We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT experience @ STRAND GRILL”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had a great dining experience at the Strand hotel .
This time we decided to try the Strand Grill , fine dining. We were amazed by the quality of the meal as well as by the quality of the Service.
The atmosphere was very pleasant with a back ground live musician playing classic guitar.
We had a great time enjoying the 1901 charm of this leading hotel of the world and our nice dinner accompanied by some great wines....
Thank you to the service / kitchen team and to the new French Chef for making our experience such a treat,
Will definitively be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebirdbagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Yes this is the most expensive hotel in Yangon but NO it is not the nicest. Location is great but the hotel completely falls short of expectations if you are expecting a high-end hotel. It is completely outdated and the rooms are anything but opulent. The staff is great but thats about it. The Governor's Residence is a much better option and actually cheaper. Sorry Strand but you need to step up your game if you wanna maintain those high prices once Myanmar really becomes a tourist hotspot which is actually happening now...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalSwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is an excellent hotel with a charm and warmth which one imagines was the case in colonial times. There is a great deal of wood in most of the public spaces and a lovely bar, complete with pool table, which looks like some of the old pubs that can still be found in the country side outside of London. The location is as good as any in the city providing easy access to some attractions although a car is necessary to reach others. The old city location does have the draw back of being close to other buildings and therefore very little chance of a view and no space for a swimming pool. Having said that, the hotels services and staff and old world charm more than make up for this.
We ate in the #2 restaurant the Strand Cafe, since the main restaurant was hosting a private event. The Cafe was very good with excellent food quality and service and is a good choice. Although the hotel is quite old it has been upgraded in all the right areas which provides for a very comfortable stay with the usual amenities like fridge and safe and good lighting in the bathroom and the rooms are quite large.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnTampaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed twice as we travelled through Myanmar and each time the reception and service were excellent and welcoming. In coming back we felt that if anything were to be wrong it would be rectified immediately, not the case elsewhere in the country. Entry and lobby is calm, cool and open into a grill room, with a bar off to the side and a very interesting shop in the back to browse through. All rooms are suites and quite large, sparsely but very comfortably furnished, with good storage in the room and a separate closet area. One of our rooms inexplicably lacked a second side table by the bed which we did not like. There is a butler on every floor who will make sure you have what you need. Very comfortable bed and sitting area where they delivered timely breakfasts given our early starting times. The bathroom had excellent counter space, lots of hot water and good water pressure, bathtub as well as shower. We ate in the grill which was excellent with good service. My only complaint was that there was no coffee machine in the room.
Easy walking to some of the sights and right across from the jetty. Some small amount of street noise but not enough to bother us

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a few days prior to a tour of Burma. Its a real classic old colonial hotel full of atmosphere, slightly shabby. At first we were a little bemused by our room which was the size of an ocean liner but could definately have been cleaner. We had a very strange dying potplant on a shabby motheaten rug which we couldnt understand was doing there. Luckily the floors were of burnished teak.

Food was not up to much at all. Bar very old fashioned, with those little twirly ashtrays on stands.. The whole place was pickled in aspic; Ive been to quite a few of these (Queens Hotel,Kandy/Raffles) but you know what, in the end I wouldn't change it for anything because of the fantastic sense of history, the shades of the tea planters and colonial officials in the bar, the memsahibs in the lounge.

Yes it was overpriced and barely five star but this is Burma and its certainly worth it for the rarity value and all the above

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very Nice, Old World Gem of a Hotel. Lots of Colonial Era architecture and We Felt like it was a pleasant journey into the past. A Nice Way to Start Our Trip to Myanmar. Food and Service in the Restaurant was Good, Nice Selection. Area is Ok, Safe to walk around. Easy and Quick Access to all the Sites and Attractions of Yangon. A Great Experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrfoxycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Room decor is tired. Do not take room 109 is above the a/c of the cafe. They turned the a/c off at night so not a problem for sleeping. Cafe does not open till 7 am. Cafe service is slow. butlers were helpful! No tea or coffee maker in rooms. Ugly view out of window of the grimy building next door. Towels dull and rough. Rooms are large but that doesn't make up for the negatives. Save you money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Froyo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,710 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
345 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £277 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing