We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you paid for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you paid for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Room was clean, the bathroom smelled funny, I am guessing the piping couldn't filter the smell from the sewer, but this was solved by closing the door. Breakfast was horrible, don't even waste your energy to go up the restaurant, go out for breakfast. Price-wise, it is on the average Yangon's standard, it is reasonable, but you only get what you paid for.

Overall, not the kind of hotel where you would like to spend your day in, but serves its purpose by providing a spacious, cleanish room with comfy beds.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for some view, my room was too low and my view was a concrete wall like a meter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC2014311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear DC2014311,

Pick a higher floor and enjoy the overall spacious clean rooms with comfortable beds are a delight to hear.

The additional fine tuning you recommend is now seriously attended to.

We expect to be seeing you again with greater satisfaction.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    129
    79
    26
    8
See reviews for
26
101
42
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

First couple of nights in Beautyland II, this hotel is double the price but so so for Yangon. Anywhere else this would be around $40 per night. Large, spacious, modern room. Wetroom style bathroom, great shower. Good TV channels and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet room, no external noise. Breakfast a bit of everything thrown on the one plate! The food was OK. Good location, easy to walk to Sule Pagoda, close to area of indian food, close to traders and tourist market.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Carolmac44,

WOW – music to our ears. However you said nothing about our staff! This could mean we must try a bit harder. All fun aside, it is well noted of your satisfaction and also well noted where we can make improvements.

Enjoy your travels and tell a friend about us.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

There is a problem booking a hotel in Yangon, due to limited numbers, and the fact that many of the top hotels are booked by large groups, so we could not get our first choice. This hotel only claims to be 2 star, but is somewhere between 2 and 3 star. It is a small hotel near the eastern shores of Lake Kandawgi. The magnificent Shwedagon Pagoda is only 15 minutes walk away, and Aung San's house is near-this is worth a short visit to better understand the history of Myanmar.
The downtown area, with its colonial buildings and large markets is only a 10 minute drive. This is a good value base to stay in the city. So, as with all my reviews, here are the positive and negative points about this hotel.
Positive points:
1.The staff are lovely- friendly and helpful.
2.The Deluxe rooms 501 & 301 were large and clean, and well equipped with fridge,safe, air-con (NB you have to reset with red button on side when you return to your room), flat screen TV- with the best range of English channels of any of the hotel used in Myanmar.
3.Free Wi-Fi - although we did not use- the guide books imply that wi-fi is not available or is erratic in Myanmar. This is not true, although it can be slow.
4.The hotel is in a side street* -free from traffic noise.
5. The top floor restaurant (7TH.FLOOR) has panoramic views of Shwedaqon Pagoda and the city.
6.Included breakfast was reasonable, but does not start till 07.00hrs, so if you have an early start they provide a"breakfast box"- a boiled egg, jam sandwich, a banana, and a bottle of water.
Now the negative points:
1. The bathroom has no hot water supply to the hand basin-very odd.
2. The bathroom in both rooms 501 and 301 had a small population of "mini ants"- making us reluctant to use the shower.
3.The bed was fairly firm and had polyester bedding - not cotton.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 days at the start of an 11 day tour of Myanmar and for 1 day at the end.
4. The side street* location of the hotel is slightly scruffy- but not the hotel itself.
5.. For the first two days the sound of yapping dogs disturbed our sleep all night- this is apparently a common problem in Yangon. It did not disturb our sleep for our last day.
This is an economical hotel, with the stay made by the lovely staff

Room Tip: 501 & 301 were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear malholme,

“This is an economical hotel with the stay made lovely by the staff “, brought great smiles from the staff as they read this from you. You started your 11 day stay with us and came back again for your last night. It must be the free night time serenade you have become accustomed to.

Your additional significant alerts are well taken.

Travel with much joy – hope to see you again.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The whole room and hotel is overpriced for what it is. $95 dollars a night is not good value for money. The room is worth at most $25 - $30 a night. There is a constant smell that comes from the bathroom when you run water that stinks out the whole room.

Also when you run the aircon unit it also smells up the room with a smell of raw sewage.
The sheets on the bed are made from polyester not cotton and are very uncomfortable to sleep on. I also requested a double room but what I received was two single beds pushed together.

The food at breakfast is inedible and cold. You receive all on one plate steamed veg, chicken bits, cake, cold toast and awful coffee. Not once during my seven day stay did I receive a hot breakfast.

When my husband then went to reception to get his key the staff informed them that they were charging us $2.50 for an ink stain on the pillow. This is unacceptable .Do not stay here , its an overpriced dump.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARTillery247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear ARTillery247,

Considering your seven day stay with us - you absolutely must be and probably are the most kind people with an extraordinary high tolerance of acceptability to your immediate surroundings.
Obviously there are cultural disparities as you travel foreign countries and especially emerging countries such as Myanmar as you have seen is adapting to a rapidly increasing tourist influx.
The food at breakfast is inedible and cold. Not once during my seven day stay did I receive a hot breakfast as you claim in your writing this is of extreme concern to us.

Considering our very congenial staff and our hotel recognition for hospitality, it leaves us in a quandary asking ourselves – why?

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after two nights in the Clover City Centre a Plus. This is a little cheaper I assume because it is not in the city centre. It is fine and modern by local standards.

The restaurant is on the top floor and has some great views of the local pagoda from the panoramic windows.

I would be happy to recommend this to friends as a place to stay although the city centre locations probably win on convenience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Pawl,

We are very proud of our hotels and our accommodations including our most courteous staff.

It is a delight to have a Top Contributor and guest take the time as you did to express your satisfaction of us.

We wish you all the joy you anticipate in your travels.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

After spending $330 for 3 night at another Clover and booking this one for $120 for a room now offered for $95, I was surprised at the room. I actually accidentally made the booking (flying out a few days after check in) but Clover was unsympathetic when I asked about full or partial refund a week ago. So I am spending $120 for 4 hours here!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anandag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear anandag,

Every guest is valued as to the way we present our accommodations, service, general hospitality and enjoyment.

As I read, you have been here for a few days and accidentally made an additional booking which you may have thought to be a day use booking but got billed as a full use overnight accommodation.

There several other ramifications involved which cannot be totally solved here on TripAdvisor.

Take the time to email us in order to come to a fair conclusion.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for the past 5 months which is probably a record! Incidentally I wrote a review 3 months ago but it seems to have disappeared along with others from October to December 2013. NB there are other Clover Hotels downtown and at least one review I see here is for the other hotel. Ths one is in by far the best location except for distance from the city centre. Be aware that there are quite good reasons for being away from the congested centre. In terms of its environment, this Clover is extremely well located for the marvellous Swedagon Pagoda (don't miss the amazing stairway at the east entrance if you are fit enough to climb the stairs!) Also, there is a beautiful park with lovely lake about 250 meters away. Downside is a $2 entrance fee but worth it. I don't think any hotel in Yangon is good value for money, so don't blame Clover. There is currently a shortage of hotel beds, which has driven prices up. Hotels should be judged in their own context, not in relation to some wonderful situation in some other country. I reckon Clover is fair enough. It is rated as 2 star, I suppose because it doesn't have amenities, but I had to stay in a three star quite near for a couple of nights and I thought the 3 star was inferior. There is always hot water and electricity. Wifi is a problem all over Myanmar at present. It was particularly bad towards the end of 2013 because there was a damaged undersea cable, but that seems to have been fixed. I found food in th evenings very good value for money at $5 for rice and meat - chicken, pork, fish or seafood. Breakfast is a bit like dinner, with a buffet of stir fried noodles, rice, meat and eggs. Also fruit and cakes (including chocolate eclairs for goodness sake). My only criticisms are the too strong tea and coffee and the monotonous menu, but the latter isnt a big problem as the vast majority of guests appear to stay for only a night or two. The staff are very positive, friendly, and much better at their jobs than in several other hotels i stayed in outside Yangon. All in all Clover did a good job and I can recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lisadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Lisadian,

Well, you leave us speechless.

Being with us periodically over five months, describing your stay in detail and then concluding it by saying: “All in all CLOVER did a GOOD JOB and I recommend it.”

This is a hotels sigh of accomplishment.

We express our utmost gratitude and will continuously strive for this satisfaction keeping your kind words always in mind.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#47 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
Merchant Art Boutique Hotel
#20 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#25 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Property: Clover Hotel
Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing