We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location and clean rooms”
Review of Clover Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clover Hotel
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for one night in May 2014. The location is nice and quiet (although a bit far off from everywhere else). The hotel is quiet (except for dogn barking at night) aand the rooms are clean and spacious. No complaints and very friendly staff. Perfect business hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maua2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Maua2013,

A “Nice quiet location and clean rooms” with free night time serenade. A business traveler’s dream of home away from home.

Travel well – hope to see you here again.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We booked in advance through agoda and payed rrp. for our room and it's certainly not worth $150. That said at the time of writing this review advertised prices are less then half what we paid, and our expectations would have been lower if we had booked at those prices.

Rooms are quite grubby but ours thankfully didn't have a damp smell.

Location not great if you want to experience yangon. But ok for a 1 night stay in between flights.

Restaurant overlooks the schwedagon pagoda and the view is breath taking.
Food however is rather disappointing.

Our night here was the worst night sleep had during the trip. Dogs barking non-stop throughout the night.

Wifi was consistently excellent. AC not so much and beds rather uncomfortable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 255100Kylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear 255100Kylie,

Location – location – location as you were pleased with the breathtaking view from our restaurant, the excellent WiFi and okay for an in-between night’s stay.

Your next visit may be more surprising.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Room was clean, the bathroom smelled funny, I am guessing the piping couldn't filter the smell from the sewer, but this was solved by closing the door. Breakfast was horrible, don't even waste your energy to go up the restaurant, go out for breakfast. Price-wise, it is on the average Yangon's standard, it is reasonable, but you only get what you paid for.

Overall, not the kind of hotel where you would like to spend your day in, but serves its purpose by providing a spacious, cleanish room with comfy beds.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for some view, my room was too low and my view was a concrete wall like a meter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC2014311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear DC2014311,

Pick a higher floor and enjoy the overall spacious clean rooms with comfortable beds are a delight to hear.

The additional fine tuning you recommend is now seriously attended to.

We expect to be seeing you again with greater satisfaction.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First couple of nights in Beautyland II, this hotel is double the price but so so for Yangon. Anywhere else this would be around $40 per night. Large, spacious, modern room. Wetroom style bathroom, great shower. Good TV channels and tea/coffee making facilities. Quiet room, no external noise. Breakfast a bit of everything thrown on the one plate! The food was OK. Good location, easy to walk to Sule Pagoda, close to area of indian food, close to traders and tourist market.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Carolmac44,

WOW – music to our ears. However you said nothing about our staff! This could mean we must try a bit harder. All fun aside, it is well noted of your satisfaction and also well noted where we can make improvements.

Enjoy your travels and tell a friend about us.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

There is a problem booking a hotel in Yangon, due to limited numbers, and the fact that many of the top hotels are booked by large groups, so we could not get our first choice. This hotel only claims to be 2 star, but is somewhere between 2 and 3 star. It is a small hotel near the eastern shores of Lake Kandawgi. The magnificent Shwedagon Pagoda is only 15 minutes walk away, and Aung San's house is near-this is worth a short visit to better understand the history of Myanmar.
The downtown area, with its colonial buildings and large markets is only a 10 minute drive. This is a good value base to stay in the city. So, as with all my reviews, here are the positive and negative points about this hotel.
Positive points:
1.The staff are lovely- friendly and helpful.
2.The Deluxe rooms 501 & 301 were large and clean, and well equipped with fridge,safe, air-con (NB you have to reset with red button on side when you return to your room), flat screen TV- with the best range of English channels of any of the hotel used in Myanmar.
3.Free Wi-Fi - although we did not use- the guide books imply that wi-fi is not available or is erratic in Myanmar. This is not true, although it can be slow.
4.The hotel is in a side street* -free from traffic noise.
5. The top floor restaurant (7TH.FLOOR) has panoramic views of Shwedaqon Pagoda and the city.
6.Included breakfast was reasonable, but does not start till 07.00hrs, so if you have an early start they provide a"breakfast box"- a boiled egg, jam sandwich, a banana, and a bottle of water.
Now the negative points:
1. The bathroom has no hot water supply to the hand basin-very odd.
2. The bathroom in both rooms 501 and 301 had a small population of "mini ants"- making us reluctant to use the shower.
3.The bed was fairly firm and had polyester bedding - not cotton.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 days at the start of an 11 day tour of Myanmar and for 1 day at the end.
4. The side street* location of the hotel is slightly scruffy- but not the hotel itself.
5.. For the first two days the sound of yapping dogs disturbed our sleep all night- this is apparently a common problem in Yangon. It did not disturb our sleep for our last day.
This is an economical hotel, with the stay made by the lovely staff

Room Tip: 501 & 301 were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear malholme,

“This is an economical hotel with the stay made lovely by the staff “, brought great smiles from the staff as they read this from you. You started your 11 day stay with us and came back again for your last night. It must be the free night time serenade you have become accustomed to.

Your additional significant alerts are well taken.

Travel with much joy – hope to see you again.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The whole room and hotel is overpriced for what it is. $95 dollars a night is not good value for money. The room is worth at most $25 - $30 a night. There is a constant smell that comes from the bathroom when you run water that stinks out the whole room.

Also when you run the aircon unit it also smells up the room with a smell of raw sewage.
The sheets on the bed are made from polyester not cotton and are very uncomfortable to sleep on. I also requested a double room but what I received was two single beds pushed together.

The food at breakfast is inedible and cold. You receive all on one plate steamed veg, chicken bits, cake, cold toast and awful coffee. Not once during my seven day stay did I receive a hot breakfast.

When my husband then went to reception to get his key the staff informed them that they were charging us $2.50 for an ink stain on the pillow. This is unacceptable .Do not stay here , its an overpriced dump.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARTillery247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear ARTillery247,

Considering your seven day stay with us - you absolutely must be and probably are the most kind people with an extraordinary high tolerance of acceptability to your immediate surroundings.
Obviously there are cultural disparities as you travel foreign countries and especially emerging countries such as Myanmar as you have seen is adapting to a rapidly increasing tourist influx.
The food at breakfast is inedible and cold. Not once during my seven day stay did I receive a hot breakfast as you claim in your writing this is of extreme concern to us.

Considering our very congenial staff and our hotel recognition for hospitality, it leaves us in a quandary asking ourselves – why?

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after two nights in the Clover City Centre a Plus. This is a little cheaper I assume because it is not in the city centre. It is fine and modern by local standards.

The restaurant is on the top floor and has some great views of the local pagoda from the panoramic windows.

I would be happy to recommend this to friends as a place to stay although the city centre locations probably win on convenience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloverHotels, Manager at Clover Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Pawl,

We are very proud of our hotels and our accommodations including our most courteous staff.

It is a delight to have a Top Contributor and guest take the time as you did to express your satisfaction of us.

We wish you all the joy you anticipate in your travels.

With kindest regards,
CloverHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#40 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#43 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#27 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#25 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#33 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
263 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Hotel

Address: 7A Wingabar Road | Bahan, Yangon (Rangoon) 11201, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £37 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clover Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Northern Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Clover Hotel which offers quality accommodation and great service. Only 12 kilometers away, this 3-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Clover Hotel is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. A 24-hour front desk, Wi-Fi in public areas, and shared lounge are just a few of the facilities that set this property apart from others in the city. The hotel features 48 beautifully appointed guestrooms with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Yangon, make Clover Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clover Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing