We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the money”
Review of M.G.M. Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
M.G.M. Hotel
Ranked #84 of 162 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Booking way in advance get me very good rate. Room was big, clean (on the 9th floor with window) but you need earplugs as karokie on the last floor will keep you awake late into night. Good breakfast buffet but better be early - not much selection later. Everybody was very friendly and helpful. It is not in the center of Yangon but you can walk to main attractions. The restaurants near were OK.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danuta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    36
    48
    25
    14
See reviews for
12
37
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hi booked this place thinking that was the "less worst" because i couldnt find anything else at this price on internet for Yangon, and i had a big surprise. Hotel was quite good. Rooms were big and nice. Staff was incredible kind specially the manager who answered all our request kindly and were not easy at all. We had a great time in MGM. Is true that is a bit noisy but only must be worried about it people that need full silence to sleep, at least the room we had, the noise was not bad at all.

Room Tip: There is a Karaoke on 3rd floor and 11th floor, so try to be far of both, at least 2 stories. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freekyflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herentals, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel charges $50 a night, which is too much. The hotel area is not ideal, you need to walk quite some time to find nice restaurants and attractions. We asked for a room with a double bed and a window. The window was not really a window, there were sheets to cover it. But we got a double bed and a single bed, which was nice. The room was quite big. The bathroom was very basic, but there was hot water. The breakfast was in a very cheerless room, we just ate it and left immediately. There is wifi available, not fast

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozefien U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yandina, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Positive: staff were happy and helpful; good breakfast; reasonable eating places close by.
Negative: quite dirty; some rooms do not have windows; bad beds; lift often not working; smells of cigarette smoke.
Described as "run by boys who cannot see dirt".
At the time we stayed it seemed to be undergoing renovations albeit by someone with questionable taste.

Room Tip: ask to look at a selection of rooms. the first two we were offered were quite bad, first had a broke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaroochyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the 10th floor, which is directly beneath the kareoke floor. Unless you like to be sung to sleep, I recommend you to request sleeping at a lower floor.
They are now renovating, but as of the 8th you should be fine!
Beds were very good, same as the bathroom. Nice hot water and a bath tub!
Staff at the reception is very nice and helpfull.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The staff at the M.G.M. hotel were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel was good. Chinese food offered. The breakfast on the 3rd floor was ok...noodles/fried rice/eggs/toast/sweet bread/fruit/coffee/tea/juice..it was fine but not refilled..so get there early. Our room was on the 10th floor..room was ok...sheets could have been cleaner..a few stains on them..other than that the room was fine. My only major complaint for this hotel is the karaoke bar on the lower floor. It can be heard on 9th and 10th floor..it goes on until 2am. We started out on the 10th floor then got moved to the 9th floor and it still could be heard. We ran into a German couple in the lobby and they had the same complaint..they were moved to the 7th floor and they said they could not hear the karaoke. The staff makes up for what the hotel might be missing. They were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: do not stay on 9th or 10th floor..you can hear the karaoke bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice when visiting Myanmar. The first time we got a room which was in quite bad condition on a lower floor, it was old, dirty and cramped. The second time we got a very spacious room which was very modern and nice on a higher floor. We met one of the owners of the hotel who explained that they were renovating the rooms starting from the top floor rooms to the bottom ones. Providing that the renovation is complete on all floors I recommend MGM. There is also breakfast on the 3rd floor which consists of toast, butter, jam, egg, banana, juice and tea or coffee The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was well situated with many restaurants and cafes nearby. There is a corner shop nearby with many products to buy from. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at the MGM Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#41 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#96 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mr. Lee Hotel
Mr. Lee Hotel
#84 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#60 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahosi
Hotel Bahosi
#17 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond Crown Hotel
Diamond Crown Hotel
#104 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M.G.M. Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M.G.M. Hotel

Property: M.G.M. Hotel
Address: 160 Wardan Street | Lanmadow Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — M.G.M. Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your M.G.M. Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
M.G.M. Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing