We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Yangon Hotel”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #3 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've been lucky enough to stay here on three occasions. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has a simple elegance. But it still suffers from some Myanmar quirks, like very slow service at the cafe. The food is tasty though and the massage is one of the best I've had in Myanmar. If you keep your expectations at "Myanmar five star" and not "Thailand five star" you'll love it here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent two nights at The Strand before touring through Myanmar. Apparantly this is the best hotel in Yangon that's why we chose it. It is good but not great, the building is old, the rooms are old, the furniture is old and so is the entire infrastructure, but radiates a warm atmosphere and sets you back into those days, when Britain was an empire. The rooms are very big with high ceilings and very, very clean. The beds were very comfortable as well. Staff is very polite helpful upon request, or not so proactive in other words (except for butler Joe, who was a delight).

One night we had dinner at the Grill, which was an enjoyable experience; food was very good and the guitar player simply world classI We would have loved to go once more, just to listen to his music. We ate lunch at the coffee shop, which we thought was very mediocre and very slow and unattentive service. At the end of our trip we stayed another night there and went for breakfast at 7 am as we were picked up at 7.30h for the airport. We were the first guests and breakfast is ordered from the menu. I asked for an omlette, which did not come after twenty minutes waiting, when I complained it took another five minutes, so I only could eat it in a hurry.

The room rate was around USD 500 per night; and we tought it

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

a stunningly restored taste of colonial rangoon, the strand offers old world charm *and* world-class service. we had read complaints that the operation did not live up to the potential and history of the property, that rooms were tired, that staff were so-so, etc.

we found none of this to be true: the strand is surely on the list of the top historic luxury hotels in the world.

our room was nearly the size of our new york city apartment, with high ceilings, dark-wood floors and a huge bathroom that retains some historic fixtures but has clearly been recently renovated. contrary to what we read in lonely planet, there were both a flat-screen television and fast internet access in the room. we were staying on the third floor on the west side of the building, which meant the room was flooded with light in the late afternoon/early evening, as the sun descended. we spent lovely interludes in the room during this time, a wonderful respite from the wonderful chaos of central yangon just outside. another tip: we adored the traditional myanmar dishes during the generous breakfast service, the only time during our trip such dishes were on the menu.

others here have complained about the strand's location, that it's in the hurly-burly of city and directly adjacent to traffic and crowds. that's the biggest reason we loved it here! there are leafy districts of yangon and luxury hotels aplenty there, but none where you can walk out of historic opulence and into the busy, teeming, wonderfully alive streets of this fantastic city. and yes, the hotel is expensive, but so are most other hotels in the country (for now, with such a limited supply of them). we felt we got more than our money's worth for the premium we paid here (as opposed to 2- or 3-star hotels charging 4- or 5-star prices in bagan, for example).

we could not have enjoyed our two-night stay at the strand more! i look forward to seeing it appear on more world's-best lists as visitors continue to flock to myanmar.

Room Tip: we loved the late-afternoon light on our western-facing, 3rd-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 269dbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you want to travel back to the era of British empire and the days of Somerset Maugham, Rudyard Kipling, et al, this is your place. High ceilings, dark woodwork, large capacious rooms, floor butlers, minimal number of guests, all harking back to another time. Yes there is air conditioning and internet, but you can close your eyes and visualize another era. The rooms are at least 600 sq ft and the accommodations are comfortable. The bar is nostalgic and is another remnant from a bygone era. The main restaurant is nicely appointed and the service is friendly and accommodative. The fare is "good", not great , but in that atmosphere it is very enjoyable. The location is as good as many other top hotels in Yangon as this is a city still finding its way in a new political environment. You can not go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Amazing elegant hotel. Restaurant with an excellent menu and very attentive staff. Breakfast is very extensive but the sausages are average.
The Butlers supply coffee, tea and hot chocolate on demand and they look after your key when you're not in your room. The rooms are huge, have wifi and a nice sofa. Bathrooms have everything you'd ever need.
Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H0lidayMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This icon stands in the perfect stately position in the middle of Yangon, holding the place it always has by the river and next to what is now the Australian embassy. For me it is the perfect combination of history, preserved character, tasteful renovations and quality service.

Sitting on the wicker chairs in the lobby and then ascending the grand wooden staircase, you cannot help but get a sense of the sheer history which has passed through the hotel. It is reflected in the beautifully restored rooms which have a colonial-style cavernous grandeur combined with slickly-designed modern comforts.

The impressive hardware comes with a human face - a butler sits in the atrium of each one of the small floors 24 hours a day and is genuinely happy to oblige whatever request you might have, a positive attitude seen with all the staff. The service in fact harks back to a bygone era. It is easy to imagine Rudyard Kipling casting aside his papers and adjourning to a bottle of gin in the lobby bar, where expats today congregate to mull the business of the day.

Finally mention must be made of the food. Whilst the high tea must be made mention of, the breakfast is outstanding - inclusive in the room, it allows an unlimited free reign over the quality of the menu. Very well executed, thought through western options sit next to perfect examples of the Burmese. It was the best hotel breakfast I have had in quite some time.

There is no question this is a top-end option with a top-end price tag but this is well and truly worth it. It oozes colonial style and is a highlight of Myanmar in and of itself. This is the Myanmar of Kipling's 'Mandalay' and, to a lesser extent, of Orwell's 'Burmese Days'. It is also off the US black list as well and thus it is the perfect springboard to explore the new, rapidly changing Myanmar of today. It truly is a quite brilliant icon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We tried The Strand Hotel at the beginning and at the end of our stay in Myanmar and loved it. It's interior is very well maintained and carries a great piece of history with it. You feel royal at that luxury hotel!
The staff is very friendly and perfectly trained, be it the concierges, the front desk assistance, the restaurant and bar staff or the butlers. All speak very good english and are very attentive.
The rooms are splendid and very spacious. We had some welcoming chocolates in our room, fresh fruit every day and nice bed time sweets (coconut jelly) - and the bathroom is one of a kind - spacious and luxurious!
The sales executive, Honey, helped us arrange a "fish market tour" in the city, which we highly recommended anyone visiting Yangon - despite the early waking up at 6am... Honey is a lovely person, very helpful and professional and we were very thankful for that tip!
On the last evening we also tried the fine dining restaurant and were glad we did - the food is delicious, the interior an eye catcher and the local music rounding it all up to a very fantastic stay for us!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,863 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,665 reviews
1 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
4 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £224 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing