We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and history”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

What a fantastic hotel. It is understated elegance with great food, charming staff and quite possibly the largest hotel rooms in Yangon. The bar is relaxed and friendly and a definite hang out for the expat population on a Friday night due to the extended Happy Hour. There is wood paneling everywhere, ceiling fans and all the other classic decor of the colonial era.

The cafe serves really good quality food, both at breakfast and in the evening with a good choice of dishes to suit all palates (including our two young children). I would definitely recommend it to all my friends and will stay there again if we ever return to the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Perfect service, good food, wonderful atmosphere. Unlike many grand hotels, The Strand has not been over-restored in the attempt to render it *luxe*. The lobby is good place to hang out; the cafe very relaxing, with a broad menu and a great breakfast.

Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor facing the river has a view, but the back of the hotel would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I consider this hotel the best in Rangoon (now Yangon) due to its beauty, ambience and colonial charm, like Raffles. Although it has has usual Myanmar quirks like slow service,everyone smiles and is pleasant and the food is tasty. Rooms were lovely, and you feel like you're in colonial days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you can afford it, you cannot come to Rangoon and not stay at the Strand. 5 star luxury meets old-world colonial charm. The Strand Hotel reminds me of the Raffles, but prices at 1/5th the cost.
Have high tea in the afternoon in the cafe, or drinks at the old-world bar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank npr111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I've been lucky enough to stay here on three occasions. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has a simple elegance. But it still suffers from some Myanmar quirks, like very slow service at the cafe. The food is tasty though and the massage is one of the best I've had in Myanmar. If you keep your expectations at "Myanmar five star" and not "Thailand five star" you'll love it here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We spent two nights at The Strand before touring through Myanmar. Apparantly this is the best hotel in Yangon that's why we chose it. It is good but not great, the building is old, the rooms are old, the furniture is old and so is the entire infrastructure, but radiates a warm atmosphere and sets you back into those days, when Britain was an empire. The rooms are very big with high ceilings and very, very clean. The beds were very comfortable as well. Staff is very polite helpful upon request, or not so proactive in other words (except for butler Joe, who was a delight).

One night we had dinner at the Grill, which was an enjoyable experience; food was very good and the guitar player simply world classI We would have loved to go once more, just to listen to his music. We ate lunch at the coffee shop, which we thought was very mediocre and very slow and unattentive service. At the end of our trip we stayed another night there and went for breakfast at 7 am as we were picked up at 7.30h for the airport. We were the first guests and breakfast is ordered from the menu. I asked for an omlette, which did not come after twenty minutes waiting, when I complained it took another five minutes, so I only could eat it in a hurry.

The room rate was around USD 500 per night; and we tought it

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vimarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

a stunningly restored taste of colonial rangoon, the strand offers old world charm *and* world-class service. we had read complaints that the operation did not live up to the potential and history of the property, that rooms were tired, that staff were so-so, etc.

we found none of this to be true: the strand is surely on the list of the top historic luxury hotels in the world.

our room was nearly the size of our new york city apartment, with high ceilings, dark-wood floors and a huge bathroom that retains some historic fixtures but has clearly been recently renovated. contrary to what we read in lonely planet, there were both a flat-screen television and fast internet access in the room. we were staying on the third floor on the west side of the building, which meant the room was flooded with light in the late afternoon/early evening, as the sun descended. we spent lovely interludes in the room during this time, a wonderful respite from the wonderful chaos of central yangon just outside. another tip: we adored the traditional myanmar dishes during the generous breakfast service, the only time during our trip such dishes were on the menu.

others here have complained about the strand's location, that it's in the hurly-burly of city and directly adjacent to traffic and crowds. that's the biggest reason we loved it here! there are leafy districts of yangon and luxury hotels aplenty there, but none where you can walk out of historic opulence and into the busy, teeming, wonderfully alive streets of this fantastic city. and yes, the hotel is expensive, but so are most other hotels in the country (for now, with such a limited supply of them). we felt we got more than our money's worth for the premium we paid here (as opposed to 2- or 3-star hotels charging 4- or 5-star prices in bagan, for example).

we could not have enjoyed our two-night stay at the strand more! i look forward to seeing it appear on more world's-best lists as visitors continue to flock to myanmar.

Room Tip: we loved the late-afternoon light on our western-facing, 3rd-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 269dbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,914 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,698 reviews
4 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#3 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
323 reviews
4 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £163 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901The Strand has featured as a landmark of this vibrant city for over a century, offering guests an oasis of calm, timeless elegance and understated luxury. The recent renovation project afforded a complete overhaul of its infrastructure, and restored The Strand to its former glory, featuring marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers and lacquer wood furniture, interspersed with Burmese antiques. Our 24-hour bespoke Butler service attends to the 32 suites, ensuring every whim is taken care of, and The Strand offers guests a welcome respite from the frenetic city, buoyed by the warmth and kindness of the Myanmar people, which remains the very essence of The Strand. Often regarded as the Grand Dame of Yangon, The Strand offers guests the opportunity to languor amidst a rich tapestry of past meets present, seamlessly blending architectural heritage with history, set against a backdrop of Colonial splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing