We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Ranked #32 of 165 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The Inya Lake Hotel is located a bit outside the city centre and Yangon's main attractions. The Hotel is old, however clean and located nicely at the Inya Lake. It offers a pool, gym, bar and restaurant with good food. The city centre is about 15-30 minutes depending on the traffic. Rooms are basic and staff is friendly and great. I would stay there again, however there are modern hotels now in town such as the Sedona or Shangri-La

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MarcCaspers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

211 - 217 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed two nights. The location worked well for our meetings in a city where traffic is an issue. Excellent Italian restaurant on the compound so an easy walk. Breakfast buffet adequate but nothing special. Lake view quite nice, prices were better than our other options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steveuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I just like the hotel environment. The room, the surrounding, the view of the nearby lake, the condition of the room, the services by the hotel's staff and the most is the food at the main restaurant.

It just the location of the hotel which situated a little bit far from the main road. It took me about 20 minutes to reach to the main road to pick up a taxi. The taxi at the hotel was quite expensive compare to the outside service. For example if you want to charter a taxi from the hotel is about 12,000 kyat or USD12 per hour while if you take taxi from the main road only 5,000 kyat or USD5 per hour.

If you like reflexology or foot massage open until 10.00pm at the rate of 8,000 kyat or USD8 per hour. For night life, only a pub available near to the lake area.

If you want to try the meal at the restaurant, should order the local curry whether fish or chicken.Nice food. There are also western food, seafood and other asian food.

Every room with wide balcony and good scenery. As I'm travelling for business that day, i just don't have much time to spend to explore the whole hotel.

My tips: If you are tight budgeted traveler, better find a hotel nearby to town area like Yangon hotel but if you are not so tight budget traveler and want a place to relax and unwind, this is the hotel.


KL, Malaysia

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haqimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Inya Lake is a little out of town but don't let that be a distraction, the hotel is closer to the airport, near a road full of little bars and cafes and an easy taxi ride to all the sights of beautiful Yangon.

The service is just as you would expect, courteous, helpful and kind, all level of comfort was offered to us during our stay, including the welcome of an additional friend at the expansive and highly recommended breakfast. The rooms are large and area, we had a lake view on the the third floor and a nice sized balcony to enjoy it from.

The Lake View Bar has a happy hour and the Sunday Brunch attracts many outside guests as it is incredibly good both in substance and value. The hotel itself if elegant, not showy and really functional.

Room Tip: Lake views are from most of the rooms but ask if you want to be sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kaytype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for almost a full week on recent business trip to Myanmar and think this is an oasis tucked away in bustling Yangon !

Surrounded by acres of lush greenery and the serene Inya lake and a very colonial architecture, the place has got plenty for both business and pleasure travelers.

Polite, smooth check in. Spacious rooms with good wi fi connection and great view of the adjacent lake and some pagodas a little far away. Quietness is what you get once you are inside your room.

Breakfast is well laid and have good variety but for some reasons they always bring in coffee which are invariably cold !! Restaurant menu is pretty limited in choice !

Spacious gym but many of the equipment are not in proper working condition or badly need maintenance ! The pool is an absolute pleasure with its amazingly big size and wonderful settings !

On downside, it's a bit off track to walk casually out to some easy access to shops or other city landmarks ! You invariably need to hire out a cab ! So practically every time you want to venture out for your lunch or dinner, it can be quite a distance !!

For the night life lovers, two prominent night clubs in the city are just walking distance within the hotel campus which make it very convenient !

Overall, surely a great place to be in but I am not too sure about the price tag they are carrying at the moment which is true for many hotels around Yangon these days with increasing business and holiday travelers and apparently lack of many good options around !! They can certainly look into make it more reasonable in the pricing front !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Devztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Been here for a little over two months now. The location is excellent.. Yes the hotel is old and so are the rooms but the staff and management make up for most of it. The sunsets at magical inya lake , the walk in the gardens..we love it all!
The food is OK, though I'd wish for some more variety.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shveta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had been to the Inya Lake Hotel for numerous times. It had been serving guests for the last 40 years with similar hardware and software. The hotel was built years back by the Soviet Union in the shape of a ship. The facilities within the hotel was considered better than the other hotel within Yangon. However little had been done to improve the hotel. Maybe due to the government's foreign investment policy, it discouraged outside investors.

For a city that needed capacity, it is sad to see a hotel with huge ground area sitting back with no-way-out. Hopefully the present government will come up with a win-win policy that the investor can invest into the improvement on the hotel infrastructure and rooms to cater to the ever increasing guests. Let's wait and see.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suki_Singh, General Manager at Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and despite the amazing location the hotel needs an upgrade.
The good news is that a very significant program is in place to both add capacity and improve the existing product.
We are working on some contractual matters and will ensure the site gets the justice it deserves in respect of development
Kindly contact me when you next visit and I would like to connect with you again
Kind regards,
Suki Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#11 of 165 in Yangon (Rangoon)
446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Sedona Hotel Yangon
#16 of 165 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,170 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 165 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 165 in Yangon (Rangoon)
388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 165 in Yangon (Rangoon)
336 reviews
3.8 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#17 of 165 in Yangon (Rangoon)
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon

Address: 37 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road, Yangon (Rangoon) 112233, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £47 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inya Lake Hotel, surrounded by 37 acres of verdant gardens, a serene lake resplendent with lotus, leafy trees and a free-shaped swimming pool offers the perfect retreat for guests to simply sit back and relax. Exploration of Yangon and the surrounding area is also a must and we would be delighted to arrange a variety of tours and excursions for you during your stay with a private guide.A 15-minute drive from the city centre, and 20 minutes from Yangon International Airport, the colonial styled hotel with its teakwood floors and oriental feel evokes charming memories of a by-gone era. The 129 guestrooms are decorated in retro style offering guests astonishing views over the city of Yangon and the Inya Lake.Experience the exotic delicacies of Myanmar, this secret tropical cuisine so redolent of the spices, textures and flavours of both this country and its neighbours. Unwind and enjoy the magic of sunset at the Lake View Bar or just relax at the Pool Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Dusit Yangon (Rangoon)
Yangon (Rangoon) Dusit
Dusit Inya Lake Hotel Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing