We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Daddy's Home Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daddy's Home Hotel
Ranked #126 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Stockton on Tees, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spent 5 days at Daddys Home Hotel early January 2014.
Location is very good right in the downtown area of Rangoon(Yangon), about 7 minutes walk from the Strand Hotel the smartest hotel in the City. The location is the best feature of the hotel. I would echo some of the other comments, I was on the 5th floor in a window less concrete 3mtr sq room, with shared bathroom and shower facilities.It did smell of damp but it was safe and clean, and was adequate for me, a single traveller. If you were with a woman, I think she may think differently.
Staff were friendly, breakfast was adequate. What the could have done with is some tourist lierature in English available and also more choice for breakfast, which would have been to much benefit. The stairs were very steep after the third floor and no good for elderly person etc I would recommend the place for its location, low cost ( compared to other places in Yangon)

Room Tip: Try to get lower floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinglegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    19
    7
    11
See reviews for
3
12
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This place is in a great location, is clean and has helpful and friendly staff, who are very willing and able to help guests. Breakfast sets you up for the day too. The hotel is in Yangon and it in this context that you have to accept it. Also relatively cheap. Don't go with an expectation of plushness, but go with an open mind. Reading other reviews, I get the feeling that some people 'travel' expecting the same standard regardless of where they stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Prices are lower than elsewhere in Yangon but we still paid 30 dollars for a double that was small and smelly without bathroom. It was clean though, something that is not always guaranteed in Yangon hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenK538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Rooms are concrete boxes without windows, with only beds and no space left, terrible atmosphere.... no bathroom (while the lonely planet said something else) prices are mich to high comparing the quality of the room...
The one with bathroom had fungus on the walls, smelledl like the gutter combined with ammoniac, no fresh air... But while there is a lack of budget hotels, Daddy still exists.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

What can I say!

Rooms are basic. Toilets are dirty. Staff are not friendly or helpful. There are millions of mosquitos. Again, staff are not helpful or friendly. That could have been their saving grace but nope!!

Sorry, wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineB2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Everyone has to stay in Yangoon one night or two. There are simply not so many places for backpackers, yet. So prices go up and quality goes down. 10 US Dollar for a cheap shared bathroom double and don't expect much. Staff was oke.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooz_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phuket
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I stayed there for few night on transit, first at all, I didn't check well the room and I was in hurry, is only the first night I noticed all the unpleasant details. I paid 40US for 2 person, after registering myself staff gave me the A/C remote control and 2 towels, show me my room without window, fix electricity for fridge, plug TV and gone. Most of the light doesn't work in room, even no clothes hanger, no bed table, two very small bed with one the mattress is so torn down, than is almost impossible to move in.First visit bathroom was OK, no more, by the way reception never told me breakfast is included ?. Main entrance/lobby is so dull, with staff passing the day to watch TV, than you really not feel to stay there. I was quite happy to leave the place. Unfortunately I came back Yangon three weeks later very early morning and the other place I choose to stay was not open yet due to the very early time of the day, I was very tired so we decided to go back straight to the Daddy's home hotel, we got the same room, the bathroom was more dirty than before, I believe no one clean it during our two visit, even a small soap was still inside of the soap holder. This time we requested towel been changed, staff changed it around twelve o'clock, not surprisingly, towels were at the corner of the first floor window the morning after !!. An other details, this place got a couple of English speaking channel, TV receiver is at the reception area, so staff skip channel very often, mean when you are in your room watching a movie, suddenly something else appear on the screen, and that is many times during one evening, very unpleasant if you follow any program. Staffs OK, no rude, nor very helpful,I never saw any cleaner, I even not sure if some are inside the premises ?. They just try to kill time by watching TV. One of my worst experience in Myanmar.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yoba2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daddy's H, Owner at Daddy's Home Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guests,

We are truly sorry for your bad experience during your stay at our hotel. It really was a bad time for our hotel since we were planning to close it down and that might have affected the staffs' morale and their daily work very badly. But we have moved on since and decided to continue with this business. In fact, the renovation work has just been completed in last week of October. Not only the hotel interior but also the room facilities and services provided are upgraded as well. All the rooms were repainted and old mattresses are replaced with comfy ones. We also provide complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi access, slippers and toiletries to all our guests. As you have pointed out in the review, our utmost attention is paid on the cleanliness and to ensure no bad odor inside the rooms and hotel. Thank you for your review which pointed out in details of all the areas that were needed to be improve on. Please visit us again if you have the chance and experience the new Daddy's Home Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#79 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#92 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mr. Lee Hotel
Mr. Lee Hotel
#83 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#62 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#80 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 149 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daddy's Home Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy's Home Hotel

Property: Daddy's Home Hotel
Address: 107 Konzedan Street | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 149 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Daddy's Home Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daddy's Home Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Yangon and within walking distant to major tourist destinations like Sule pagoda, Chinatown and Bogyoke Aung San Market (Scott's Market).Yangon International Airport is just a 45-minute drive from Hotel.Complimentary breakfast and WiFi access are provided for all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, JovagoAsia and Agoda so you can book your Daddy's Home Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daddy's Home Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing