We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back into a by-gone era”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 158 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Yes, that's usually a cliche, but at the Stand it rings true. The moment you step into the hush of the lobby, with it's high, high ceilings and giant bouquets you will begin to relax. Registration is simple, and yes they will take credit cards,,,but at 6% commission.

Room categories seem a bit confusing, but we had booked an Executive Suite. This consisted of a plus size king bed, sitting area with a sofa and two chairs, fruit basket and a bottle of french bubbly. 14 foot ceilings made it seem even larger, and the door to the room had it's own little corridor with another door that separated it from the floor attendant's (well these days they're all "Butlers") desk. The butler was there 24/7 and ran all your errands from laundry to room service. (I want one at home!)

Bathroom included double vanities, large tub and separate rain shower and a separate toilet compartment. Lots of nice smells from the flowers and the amenities. It would all be a bit over the top but for the odd quirks like a ragged piece of carpeting placed under one of the large potted plants. That did remind you that you were indeed in Yangon. It smelled awful, but the Butler soon took care of the problem.

There are only about 35 rooms/suites so even when the hotel is full it seems as though you have a private house to yourself and the staff. Unless it's Friday afternoon or evening. drinks are then 2 for 1 in the charming bar and the place is seriously packed with ex-pats staking out their spots and curious tourists checking the place out.

Note: There is no pool or spa on site, and although we were told access to either could be arranged we never explored this option.

Room Tip: We got a great rate through Leading Hotels of the World web sale
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for The Strand
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

One of my pet travel peeves is a hotel that trades on its legacy without much concern for current guests. It is of no consequence to me that HRH King Taufa'ahau Tupou IV of Tonga visited in 1936, although I would guess that the good king had a better stay.

We traveled around Burma in March, 2013 and decided to end our visit at The Strand, based on its reputation. It was, without question, our worst hotel experience in Burma at twice the price. First of all, while it was built by the architects of Raffles in Singapore, this property is not nearly as atmospheric or large. It is smack in the center of a dusty, chaotic area of Yangon. We hoped to stroll around the area, but found the sidewalks in such disrepair that we ended up walking in the road, which wasn't all that relaxing. Yangon is a busy, traffic choked city and I would worry more about a quiet location, knowing that a car or taxi is needed for most of the exploration to be done.

In general, the staff was indifferent, which was in stark contrast to the stunning hospitality at every other hotel we visited. It is probably a function of the tourists who traipse through the lobby at all times, wearying the employees. One tourist actually asked me to please get out of a chair, as I was ruining his shot of the lobby.

Our "deluxe suite" was a large room with a sitting area consisting of a love seat, two chairs and a beaten up lamp. This is NOT a suite in the typical standard, with a separate, closed off sitting room. The bed was very comfortable, however.

When we walked into our room, it had a musty smell and was very noisy. This was because all three of our windows were open, letting in the Yangon dust. We could not close them, as they were all broken. It took three maintenance men to climb up, force them shut and lock them, something that is unacceptable in a hotel of this standard. As well, the windows were filthy, but given our view of an deteriorating building and trash, this didn't matter at all.

The bathroom was in need of a good scrub, with black mold in the shower and bathroom sink areas. The bathroom was dated and had fewer amenities than any other property we visited in Yangon. Of course, this isn't a big deal, but corners are cut everywhere here. We had a jug of shampoo, conditioner and cream that we had to tote to the shower, along with a very small bar of soap. Not one other thing....no toothbrush, razor, file or any of the fun small touches we expect at a deluxe property....and received everywhere else in Burma.

We walked into an empty coffee shop for an early dinner and asked for one of the tables near the window. We were told that every one of them was reserved, which stunned us, as this is a coffee shop, not fine dining venue. When the waitress realized we weren't buying that, she finally gave us one of the tables. By the way, only one of the 6 tables ever had a patron during the hour we were there. The food was fine, with a decent assortment, but the tone was just off.

The coffee shop opened at 7 AM, which is rather late by Yangon standards as most of the flights to touristic destinations leave very early in the morning. Of course, room service is available, but it would be nice to be able to sit at a proper table at 6 AM. In contrast, at the Governor's Residence (which I highly recommend), breakfast started at 6 AM, but a full spread buffet was set out at 4:30 AM for the many early departing guests. Check out was painfully slow, with the clerk running into the back room to do any processing at all, so leave yourself plenty of time.

Our expectations for this hotel were high and they failed to deliver in pretty much every way, given the high price they are able to extract. My suggestion is to stop in a visit the lobby, maybe have a drink.....then stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank MickiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Burma. The place oozes effortless style and class and is one of the last remaining great colonial hotels of the East. Everything about it from the bar, to the floor butler, to the à la carte breakfast menu makes you feel like you've stepped straight into an Orwell novel. Yes, it is not perfect and yes, it is not everyone's cup of tea but to an old dame of this sort one should forgive minor sins (namely the slightly worn elevators, the sloppy cabling in the rooms, the sink that does not drain).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umpa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I am rating the service at the bar.
My sister and I went there after some sightseeing and shopping as we wanted to treat ourselves and as this is supposedly a great hotel. We expected good service and friendly staff as we have been travelling in Myanmar for over a week and loved it as the people were very gentle and kind. Unfortunately, this was not our experience at the hotel bar. One of the staff seated us at a table for two. Once we decided on our drinks and food, we waited for our waiter. The place was only half full. We tried to flag down a waiter but was not successful. Finally, we caught the attention of one of the waiters and he seemed not impressed that we tried to flag him down. We decided to move to the bar to get better service but that did not matter. The waiters and bartender acted like it was a favor to us to take our drink and food order! Finally, we got our drinks but no food. At this time, my sister and I were loosing our patience and asked to talk to the hotel manager. He came and we told him our experience. He asked us what we ordered and told him our drinks were brought to us but not our food. He inquired with the waiter and he denied that we ordered food.! Unbelievable!!!

The hotel manager talked to the waiter and personally brought us our food order. The waiter apologized to us by saying it was busy and that was the reason we had to wait so long. This is really unacceptable especially as the place was not even packed and being a fancy establishment.
The hotel manager apologized to us and did not charge us for the drinks. We paid for the food.

We will not return to this place again as it somewhat smeared our wonderful experience of Myanmar.

We love Myanmar, its gentle and kind people and beautiful land.

But not the staff at the bar of The Strand Hotel. They should learn from the other locals.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank mamarone888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Running out of cash after our Myanmar tour I made a booking at the Strand after first being assured that they did accept credit cards. After an expenisve meal with very slow service I tendered my credit card when the bill came to be told that they dont accept creit cards. After a public dispute with the manager i was told that they only accept cards as a special favour to hotel guests. Eventually they did accept payment with my card but it was an embarrasing incident in front of my guests. later I found that I had been overcharged - $20 on a $200 bill.

11  Thank Fleetec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eigentlich sind alle 26 oder 28 Zimmer optimal gelegen.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hagmann2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
4.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £214 - £546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing