We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
646
179
46
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
179
46
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service operations manager george orwell the fine dining restaurant old world charm rudyard kipling floor butlers colonial hotels deluxe suite high tea historical hotel classic hotel colonial style bygone era sitting area rangoon memorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
621 - 626 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Intended to partake of High Tea, but decided to visit the Bar instead. What utter serendipity!
Sitting on bar stools and sipping decently-priced Strand Slings (always regretted not having Singapore Slings at the Raffles many years ago) we were soon joined by a delightfully vivacious and vociferous crowd of Americans with whom we swapped life experiences in this magnificently restored bar that shouted echoes of its British colonial past, which had been shared by many of my forebears. We were reluctant to part company with these jovial, passing hail-fellow-well-met acqaintances, but that is the fate of travellers. Excellent smiling service from the staff made our experience so very special. Visits to the adjacent art gallery and antiques outlet put the icing on the cake.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

What a great start to our Myanmar holiday, staff were all very attentive, rooms were massive, with a very comfy bed with amazing pillows. The shower was perhaps one of the best I have ever had.And though the grill was full for our night the cafe served us perfectly.

Date of stay: November 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Fabulous hotel. Classic colonial style. We had stayed at The Raffles in Singapore and The E&O in Penang before and were looking forward to staying here.
Large rooms, wonderful service. Central location convenient to restaurants and markets.
Would have been great to have tea and coffee in the room like in most Asian hotels.
Buffet breakfast would be preferable.

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is the quintessential British colonial hotel. People will say go to,the governor's residence, which is lovely and in a nicer part of town, bur it misses the experience. The strand is an old style British hotel, with a floor to roof atrium, large rooms and a well trained staff, with floor butlers. The location is it so great and the wifi was lousy, but if you are there as a tourist so what. Go for the experience.

Date of stay: October 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Uncle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Starting and ending our three week Myanmar trip at the Strand was our first choice. We had stayed here in 2002 and were looking forward to it. The rooms are still classically good and the bar has it's charm, as well. But the restaurants were very disappointing. Dinner was an absolute bust and even breakfast were slow and unimaginative. We ended up eating elsewhere every night. They are now a distant second to the Governor's Residence.

Room tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews