly appreciate. They gave us a room which supposedly was too crowded for three but it was just right for me and my friends with large luggages. I don't have issues with the bathroom, but a fully-closed toilet would be better. I love that they offer Burmese breakfast, because it was really good. It introduced me to the Burmese condiment called Balachaung, which i ended up hoarding and bringing home with me at the end of my trip. It was a bit expensive for what it was, we paid 145 dollars a night for a twin room with an extra bed. The same hotel say in Siem Reap would cost half. But out guides said hotel prices are going to normalize in 2 to 3 years. I don't think it's open to the public but we snuck on the rooftop to take pictures (sorry but the door/window was unlocked! A bit dangerous because there are no railings whatsoever) and the view was awesome! They should convert it into a bar or lounge. A bit of a splurge for a hotel but it's a good base in Yangon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenixmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: No. 234-240, (1) Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing