We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Dame of Yangon,but.........”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was greeted by the GM -Didier and he gave a warm and pleasant introduction to The Strand and I was so thankful for the upgrade to one of their 3 Executive Suites. They are simply huge and with teak floors and polished dark wood finishes they give of an aura of the old Colonial past. With the City just beginning to boom from tourists ( and The Governors Residence just about to start a big refurbishment of their rooms - I would not want this Grand Dame to become an old Dowager Duchess ! The amazing space needs some homely warmth and more life in the wall art/ objet d'art and 'stuff' of interest. ( See Raffles in Singapore for the right comparison)
The breakfast is all ordered and served fresh ( refreshing after endless buffets !) andAfternoon tea is cute and worth a stop off for
The Male massuer was very good at his job, so much so that I fell to sleep mid-treatment and woke myself with my own snoring (lol)
The bar on the night I was there was very quiet ( and again lacked intimate atmosphere ) but I have to admit to not being there later at night.
All round a centrally located , fantastic, well run establishment - just need the investors to release some cash for keeping it at the Top

Room Tip: if you want size go for the Executive Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Book way ahead if you want to sample afternoon tea, but go for Happy Hour early evening cocktails at the Strand and enjoy really good, quite substantial bar snacks at no extra cost. Very atmospheric hotel on the riverfront in Yangon, with palm trees, airy, spacious reception area and international clientele. Not at all formal or stuffy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BelfastLuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This colonial hotel has been renovated perfectly. Our suite was very pretty and luxury and the butler gave us the perfect service. She even watched our kids so we could drink something in the bar downstairs. The only improvement could be the restaurant service because we got our plates when the cook was ready, so we got all dinner courses at the same time (not relaxed:-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyAmersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Built in 1896 by the Sarkies Brothers, like the Raffles Singapore
It s a luxurious Victorian style Hotel , superbly managed by the present general manager, Mr Didier Belmonte , Spacious rooms and bathrooms , excellent service , amazing food .....the Bar is a must especially on Fridays when everybody in Yangon meet .
I did try several other hotels during my regular trips to Yangon , and for sure " The Strand" remains my favorite , by far !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tintinautibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Strand is by far the nicest place to stay in Yangon. I had no idea what to expect before I arrived in Yangon on business and the moment I walked into the Strand I knew I would have an excellent stay. The rooms are gorgeous and unique and full of history. The common areas are airy and beautiful and the food is excellent. And the staff! I cannot say enough good things about the staff at the Strand. They go above and beyond in every single way. I truly hope to have the chance to visit Myanmar again and I will certainly be staying at the Strand when I do!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijou177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a delightful hotel. I loved that it wasn't a mega, sprawling hotel, but instead something unique and small. Next to the Irawaddy River (across the street), short walk around some great, busy neighborhoods and amongst the chaotic Yangon traffic, this hotel is a small oasis. Its important to note that it doesn't have a garden nor pool, so if you are relaxing on site its all within the hotel. One does feel as if you have entered an bygone era, with the décor and furniture. On the guest floor sits the concierge / butter who are forever looking after your needs from room service requests, taking your keys, newspapers and room cleaning. We were only there for one night, so our breakfast was room service, which was delivered in style and very tasty, plus we enjoyed the English afternoon tea in the main restaurant. At times it looks a bit worn, however the overall feel and the attentive staff make up for it. If anyone still needs to shop, there is a small shopping area with arts, crafts, paintings and jewelry. If you are in Yangon for a couple of trips, as we were once beginning our trip and then at the end, I would make this hotel one of the stops as it gives a very unique feel and service compared to other hotels we visited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mytravelworldrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I spent two night at The Strand and I enjoyed it! The rooms are very big, even if the decor it is not my style, they are very nice, the only thing disappoint me a bit is that the bathroom that is big and very well appointed, looks to 80s to my taste. Beds are great, pillows are very nice also. Service is very good as the staff is very friendly and helpful

Breakfast was very good, I also have dinner once and was good

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,863 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,664 reviews
1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
4 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £223 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing