We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful Location, but away from the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This very large sixties style hotel, set in 29 acres, is beautifully situated on the banks of Inya Lake. The whole building has the style of years past, with wonderful teak parquet floors throughout, even in the panelled lift! The reception hall is enormous and the staff were friendly and efficient. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the front of the hotel, good size with comfortable beds and large balcony. The bathroom could do with a bit of updating but somehow this tends to be forgiven when you see the custom made teak units throughout. On our second stay we were given a more inferior room on the second floor with poor view over the front portico although we had booked exactly the same superior room. It really needed updating and the extremely loud floor level airconditioning unit was right next to the bed which made sleeping difficult. The included breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of dishes both western and asian. In the evening, the restaurant food was good and reasonably priced and there was a wide choice menu. The hotel is frequently used as a wedding venue and this can mean several events being catered for outside at the same time, but this doesn't cause any interference to the guests. The hotel also has a large swimming pool and tennis courts, and a large library of books to borrow. Although a taxi ride away from the town, the beautiful surroundings and superb views over the lake make this a peaceful place to stay after a days sightseeing, but be careful which room you are allocated. Taxis from the airport should only cost $6 (5000 Kyats) and into town no more than 3000 Kyats. If you want to change money at the hotel, they will not give you a very good rate, in our case 750 for $1, and if you change them at a travel agent in town, we got 820/$1. Beware the touts on the street offering to change money, we did hear of one couple who got $200 stolen.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nickyportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

We always look forward to returning to the Inya Lake Hotel and especially to the comfy beds – we have never failed to have a good night sleep here arriving after a succession of flights from Europe or returning from up country.
As has been posted before, the grounds are the best in Yangon – as is the swimming pool – and the views over Inya Lake at sunset are stunning. Convenient for the airport, yet only a $3 taxi ride to Shwedagon, it certainly suits us and it always our first choice in Yangon. We have used three other more modern hotels in Yangon but we always come back to the Inya Lake. There are drawbacks, ancient lifts, old style air conditioning units, 60’s bathrooms (but constant piping hot water) but the atmosphere of the teak public areas and great views do compensate.
The in-house shops have also improved with the addition of a minimart selling everything from toothpaste, souvenirs, biscuits, snacks and cold beer, to Mandalay rum at $2. The adjoining cake shop also is the wine store.
Service was, as usual, friendly and efficient with food and drink sensibly priced.
One aspect did impress me. We left some quality shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom when we left early for our flight upcountry. A week later, on our return, we were told at check in that it had been retained by housekeeping and would be delivered to our room. This typified the honesty we found in Myanmar – one of our party was approached by airline staff whilst in the departure lounge(!) at Thandwe , who after checking his name, said that some money had been found on the table in his hotel room and did he want it returning or was it a tip. It was a tip but the honesty of the hotel staff was very impressive.
Conclusion – I can think of nothing better than returning to the Inya Lake hotel after a busy day sightseeing in Yangon and relaxing round the freeform pool with a Myanmar beer in hand or, a little later, sitting outside the Lake View lounge watching the sun go down with a G&T in hand.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed here for a few days after New Year and chose it following good reviews , especially on the pool.
There are no interconnecting rooms so we had a junior suite with two extra beds which suited us and the kids. Breakfast and light lunches were very good and the Sunday brunch was very popular - my husband, who is not a wine drinker,really enjoted the chilled house red.
The pool is fabulous, and the kids had a great time.
This would be our choice for families and those who like peace and tranquility after the dust of downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sbs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I could not disagree more with the previous reviewer. I too have stayed at the Inya Lake over many years-even back to the days in the 1990’s when it was managed by New World but in recent years I believe it has greatly improved.
Two years ago the hotel was virtually empty at high season but this year it was full and it was a pleasure to stay there over the holiday period.
On most evenings there were wedding and anniversary parties and it was fun to watch the fashions go by. They all finished by 21.00hrs so we were not disturbed.
We were in a room on the 4th floor and had no disturbance at all from the long term guests and NGO’s – in fact their presence meant that service levels in the bar, restaurant and around the pool were far better than our previous stays – especially the pool lunch service which was excellent.
The GM had really gone to town with Seasonal decorations- Christmas tree, Gingerbread House and even a mini animal farm for the children.
Sunday evening buffet at $20 with freeflow wine and beer was a bargain and delicious as well.
As has been stated before, the Inya Lake Hotel is in a wonderful location with large grounds and the best swimming pool in Yangon yet only 20 minutes from the airport and a $4 taxi ride downtown.
It also has wonderfully comfortable beds and we cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank val-leasowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Beware, it is no longer managed by the Dusit Group. It is now the local headquarters of the WFP and some other NGO type organisations. Their staff have taken many rooms and service standards have collapsed. Permanent residents seem to think it appropriate to leave their room doors open at all times with televisions on full blast, to leave room and bathroom doors open no matter what and to have permanent reservations of the only good tables in the main restaurant. Food and beverage standards have declined precipitiously and the area near the pool is used for very noisy late night functions. I stayed many times when the hotel was a Renaissance and then a Dusit hotel. I would never stay again. The staff just don't care.

A pity !

Kenrigg, Hong Kong

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Beautiful hotel (and grounds) with great service and an all-encompassing breakfast buffet. Nice pool and lounge area. It was constantly bustling (December) with weddings and events, but this added to the liveliness and charm of the place. It's a bit of a drive from downtown, but this adds to the tranquility. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AandE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Inya Lake hotel sits off the main road from the airport at the north end of Inya Lake. There are quiet gardens, tennis courts and a pool (just being filled fron the lake when we arrived. The rooms are spacious but a dated. In the bathroom the deep tub would be good for those who like to soak but a bit difficult to climb into for a shower. The dining room and lounge overlook the lake. One evening we had the whole dining room, all the staff, a classical guitarist and a lovely sun set to ourselves. The hotel is about 15 minutes away from downtown so a cab was always needed, but, they are very reasonably priced and can be hired for a day or half day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rulerofthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#32 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#13 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon Managed by AccorHotels
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon M...
#53 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
153 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
3.6 mi away
Summit Parkview Hotel
Summit Parkview Hotel
#19 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Address: 37 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £49 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inya Lake Hotel, surrounded by 37 acres of verdant gardens, a serene lake resplendent with lotus, leafy trees and a free-shaped swimming pool offers the perfect retreat for guests to simply sit back and relax. Exploration of Yangon and the surrounding area is also a must and we would be delighted to arrange a variety of tours and excursions for you during your stay with a private guide.A 15-minute drive from the city centre, and 20 minutes from Yangon International Airport, the colonial styled hotel with its teakwood floors and oriental feel evokes charming memories of a by-gone era. The 129 guestrooms are decorated in retro style offering guests astonishing views over the city of Yangon and the Inya Lake.Experience the exotic delicacies of Myanmar, this secret tropical cuisine so redolent of the spices, textures and flavours of both this country and its neighbours. Unwind and enjoy the magic of sunset at the Lake View Bar or just relax at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Dusit Yangon (Rangoon)
Yangon (Rangoon) Dusit
Dusit Inya Lake Hotel Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing