We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel a little outside town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Ranked #26 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel a little outside town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Attending a conference at this hotel it did not make sense to look elsewhere given the location a little outside town. It's seems centrally located about 30 minutes drive from airport but situated in a quiet lake area. Restaurant and pub seem good. Older property and facilities but seems clean and well maintained. Pool down between the lake and tennis courts seems nice. Seems to have some internet limitations but workable. Some UN and other offices in building seem to provide some significance. Would definitely consider coming back as a tourist with family.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    197
    112
    30
    13
See reviews for
51
104
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
625 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great peaceful location midway between the airport and the centre of the city right by the lake is this hotels best feature. Yangon hotels due to the shortage of hotel rooms seem to be able to charge whatever they like regardless of the value for money (see my review on Traders Hotel).this hotel has some charm and fine floral displays,some interesting shops.
But she is a tired old lady who needs some love and attention. My room was adequate with a terrace which was nice but the bathroom really needs attention,the grouting around the shower tiles needs work. The parquet floor in the room by the desk was scratched and marked. If they are going to charge a top rate they must address points like these. Breakfast was O.K but unlike most of the Myanmar folk I have met the waiting staff were pretty grim faced,unusual in such a normally lovely people.
Wifi connection was very good and the ground floor bar overlooking the lake was very pleasant

Room Tip: I have seen on this site suggestions that one stays in small private hotels in Yangon and this sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Very nice place, quiet and cozy, good for business meetings. The rooms are very clean and spacious. Personnel is friendly and very good in providing assistance. There is certainly room for improvement in the kitchen but this is probably a challenge for many establishments as country is opening up.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7September
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Good hotel with the view of the lake, which increases your mood in the morning. Not very good location, and please note that you will be unable to eat anything in 1 km radius after 9 pm. As well as no shopping area around. However if you go to hotel just to sleep, that's a very good option. The rooms a clean, air-conditioning working and the brave ones can jump into the lake and have a swim. The hotel personnel is very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is made in old Soviet style and used to be a resort area in the past. But this does not make sense, when the rooms are tidy and you see big palms ans squirrels in the yard of hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmanian
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed here one night...our last in Myanmar. We flew in from He Ho (Inle Lake) and arrived at the hotel almost in time for a down poor, well it is Monsoon time.
Our room was very spacious, on one of the higher floors, and the view from balcony was towards to pool area. It was clean the bathroom was clean.
Reception was helpful and obliging. English was a little limited with some of the staff. We tried to book direct with the hotel but they could not offer us the same rate or a better rate than Agoda and could not understand, over the phone our questions, so we booked online anyway.
The cafe in the foyer was a very nice place for a coffee and snack, and we could meet our friends there as well.
The Lakeside bar was a nice place for a pre dinner drink, over looking the gardens and lake.
The exterior of this hotel is old and needs a little TLC, the foyer and reception are impressive as is the dinning room where you have an extensive buffet breakfast.
We used the pool (we were the only people swimming) bonus huge pool to ourselves! there are tennis courts as well.
The spa in the hotel was great, we had lovely foot/leg/shoulder/back massages.
Yes I can recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Local57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

The last visit in Bhurma: 18 months ago. Inya lake hotel offers rooms for 50-60 USD/night. The offer: Run-down rooms with unpleasant and dirty gaps in the bathroom. Yet the former quality and colonial grandiosity of this hotel was visible. Wooden floors, tea rooms on every floor, a very fancy (!) lift.

This visit: The hotel isn't any better. Still a bit dirty. Still quite run-down. But they are charging at least 170 Dollar per night. And it's not worth it.
In another country you'd pay maybe 50 for it. Probably less.

Don't go, rather support a small hostel or family run business in Yangon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kugelfingergecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Checked in in the middle of the night after the bad experienced from Yango International.

Booked from hotel website, more costly than travel website.

Very far from down town, at least 20 mins drive in all the old and shabby taxi.

My room was probably a junior suite, clean toilet, clean bed sheets and 4 pillows. Very thankful after coming from the horrible experience in Yangon international .

My colleague stay on the superior, it is surely poorer condition.
Breakfast was good, service was excellent at the hotel cafe.

Bellman service was good too.
Remember to change NEW , Crisp USD note to pay your bill.
Credit card charges add 6% to total bill.

It is rainy season now.
Taxi fare bargain for 4000kyak to airport

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy71_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon Managed by AccorHotels
MiCasa Hotel Apartments Yangon M...
#35 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#39 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jasmine Palace Hotel
Jasmine Palace Hotel
#18 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Taw Win Garden Hotel
Taw Win Garden Hotel
#19 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#14 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Property: Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Address: 37 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inya Lake Hotel, surrounded by 37 acres of verdant gardens, a serene lake resplendent with lotus, leafy trees and a free-shaped swimming pool offers the perfect retreat for guests to simply sit back and relax. Exploration of Yangon and the surrounding area is also a must and we would be delighted to arrange a variety of tours and excursions for you during your stay with a private guide.A 15-minute drive from the city centre, and 20 minutes from Yangon International Airport, the colonial styled hotel with its teakwood floors and oriental feel evokes charming memories of a by-gone era. The 129 guestrooms are decorated in retro style offering guests astonishing views over the city of Yangon and the Inya Lake.Experience the exotic delicacies of Myanmar, this secret tropical cuisine so redolent of the spices, textures and flavours of both this country and its neighbours. Unwind and enjoy the magic of sunset at the Lake View Bar or just relax at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Dusit Yangon (Rangoon)
Yangon (Rangoon) Dusit
Dusit Inya Lake Hotel Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing