We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Burma at its best”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a great start to our Myanmar holiday, staff were all very attentive, rooms were massive, with a very comfy bed with amazing pillows. The shower was perhaps one of the best I have ever had.And though the grill was full for our night the cafe served us perfectly.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Fabulous hotel. Classic colonial style. We had stayed at The Raffles in Singapore and The E&O in Penang before and were looking forward to staying here.
Large rooms, wonderful service. Central location convenient to restaurants and markets.
Would have been great to have tea and coffee in the room like in most Asian hotels.
Buffet breakfast would be preferable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is the quintessential British colonial hotel. People will say go to,the governor's residence, which is lovely and in a nicer part of town, bur it misses the experience. The strand is an old style British hotel, with a floor to roof atrium, large rooms and a well trained staff, with floor butlers. The location is it so great and the wifi was lousy, but if you are there as a tourist so what. Go for the experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Uncle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Starting and ending our three week Myanmar trip at the Strand was our first choice. We had stayed here in 2002 and were looking forward to it. The rooms are still classically good and the bar has it's charm, as well. But the restaurants were very disappointing. Dinner was an absolute bust and even breakfast were slow and unimaginative. We ended up eating elsewhere every night. They are now a distant second to the Governor's Residence.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have nothing but praise for the Strand Hotel. It served as our home base during our two week trip around Myanmar, with my wife and I staying there three separate times (and in three separate rooms). Each time we were in a Deluxe Suite (two on the first floor, and one on the second), which were all very spacious with well appointed bathrooms, comfortable (if firm) beds, pleasant seating areas, flat screen televisions, and wi-fi. Square footage and down pillows aside, the real standout of the Strand Hotel is their level of service and attention to detail. Each floor has its own butler, who each seemed to know exactly what we wanted every time we called. More importantly, though, our flight out of Myanmar didn't depart until 1AM, and the hotel not only held our bags for us while we spent our last day sightseeing, but they also provided us with access to the spa (at no cost) so that my wife and I could freshen up before our flight. As to the food, the breakfasts are very nice with freshly baked pastries prepared at the hotel, the restaurant has a very good selection of western food (if you get tired of rice), and you should make sure to take advantage of happy hour at the Strand Bar on Fridays (from 5-11) for a chance for 50% off your drinks, passed hors d'oeuvres and the opportunity to overhear secrets from drunk employees of the Australian and British embassies.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were quiet, but if you want to avoid all street noise, you should ask for a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very good hotel. Well decorated. Very large rooms. Very clean. Nice atmosphere everywhere. Very good restaurant. Very friendly staff. Internet has ups and downs, but the entire hotel is about staying in an historical place, so the internet is not really important in such a place...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

You don't need to stay the night here to be able to sample an aura of bygone Yangon. I highly recommend the front bar as a perfect place to escape the heat outside or a passing downpour.
The ceiling fans & opulent interior are in great contrast to the badly broken pavements outside. The bar accepts US dollars and was empty when I arrived. Beers are $6, Juice $5. Drinks come with complimentary snacks. Staff seeing I was alone - brought over some books of Old Rangoon to read as I drank. I thought this was a great touch. There's also a pool table & at the rear an Art Gallery, plus an extensive Antiques Shop.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,397 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,579 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £237 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing