We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK room. Good Location. Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chan Myae Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK room. Good Location. Great Staff”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed in the solo room with shared bathroom ($18). The room was fine although quite small (the bed took up the entire length of the room) but had a good working AC. The internet worked well enough. The room comes with breakfast (eggs and a toasted sandwich of some variety) and you're in a very central location. There's a handy western-style supermarket (Ruby Mart) walking distance away as well, which was handy for me.

I'm giving this place a high rating because the staff are great. The girls behind the counter are really friendly, speak great English and help with whatever you need. The place is a nice family business and understand customer service.

Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaziyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    149
    32
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
92
89
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Very helpful staff!! I was surprised they had wifi - it's not fast, but it works :) Overall very clean place, OK breakfast, and perfect location. For 35 USD per night with breakfast and AC, we couldn't ask for more in Yangon. I recommend it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cloutierc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The best guest house in SE asia I have stayed at, no contest! They have thought of EVERYTHING! The people are the loveliest in the world, always asking how I am, from the desk staff, to breakfast staff, and the young men walking around generally being very helpful. They carry your bag up for you, when you ring downstairs. They gave me an umbrella to borrow when I attempted to face Yangon in the rainy season without one, they give you (and guests you bring back) a drink when you come in from the heat, they write down various locations I needed to get to in burmese so i had no issues with Taxis. Love the communal breakfasts, you get to meet a lot of interesting travellers. Seriously stay here! You won't regret it! Literally nothing they could have done more to make my stay better. Thank you so much Chan Myae, you now have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: The dorms are great, and the cheapest, ($12) which as far as i am aware exists no where else in Yang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I spent three nights at Chan Myaye Guesthouse in their 12 person dorm.

The dorm is spacious and the beds are very large, each with their own air-con system (a big plus) and curtains for privacy. At the end of the dorm are located the toilets (3 western and 1 squat) and three showers. The facilities were always very clean and hot water was always available.

The beds are comfy and though the GH is centrally located, the streets below are very quiet; so a good night's sleep is almost guaranteed.

The staff served very good breakfasts (different ones, which was nice) and were always extremely friendly and smiling. They will help you with anything that you need, from maps of Yangon to setting up Bus/Train tickets to other destinations in Myanmar. Cold litres of water are also sold for 300K, the cheapest I found in Myanmar.

The GH is located a few hundred metres from Sule Pagoda which is a great point of interest, and within walking distance of all major attractions in Yangon (Shwedagon Pagoda, Chinatown, the Yangon Railway Station, etc...)

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and at 12USD/N (during low season) I thought it was great. Though I traveled alone, I definitely recommend this GH for all types of travelers (they have comfy double rooms for couples, too).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

$35 for a double room with private bath(+breakfast) is really worth it.
- The staff just can't be more helpful. They are like cheerful and active students, willing to help in everything. Many Thai travelers lived here, so they learn a few Thai words, and they keep greeting, talking to me in Thai all the time.
- Its location is close to everything. Although the guesthouse is in the middle of alley, it's not too far to walk out.
Walking distance to Sule Pagoda and, if you legs are strong enough, Bogyoke market (Scott's Market).
- MY room is great. When I made a reservation, I asked for a "room with windows and balcony". I get room No.5, very clean and bigger than I thought. There are AC(working well), fridge, TV, shower with cold/hot water, dressing table,...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KarnPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The staff is super sweet and helpful. Always greeting us and asking about our day. The rooms are why I couldn't rate it higher. It's clean but could be cleaner. There's webs and dust at the corners of rooms and windows. Also because of the old infrastructure (as with the whole of the city) we could hear the rushing of the drain pipes. It was very very loud. I thought it was pouring rain outside and I went to check and ask the staff at 5 am. It wasn't raining but just the pipes. Also the rooms are rather dark. Some rooms had no windows. I can't blame the guesthouse regarding the pipes but it made def made the the stay less comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Basilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful and the place is clean. I stayed in the dorms during May and the place is really hot! You get a private "AC" but honestly it's more of a fan than an AC (it's almost impossible to find a cool place in Myanmar and this guesthouse is no exception...if you need some AC go to the cinemas nearby...really cheap $2.50 for premium seats for latest Hollywood movies in 3d!). The WiFi is also atrocious, but that is pretty universal throughout Yangon in my experience.

In short good value for your money, but not without its flaws. I'd stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank pauliwago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
Backpacker Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Myae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Myae Guesthouse

Property: Chan Myae Guesthouse
Address: 256/276 Maha Bandoola Garden St | 4rd Floor, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, JovagoAsia and Priceline so you can book your Chan Myae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chan Myae Guesthouse Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing