We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Strand
Ranked #2 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The service was exceptionally good....perhaps the best I have ever experienced. The rooms are royal, spacious and much different from your routine stay in routine hotels. A microwave oven in the room would have added to its value.

Everyone speaks good English. Breakfast is too good..it is not buffet, but served on your table and you can select from a wide choice of menu.

I would love to stay here again....

Room Tip: I liked Room No: 209.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ganeshnadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    150
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
85
265
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

In the early 20th century, people would head out for Asia from London by boat. They didn't expect to get to their destination as fast as possible. Part of the allure of the East were the cities where travelers would stop over for an extended stay. After India, it was on to Rangoon in Burma, and the Strand was the hotel where colonials stayed. Arriving after the hassle with visas at the airport and a 35 minute drive into the colonial center of the city, you alight and walk into another world. The décor is of teak wood and cream wall, with ceiling fans (there is air conditioning). The male staff wear the traditional lunghi (a sarong type skirt) with black jacket. You are greeted as an expected guest, and your butler takes you up to your room. "Room" cannot convey the huge space you walk into. At least 800 sq. ft, maybe more, it is sections. First, the bathroom to the left and the storage room to the right, then through another doorway into the bedroom part, and then you see through the archway, the living room - office part. A settee and two armchairs with a coffee table-- evocative of an era when a guest invited other guests into the room for tea or drinks. And in front floor-to ceiling windows, with one opening onto a veranda. No wonder Somerset Maugham, Joseph Conrad, George Orwell and others stayed here. This hotel is not big. As soon as you walk onto your floor, the butler comes up with your key -- he recognizes you. When you ask for a wake up call quite early, he says he will bring coffee or tea to you -- and he does, even at 3 am. The large dining room and the bar are meant for whiling away hours. Yes, you can eat quickly, but you can linger over tea and the papers. Modern things are fine (lighting in the bathroom great, air conditioning good, and the wifi as good as can be expected in a country not up to modern standards). In light of the overall condition of the country and the city, relax and by happy to be staying at the Strand.

Room Tip: I think this hotel was built at a time when thick walls were common and the bedroom part of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaAnchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerlo, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Strand is one of these hotels where you have to stay at least once. Old colonial hotel with very spacious rooms , a large bathroom and a great service. From reception to floor butler , waiters in restaurant , ... all were very helpful. When you go out , then you see of course the old glory of Yangon , where a lot of old colonial buildings are not maintained at all , but once you are inside the hotel , everything is almost perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The ambiance of this hotel was as good as we hoped it would be and more. As a guest the hotel is not big and gives a feeling of intimacy and having a butler on every floor made it feel very safe esp as we were traveling with children. Great staff and easy check in Nd check out, but could have done with some help with luggage on arrival.! Their travel section booked all our internal flights for us and had our tickets waiting for us on arrival. Fantastic facility. Food wise, We don't normally eat in the hotel, but the food was so good we had breakfast, lunch and supper over the days we were staying there and it was all delicious. The bar is great for an evening drink, not keen on smoking being allowed,but there is a sign about it being part of the atmosphere. Not convinced....but great spot for downtown, easy walk to the main sule pagoda colonial district area, but if taking a taxi in busy times allow for terrible traffic to get out of the downtown area. It's total grid lock!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is one of the Sarkies Brothers Asian landmark hotels. While Raffles in Singapore may be their best known property, this one may be their best preserved and most authentic. Built in the early 1900s it has high ceilings and huge rooms. Service is extraordinary, with a butler on every floor. The breakfasts and room service are wonderful. The hotel is not modern, and has no gym. But it has been modernized, with great air conditioning, bathrooms, and modern in room amenities. I found this to be an oasis / bit of serenity during Yangon monsoons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Professor572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We reserved this hotel for a weekend get away ( we live in Yangon) and decided to really indulge. We reserved a suite and had dinner in the amazing restaurant and a lovely breakfast in our room. We finished our stay with a fantastic lunch- the massage was okay but not special compared to other hotels in this price range. It was really lovely and a wonderful slow way to spend our anniversary. This is a hotel for lovers of old and for tinges of nostalgia about old Yangon. We thought it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Splurge for a lovely suite- you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

reminiscing the great times experienced in myanmar beginning the early 1990s, i decided to read the most recent reviews from fellow travelers regarding this grand old hotel. the strand may not be for the indivual on an expense account with appointments to maintain and a corporate boss requiring accountability. no...the strand is for the mature liesure traveler who appreciates a relaxing experience reminicent of colonial days.

i first stayed at the strand in 1996 during the country's failed 'visit myanmar 1996' promotion. the room rates were near US$400/n while the staff were receiving the equivalent of US$6/mo per individual. while i had daily appointments to maintain, i also had sufficient time to slow my pace to enjoy the aura of the strand hotel.

in the 90s, there was no wi-fi. there were no flat screen televisions nor multiple international channel availability. you couldn't even get a sim card for your mobile phone because myanmar post and telecommunications didn't offer this convenience. so, for evening liesure diversions, one was left to either taking a slow walk about, hardly feasible because of the heat and humidity, or lounge about in the lobby and the bar.

what i remembered best was the fact that just staying at the strand necessitated being attired properly. the strand had that air about it, and if one were not attired decently, one would feel terribly out of place at the strand.

aside from the suite like rooms where everything was impecably in its proper place, only 32 rooms were available during those early years, i remember having to let the water run for a short period before it appeared sufficiently clear for cleasing. the grounds surrounding the strand were meticulously maintained, similar to the raffles hotel in singapore and the oriental in bangkok.

if you were seeking a great hotel for business during the early to mid 90s, you may have chosen a more recent construction like the traders hotel (now called sule shangri-la hotel but same organization) which opened in november of 1996. while both hotels offered high levels of comfort, they differed immensely on character.

my guess is that the more mature the indivdual, the greater the chance he would gravitate towards the strand, a hotel that exists in direct contradiction to the progress of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank americanled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
2.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand

Property: The Strand
Address: 92 Strand Rd., Yangon (Rangoon) 11181, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Strand 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand Yangon closed on 1 May until November 2016 to undergo a complete facelift that will return the award-winning heritage hotel to its former glory. Constructed in 1901 in a classic colonial style, the hotel will retain its heritage architectural details, such as marble and teak wood flooring, ceiling fans, chandeliers, lacquer wood furniture, Burmese antiques, and signature service elements, while being given a complete upgrade and contemporary twist through a refreshed colour palette and subtle decorative details. The interiors of all the hotel's 31 suites will be redecorated in keeping with the Strand's legendary style and elegance, while at the same time updated with the latest technology, including new air conditioning, sound and communications systems. The Strand is famous around the world for its flawless, personalised service and suites will continue to be attended by the hotel's team of highly trained butlers. Once "The finest hostelry East of Suez", we are very eager to reveal the new Strand and bring it back to its former glory. Please continue visiting us for updates and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Strand Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Strand Yangon Rangoon
Strand Hotel Yangon Rangoon
The Strand Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing