We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Shwe Dagon, overpriced”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
New York
Level Contributor
562 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Close to Shwe Dagon, overpriced”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Located very close to Shwe Daogon. Rooms are average. The property we heard has the same ownership as the Clover city center location. Not as clean and tidy as the city center location. Rooms were bigger, but less appealing. We payed over $100 for a night, which i thought was overpriced for what we got. Breakfast was included, but nothing to write home about. Its about a 40min walk to the city center, worth a cab ride in the afternoon heat of the city. Bellboys were nice and helpful. staff at the reception desk were so-so.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    130
    79
    27
    8
See reviews for
26
101
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked the Clover because we could do so online, and paid about $85 a night for two nights. It's located in the north, close to Shwedagon Pagoda. But if you want to get downtown you'll need to take a taxi, which will cost you about $3.00. Good thing they are in ready supply.

You'll need to get over the fact that you're not getting the same value for hotels that you would get anywhere else in SE Asia. So, if you want to check out Yangon, suck it up and expect to pay about 2-4 times what you'd expect.

Having said that, the Clover is a nice 2-Star place. The service is very friendly and the rooms are clean, with good air conditioning, television, instant coffee, and free WiFi. Not bad. And it's a five minute walk to the Shwedagon Temple, which is a must see in Yangon.

The only down side is the breakfast (which is free). It's not great, but you can get a cup of coffee and some toast and be on your way.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

With a lack of other available options and unwilling to stay at horrible clover city center we decided to try out this place outside of downtown rangoon and conveniently located next to shwe dagon pagoda. what could have been a green oasis in a part of town surrounded by big avenues saw same "build as high as you can" type of structure as downtown hotel. Again, we could not believe that we paid >100 bucks for a "deluxe room" this time. Positive thing - bo smell of sewer or sound of karaoke as downtown. However staff was not as curteous. When we asked about the room on a higher floor then 1st we were told that the hotel was fully booked despide the fact that there were plenty of same rooms available on agoda.com. The width of the room was not the problem here like in downtown but rather height as very low placed ceiling beams criss cross the room throughout so we had to walk with our heads bowed. "window" had a wonderful view of a next dorr buildings wall and the room was full of mosquitos. there is a fire hazard as well as hotel is served by a single elevator, which is quite slow, and there is no staircase from the first to ground floor. my recs - stay away!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattModine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MattModine,

Wow – I see you are from New York, U.S.A. and perfectly understand your cultural shock.

I wish you could see us now. We have come a long way with significant improvements since your visit in February 2013.

Surprising and as I know New Yorkers, they are not customarily reticent in expressing themselves.

Your expressed concerns here are well received.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Wedowee, Alabama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Clover Hotel in Yangon. The hotel is rated at 2 stars and expectations were not overly high, but we were pleased with our stay. Our rom (501) was cleaned each day, we had complimentary bottled water, wifi, coffee in room and satellite tv. The room was large. The bed was a bit hard, but this is not that unusual compared to other hotels we have stayed in while in Asia. Breakfast was included and OK. It had little variety over the 4 days we were there. It is walking distance to the Shwedagon Paya. We also walked to the Chaukhtatgyi Buddha and the Ngahtati Paya. Taxis from the hotel to old town were only $2 US (or equivalent kyat). Ferry to Dalah was $4 US with plenty of trishaws to see the area. The hotel's staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel prices in Myanmar have gone up recently but relative to other hotels of this star quality, we would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor at the front of the hotel. Although there were some street noises, we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linmikga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Being just a 10 minute walk from the pagoda and with a night view of it from the rooftop restaurant are major selling points for this hotel. The rooms are oddly designed and the "deluxe" description of the room offered on Agoda for $98 US stretched the imagination. Our view was of a wall. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the airport if you have an early flight. Staff are very helpful and will prepare a breakfast to go if you're leaving early. Internet access is patchy but that's standard for Burma.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Nice small hotel but situated at a not so convenient place in Yangon.

Pluses - Quiet, clean, big rooms, good wi-fi & friendly staff

Minuses - Exorbitant prices for a 2 star hotel ! Lousy breakfast, no fitness facilities

Would recommend this hotel only if you have run out of options for a quick 1-2 nights business stay in Yangon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Clean, spacious rooms with all amenities including complimentary bottled water, tea and coffee.

Excellent buffet breakfast with lots of choices. The restaurant looks onto the Shwezigan Paya. Catch the sunrise on the stupa in the morning or when light up at night.

Good location to walk downtown or to the Temple.

Excellent staff - friendly and very helpful. Use them to book taxis, etc

Free wifi and computers available

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#39 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#24 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Property: Clover Hotel
Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing