We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel in Yangon!”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“A charming hotel in Yangon!”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

It is my favourite hotel in Myanmar. We stayed there for 2 nights in our trip in Myanmar and really enjoy every moment we spent there. It's a lovely hotel with charming decor and delicate design. I am myself interested the hotels with elegant design and Strand hotel is one of them. Staffs were friendly and very helpful. They asked about my trip, how long I would be in MyanmarThe food was great and we enjoyed the breakfast menu each day. The bar is a classic one, which my parner didn't enjoy much, but to me, it's still very nice and lovely. Our room with all the size and old charm of British colonial was very confortable.
This was the first time we were in Yangon and the hotel was beyond our expectation.
Strongly recommend the Strand to anybody who are planning a trip to Yangon!
Manny

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannyD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    157
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
94
297
51
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, CA (USA)
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed one night at the Strand before we took off for our tour of Myanmar, then two nights there after two weeks on the road. Both of our stays were too short! On the first stay, we had to get up at 4AM to get to the airport for a flight and our butler (there are several on every floor) brought us a wonderful continental breakfast (oh those croissants) to wake us up. Heaven. They now have flat screen TVs and get all the required international channels plus lists of first-run movies playing each night. (We watched "Flight" one evening.....) The rooms are very large with a separate sitting room with a settee and two chairs (upholstery and rug could use a bit of work, however.) The old British colonial charm is very much in evidence with the dark wood, ceiling fans, staff uniforms, etc. On our return visit, we very much enjoyed the hotel breakfast (ordered from a menu but a buffet which we liked) and loved the buffalo mozzarella pizza!! We did have drinks in the lovely bar though we were not there for happy hour unfortunately. The concierge desk folks were very helpful. I needed to go our early the AM of our departure to find some of the fermented tea leaves to make the delicious laphet thoke salad and they knew exactly where to send me, just around the corner. I did laundry there (couldn't stand my clothes any longer!) and it was fairly expensive, but one has to expect that at the Strand I guess. They were also helpful in suggesting restaurants not tied to the generals! I gave the place only 4 stars because I do think there are things in the room that needed touching up: upholstery, rug and some of the tile in the bathroom. (Where there is a separate WC BTW....) but all in all we loved our stay at the Strand!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have been staying here at The Strand over the past 12 years and its just like coming home. Not just the friendly staff, the history or the grander. The water pressure in the shower is the best of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The WI-FI is now great. The food and Friday nights in the bar are a must.
10 points from me

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polkinghorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I recently stayed at the Strand for four days in March 2013.
I was amazed at the beauty and old world charm of the Strand Hotel. The architecture and feel of the whole hotel takes you back to the old British Colonial days of Burma.
The hotel is very very quiet and peaceful, despite the fact its on a rather busy road. Once you are inside you feel as though you have stepped back in time.
The reception staff are very helpful and extremely polite. In fact I would say that the staff are the friendliest and most polite hotel staff I have come across in my travels throughout Asia. The Management should be very proud of the staff.

Both dining rooms are beautiful and the food is of a very high standard.
The hotel rooms are very large ( at least ours was) and have aircon and fans so you wont feel the Burmese heat. Again the rooms are old but everything is immaculate and in working order. Internet access was available throughout the hotel.
No gym or swimming pool but thats not what this hotel is about. Its pure relaxation no need to worry about your fitness routine.
For Tea drinkers, be sure to try the local Green Tea at the Strand ( not on the menu but available if asked for). It really is very refreshing.
Dont forget to have a drink in the bar, its a grand old bar with Burmese hardwood floors and is a step back in time. There is one pool table for those that wish to play.
Be sure to ask the reception staff for the walking tour fact sheet because the hotel is in a great spot to check out the local architecture of the grand old buildings nearby. We walked everywhere and did not once feel unsafe. The Burmese people are very friendly and polite to foreigners ( for now ).
Some people may think the hotel is expensive for Asia and it may well be but you get what you pay for and with the Strand you get a lot. We loved it !!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Wonderful hotel; all suites with butler service, which was impeccable. Lovely, spacious bedrooms; well appointed. The restaurants are very good; the bar is a great scene on Friday nights. The staff are charming, efficient and very helpful. The GM greets all guests and you are made to feel very much at home.
An unexpected bonus was that Wifi works in the bedrooms as well as in the public areas. Electrical sockets are both local and UK.

The neighbourhood is very interesting; more enormous colonial buildings. Very safe to wander round.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We arrived early for a one day stay, and were met at the airport by the hotels car - this was the only part of the hotel we didn't like. Otherwise a really pleasant oasis with great staff, very attentive (including a butler on each floor) and superb food - kind of wished we had time for the full English tea in the lunch.

Our room was clean, cool and very relaxing - plus felt like it was in a real colonial style. For some reason we were also given a complimentary bottle of (French) wine on arrival (we chose to drink it in the evening) and it was delivered cool in an ice bucket to finish the evening with nice music and a good selection of TV channels (including the hotel's own movie channel). My favourite part was a home-made Danish for breakfast, along with the equivalent of a full English breakfast plus some delicious local cuisine (fish soup). Also enjoyed the cocktail bar in the evening.

In summary – a very pleasant hotel and clearly top quality, but of course very pricey, likely we'd be tempted to come back.

However, on the airport transfer - it was very expensive in local terms ($50 vs ~$10 for a normal air con taxi) and probably not worth it as the car wasn't anything special (just a basic but new 4 door car, quite small, no welcome water nor any similar enhancements that I might have expected for the price. As an FYI the trip took us 90 minutes due to rush hour traffic and lots of roadworks.

Room Tip: I suspect the upgrade is worth it for the extra few dollars (relatively)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at The Strand for one night at the beginning of my trip to Burma last spring. I didn't have a chance to partake of any of its amenities besides dining.

My overall impression of the public spaces and rooms at The Strand was that they were lovely and true to the British colonial character of Burma, replete with beautiful hardwood floors, buttercream walls, swirling ceiling fans, and creaky carpeted staircases. However, the whole place seemed slightly dingy, like it was crying out for a deep cleaning/sprucing up.

The lobby was the best place in the hotel to catch the hotel's wifi signal, and residents kicked back in their wicker club chairs surfing the internet lent the atmosphere a relaxed, welcoming vibe. The bar was packed when I arrived (it was happy hour) with a rowdy, after work expat crowd, which was kind of fun.

My suite was spacious and tastefully decorated in a grandmother's living room sort of way, but a bit dark and again, everything seemed slightly worn.

Unfortunately, something I ate --whether it was my three salad dinner, recommended by my earnest, well meaning waitress, or my takeaway breakfast of a fruit smoothie and croissant -- gave me food poisoning, which took an antibiotic course and several days to clear up. Not terribly surprising in a developing country, but an inconvenience nonetheless....

Despite that incident, nearly a year later, what stands out as the highlight of my visit to The Strand is the warm atmosphere and in particular, the service -- from the somewhat formal check in, my waitress at dinner, and my floor butler -- none of which were of the international five star variety, but rather disarmingly sweet, sincere and eager to please.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaisieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,633 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
591 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing