We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil amongst Yangons busy neighborhoods”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tranquil amongst Yangons busy neighborhoods”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a delightful hotel. I loved that it wasn't a mega, sprawling hotel, but instead something unique and small. Next to the Irawaddy River (across the street), short walk around some great, busy neighborhoods and amongst the chaotic Yangon traffic, this hotel is a small oasis. Its important to note that it doesn't have a garden nor pool, so if you are relaxing on site its all within the hotel. One does feel as if you have entered an bygone era, with the décor and furniture. On the guest floor sits the concierge / butter who are forever looking after your needs from room service requests, taking your keys, newspapers and room cleaning. We were only there for one night, so our breakfast was room service, which was delivered in style and very tasty, plus we enjoyed the English afternoon tea in the main restaurant. At times it looks a bit worn, however the overall feel and the attentive staff make up for it. If anyone still needs to shop, there is a small shopping area with arts, crafts, paintings and jewelry. If you are in Yangon for a couple of trips, as we were once beginning our trip and then at the end, I would make this hotel one of the stops as it gives a very unique feel and service compared to other hotels we visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mytravelworldrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    156
    40
    11
    2
See reviews for
94
297
51
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I spent two night at The Strand and I enjoyed it! The rooms are very big, even if the decor it is not my style, they are very nice, the only thing disappoint me a bit is that the bathroom that is big and very well appointed, looks to 80s to my taste. Beds are great, pillows are very nice also. Service is very good as the staff is very friendly and helpful

Breakfast was very good, I also have dinner once and was good

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Strand never disappoints. Located near the banks of the Irawaddy River in Rangoon, a visit to this lovely property makes one feel as if she is travelling in another era. The service and amenities are top-notch and the butler on each floor provides for our every whim. Pricey, but worth the cost The Strand has levely friendly staff, dependable Wifi (a must at this point of their development), gracious large rooms (like suites), lovely galleries and shops which amazingly take credit cards and delicious fare at the restaurants. Until other luxury 4 and 5 star hotels are built in Burma, this is the place to stay for quality experience.

Room Tip: No spa, no gym, no pool ... but a delight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Strand is set in a great and rather atmospheric colonial building, rooms are huge and service is very eager. But somehow decor-wise rooms appear empty and basic and the service is naive and close to annoyingly obtrusive. Breakfasts are good though and location is central - close to Sula Paya.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent four nights at The Strand and truly enjoyed it. The rooms are rather grand. We stayed in a deluxe suite - the size of a small apartment. The bathrooms are charming but you need to be a little bit patient for the hot water to arrive in the shower. When it does, there's lots of it. The bed was gargantuan and very comfortable. The turn-down service is sweet - you get a new tasty Burmese sweet treat every night and a ring of jasmine blossoms.

What makes this hotel, besides the beautiful decor, is the staff. They were friendly, helpful and accommodating to a fault. The internet is a little patchy, but workable. And apparently this is true for the city as a whole.

We only ate in the cafe, but that was fine. The breakfasts were also very nice.

Room Tip: Some other reviewers have complained about noise, but we never had any problems at all. It was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank remittancegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really stylish hotel with colonial character. Overall service was excellent, suite very nice and breakfast good. Otherwise some negative points are very hefty prices in their restaurants excluding happy hour from 5pm till 11pm in their bar. Also room minibar prices were almost double compared other 4/5 star hotels in Rangoon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarangPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Nice boutigue hotel with a great bar and restaurant, reasonable price point. Needs at least a small gym. Good wifi service, pool and gym will be needed if you were to stay for more then 2 nights. Tea and coffee machine in the room would also be a good addition.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nusadua2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,632 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
588 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,487 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing