We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern times arrive but tradition remains at the strand hotel”
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“modern times arrive but tradition remains at the strand hotel”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

reminiscing the great times experienced in myanmar beginning the early 1990s, i decided to read the most recent reviews from fellow travelers regarding this grand old hotel. the strand may not be for the indivual on an expense account with appointments to maintain and a corporate boss requiring accountability. no...the strand is for the mature liesure traveler who appreciates a relaxing experience reminicent of colonial days.

i first stayed at the strand in 1996 during the country's failed 'visit myanmar 1996' promotion. the room rates were near US$400/n while the staff were receiving the equivalent of US$6/mo per individual. while i had daily appointments to maintain, i also had sufficient time to slow my pace to enjoy the aura of the strand hotel.

in the 90s, there was no wi-fi. there were no flat screen televisions nor multiple international channel availability. you couldn't even get a sim card for your mobile phone because myanmar post and telecommunications didn't offer this convenience. so, for evening liesure diversions, one was left to either taking a slow walk about, hardly feasible because of the heat and humidity, or lounge about in the lobby and the bar.

what i remembered best was the fact that just staying at the strand necessitated being attired properly. the strand had that air about it, and if one were not attired decently, one would feel terribly out of place at the strand.

aside from the suite like rooms where everything was impecably in its proper place, only 32 rooms were available during those early years, i remember having to let the water run for a short period before it appeared sufficiently clear for cleasing. the grounds surrounding the strand were meticulously maintained, similar to the raffles hotel in singapore and the oriental in bangkok.

if you were seeking a great hotel for business during the early to mid 90s, you may have chosen a more recent construction like the traders hotel (now called sule shangri-la hotel but same organization) which opened in november of 1996. while both hotels offered high levels of comfort, they differed immensely on character.

my guess is that the more mature the indivdual, the greater the chance he would gravitate towards the strand, a hotel that exists in direct contradiction to the progress of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank americanled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    155
    40
    10
    2
See reviews for
91
290
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

If you are persuaded to hit the book button by the show of 5 star sign, don't bother. It takes 2.5 stars and a lot of drinks to make this a 5 star hotel. With colonial times comes colonial troubles. But given what is available and possible to find in Yangon, this is probably one of the best options one can have.

Rooms - very spacious. I would assume each room is about 1000sq feet if not more. Very high ceilings. Certain colonial charm with big columns and the original flooring. And large windows from which you can see the rust and dust of the Myanmar history. (Who needs this much space, that is another story..) Hotel lobby and the common areas are reminders of the Grand Hotels.

They offer some unique services that other hotels don't - such as the fortune telling service. Yet many other things are slightly behind the time. Perhaps as Myanmar grows, this hotel will catch up on what is missing.

I would recommend a few things, given it is so close to Thailand. Perhaps better English and the ability to communicate, particularly for the front desk. Perhaps importing some of the delicious fruits from various parts of Myanmar and making them available. Also given how cheap labor is, I would offer more labor based services, like spa. It is easy to do.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the hotel front should see more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms are huge and clean. They offer complimentary 24hour butler service too. The staff speaks English so its not very hard to communicate with them. There's a bar with a pool table at the hotel that opens till about 11pm. They are very strict with the number of occupancy per room so if you have friends visiting your rooms at night, make sure that they leave as the hotel will charge them as extra guests. The staff will enter your room even to tidy up as much as they can even if you decided not to leave your room keys with the butler before you go out and about with your trip. I find this a little invasion of privacy so as an advice, just lock up your things before you leave the hotel if you feel insecure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joicechia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

During a short stayover we followed recommendation to stay here for a night and I wished it would have been longer.

Excellent Food from the French chef. I had the camembert as starter which came with a delicous salad with strawberries and the Wagyu beef as main. The Strand is popular for its breakfast which is totally understandable after having tried their homemade breads, croissants or almond croissants. Don't miss out on the eggs Benedict!

Our room was spacious, perfectly maintained without loosing any charme or authenticity of the 100+ years of history. Historical features combined with all possible modern amenities like that are well hidden in the teak wooden furnishings. I had a deep sleep with dreams inspired by the ambiance.

Mya Mya's team of butlers couldn't have been more attentive and understanding of our requirements. They even topped our expectations with bringing in their ideas and made this stayover an unforgetable history for us.

Plan to stay some nights here and check for the promotions for 3 or +3 nights.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whomadewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Real old world charm with very modern facilities. Really know how to look after a guest. Beautiful rooms which you don't want to leave.. Amazing breakfast and super Bar. Centrally located and free WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvindnanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We finished our tour on Myanmar with a stay at this hotel, and found it the most disappointing.
The bedroom was beautiful, huge a gloriously refurnbished... but the staff are hopeless.
We asked for late checkout and 6 requests over 2 days, 4 calls to the D.M. ( having his breakfast and not to be disturbed) later, we were none the wiser. Not great when you have to pack up your stuff and check out 'cos you haven't heard yea or ney, even when we were offering to pay for the room.
We also waited over on hour, I kid you not, to check out. the only girl who could use the machine wasn't there, then made some big error... etc .
Breakfast is not a buffet, but it becomes one, if you order more them one thing. Everything arrived together, we had no room on the table for our fruit plate and eggs, so we pulled up the adjoining table.
High tea was worse. We again waited for half an hour to be acknowledged ( there was no one else there!!!) the sandwiches were frozen in the middle and the choice was nothing fantastic.
Truely, stay in the Governers Residence instead ( lovely place with great service) and have a drink in the bar at The Strand..friday pm the place buzzes with all the local ex-pats.

Room Tip: pick a room at the back, although you'll lose the view, the traffic can be very noisy on the doc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_broadabroadVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A beautiful hotel from a bygone era. Every time we walked into the hotel from the madness that is Yangon, it felt like stepping back in time.

When you walk into the hotel you are greeted by the beautiful and imposing yet totally welcoming lobby. Check in is done in your suite by your butler. The suite has a large and very comfortable bed, sitting area, study area with desk and a large bathroom with shower and bath. The suite has both a ceiling fan and air conditioning unit (we stayed in a deluxe suite).

The hotel still does a turndown service which was always nice to come back to the room to after dinner - slippers out, fresh jasmine flowers, a little note and a sweet treat.

We sampled breakfast (a la carte, not buffet), lunch and dinner in the cafe and the service was excellent, as was the food. We also had a traditional afternoon tea which was lovely. Finger sandwiches, tarts and scones with cream and jam were all present.

We also had a spa treatment at the hotel - prices (in comparison to similar standard hotels) were very reasonable and if you like a firm massage - I would recommend it.

The only issue that we had with the hotel was in our room - the windows are not double glazed and if you are a light sleeper - the outside noise may be slightly disturbing.

If you need a modern hotel with all the newest gadgets and facilities - this is not the place for you.

If you like a hotel with soul, impeccable service and a history - book yourself a suite at The Strand Yangon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
4.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing