We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Strand Suite 3 night stay (vs. Governor's Residence junior suite)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,115 helpful votes
“Excellent Strand Suite 3 night stay (vs. Governor's Residence junior suite)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 2 week holiday in Burma/Cambodia/Hong Kong, during which we spent our first 3 nights in the Strand Suite at the Strand Yangon property. (We also stayed 3 nights in the Island Villa at the Aureum Palace Bagan, 5 nights in a pool suite at Amansara in Siem Reap, Cambodia, and 2 nights at the Upper House Hong Kong).

We originally had wanted to stay at the Governor's Residence, but that was unavailable for booking almost 6 months in advance of our stay. We chose the Strand as our second choice. A few weeks before our visit, we did have the chance to switch to the Governor's Residence but decided to stick it out with the Strand. That was a good call for us.

We very much enjoyed the Strand. Service was at extraordinarily high levels, with everything handled with the utmost charm and responsiveness.

The Strand Suite was amazing. For about US$820 per night, we thought the Strand Suite was a steal, especially when compared to the junior suite at the Governor's Residence for US$840. The Strand Suite was enormous, with huge living room, salon, dining room, kitchen, master bedroom, master bath, and sitting room/office. The air con worked quite well, keeping the entire enormous suite cool enough even for my tastes--which are inclined to be quite cool to be comfortable (18-19 C!). The master bath was a bit smaller than one may have expected considering the overall suite size, but it was more than sufficient for our 3 nights. The amount of natural light in the suite was incredible, and it always felt like we had our own apartment in the city.

Room service was tasty and prompt, and our one final dinner in the Strand's restaurant was among our best in the city (especially compared to the travesty of a meal at the city's famous Le Planteur restaurant, already slammed in another review).

We did have lunch at the Governor's Residence on our final day in Yangon--just out of curiosity. Service there was equally as impressive as at the Strand. We thought the property was beautiful, an urban oasis right in the midst of the city, feeling a bit more like an Amanresort ambience akin to the Aman at Summer Palace in Beijing. That being said, we took the opportunity to look at an available junior suite and were completely underwhelmed with the junior suite, especially when compared to our Strand Suite at the Strand. There was NO comparison there. I can't speak to the other suites and regular rooms at the Strand compared to the other rooms at the Governor's Residence, but our opinion is that you obviously get FAR more for your money at the Strand. The junior suite felt more like a deluxe room in a fairly standard hotel room elsewhere--and for about the same rate as our Strand Suite! The fact that the Governor's Residence has a pool turned out to be a non-factor for us, as we found the pool at the GR to be oddly placed in the front of the property in full view of arriving and meal guests--and no one was using it during the several hours we were there having lunch.

Those preferring better bang for their buck or a more urban feel will definitely prefer the Strand over the Governor's Residence. Those preferring a more oasis retreat feel will perhaps prefer the Governor's Residence, as it does have a tranquil resort feel more than that of the Strand--but you pay dearly for that feeling. Overall, we felt the service levels and food quality for both properties were quite comparable; the difference will be in what one prefers in atmosphere.

Were we to return to Yangon, we certainly would opt again for the Strand Suite at the Strand, knowing now what we know. Of course, with a Peninsula hotel coming in several years, I'm sure the service and amenities competition will ratchet up even further at these properties!

Room Tip: For the money, the Strand Suite was a steal--and an unbelievably amazing space to relax for 3 days a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    150
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
267
45
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is charming and done in the colonial era architecture. Makes you feel like you are living in that era. Great service.

The food and service in the restaurant were mediocre.

Governor’s Palace is a bit more upscale, but very out of the way. We liked being in the colonial area

Room Tip: Food is mediocre and service in restaurant also mediocre, but rooms were great and service in hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

An experience in Yangon if you can afford it. We have been the first time in this hotel in 1986 and it had much charme but was falling apart. Now it has been restored and kept most of the charme. Location is not the best area but it is safe and you can walk to nearby restaurant if you wish

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuidoCarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sao paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

there is no pool,spa or gym, but the rooms,service, location and colonial charm make up for everything;they only have 30 odd rooms ,so it can be hard to get in;overall very,very nice for families or business

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with lots of old world charm. Rooms were spacious. English breakfast was wonderful. We felt like we were in Colonial Myanmar.
Everyone was so helpful and nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone going to Yangon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank armpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at the Strand for three nights last month (December 2013) and found the hotel very comfortable with excellent service and accommodations. This downtown, British colonial built hotel was recently renovated and is an oasis in Yangon. Separate shower and bathtub with large rain forest shower head. Staff is very attentive with a strong command / understanding of English. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob92110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed at The Strand Yangon in September 2013 and overall the hotel was great. The location is convenient, the rooms are enormous and service great the food was outstanding. It's a real city hotel, there is no pool and no garden to speak of, so if that's what you're after, there are other hotels to choose from in Yangon. But if you're looking for a vibrant, stunning hotel with good energy, then this should be your first choice. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms are bight with well appointed bathrooms, butler service on each floor and several food and beverage outlets right in the hotel. (Although in Yangon you probably don't want to have every meal at the hotel, it's great to know you have it available if you don't want to venture out).

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms at this hotel, so this is likely just a matter of your own per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTastic4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing