We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosquito Net and Air Conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Okinawa Guest House
Ranked #95 of 158 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mosquito Net and Air Conditioning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I was just grateful to get a room after arriving in Yangon and realizing that even the guesthouses were fully booked. Though it was dimly lit, I was pleasantly surprised by the hearty breakfast, strong air conditioning and comfortable canopy bed. You are in downtown Yangon, and the infrastructure/upkeep is not that of the western world. I guess it is all about expectations. I did not expect much of the place and in return found a good night's rest and some amount of charm for $25/night. A friend went to a nearby 'nicer' hotel for $40 and later admitted that his experience equivalent if not less.

It's a modest guesthouse in a modest country--- you will be disappointed if you're looking for the Ritz.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaynaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    45
    27
    15
See reviews for
1
44
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

i was told this was one of the nicer budget lodging options but i'd highly recommend seeking out another option. the younger front desk/caretaker of this guesthouse really sets a harsh tone for the entire experience. as another reviewer mentioned, it's quite obvious that he can't be bothered to be helpful to his guests. every question or encounter was a challenge. he was unhelpful in booking us for the sister hotel in bagan and was not helpful when we asked about the light not working in our sink area. he was consumed in conversation with his friend when i came down to ask about the light and was clearly annoyed and said that "i wasn't good for him." along with his attitude and the non-working light, there was dried blood on our sheets and another set of sheets were came with a giant rip and the bathrooms are dirty and smell horribly. i hear the white house guesthouse has a much more friendly staff and has a delicious buffet breakfast so it may be a better option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suprduprfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

A very small and cute house in the middle of much bigger buildings. Also the rooms would be nice but we found that they are really run-down and far away from what we call clean! When we arrived in the morning, they told us that we can get our room in two hours but when we returned after our breakfast and a walk through the streets they needed much more time than the promised two hours. We were leaving early the next morning and they told us, that we can get breakfast if we want. But when we got up, all the staff were still sleeping. Would not be a problem at all if they hadn't promised the breakfast... And the taxi that they wanted to organise for us was not there at the time that we wanted. We hope that there will be a better service for you! The location was perfect – just beside the Sule Paya in a quiet sidestreet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

For certain reasons there are not enough hostels in Yangon but when you're in such an great country you care less for the accommodation.

Okinawa was ok at best. The guy who runs it is, strangely for Burmese people, unfriendly and disconcerting. The place feels as though it's about to collapse with flimsy doors and ceilings. Our shower was cold but that's all we wanted in the Yangon heat. The rooms are dark with questionable windows and the mattresses are old and sagging. They do have mosquito nets though and old a/c depending on the room.

Compared to some of the other hostels we looked at this, for us, was the best of a bad bunch.

Room Tip: Make sure the a/c in your room works before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

i arrived on chinese new year...everything was booked up.i was taken here by a lovely young girl,a postcard seller,which was familiar with the owner.then she offered me to change money at a convenient rate.the banks were closed for the whole weekend.i accepted cause i got from other travellers informations of how safe this country is...i got an enormous pile of small pieces of money to count,this took an eternity.when i was offered a mobile to calculate the rate,they managed to take more than half the money away.i realized it only 2 hours later.the owner always refused to give me the name of the girl,which was round the corner the following day...apart from the 3 or 4 rats met on the street trying to find her back the same night ,,i survived and my holidays were spoiled

Room Tip: i went to ymca big and clean rooms nice atmosphere.half the price....i wouldn t think that cristiani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ansasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Guesthouse clerk was indeed surly which makes him unique, atypical. Perhaps he didnt have any more patience to deal with any more overdemanding backpackers, who knows... All rooms were booked full regardless. Cold showers were ok, encouraging brief showers in the cooler month of December. Bed was comfortable in the upstairs private room, but I needed to walk into the shared sleeping quarters upstairs to access it. Breakfast was simple but ok. This guesthouse is not great value during peak tourist period but is walking distance to the ferry pier connecting to Dalla township over the river, Sule Pagoda, the Strand Hotel, Monsoon Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frontleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This guesthouse is perfectly located near the Sule Pagoda and offers nice, clean rooms though a little dark. The slightly higher prices aren't reasonable since the rooms come with cold water. The manager is extremely unfriendly, very unhelpful and his arrogance is unusual for a Birmese person. His unfriendliness was one of the reasons to open an account on tripadvisor.. Breakfast was nothing more than two unboiled spring rolls and when other guests started asking questions about the poor breakfast the manager just laughed at them and told them they were foolish.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#9 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
May Shan Hotel
May Shan Hotel
#78 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Willow Inn
The Willow Inn
#19 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
#20 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okinawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okinawa Guest House

Property: Okinawa Guest House
Address: Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and JovagoAsia so you can book your Okinawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okinawa Guest House Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing