We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Governor's Residence
Nearby Hotels
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$167
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$143
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$278
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$81
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$108
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$120
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$130
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$57
US$45
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,457)
Filter reviews
1,457 results
Traveller rating
1,100
283
53
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,100
283
53
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetgovernor's roomembassy districtcocktail partymandalay restaurantteak mansionkipling baran oasislush gardensbeautiful hotelmain buildingplace to staybusy citycolonial timeslovely poolcurriescolonial style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 1,457 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel in our last night in Yangon in early january 2012. Before our tour around Myanmar we stayed in the Strand Hotel, which was also outstanding.

The Governor's Residence was a great place to spend the last night before we flew home. it's in a very peaceful location in the Embassy area.

The service is impeccable, the grounds are beautiful.

We ate here for breakfast, lunch and dinner and all were superb.

We didn't get to use the pool, but it looked very inviting.

We had a room in the new wing. it was large and everything worked properly.

A great relaxing choice of hotel in Yangon.

Lee and Jason, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Yangon. Set in a quiet, leafy part of town it is the perfect place to relax after being out exploring the hustle and bustle of Yangon. It is situated in beautifully manicured gardens and the main hotel is a stunning old colonial house. The rooms were large and nicely decorated in a classic asian/colonial feel. The bathroom was good (complete with bulgari toiletries) and the bath was simply huge so lovely to relax in at the end of a day. The main restaurant was in the house and spilled into the gardens where you could sit at one of the tables hidden in the bushes and trees and so feel as if you were the only people there. At breakfast you could watch the sun come up whilst enjoying some lovely tea and the good buffet breakfast (where you could even have amazing lemongrass creme brulee and coconut panacotta!) and at dinner relax with small tea lights placed around the gardens. The upstairs was a large open area looking down across the hotel. Good place to relax at any part of the day. The pool was a perfect place to chill and swim after a hot morning of sightseeing.
The staff were excellent and very helpful thus making our stay very special. It is overall a wonderful place to stay and I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at The Governor's.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDelaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised after our stay here. It is one of the best hotels in Myanmar. Beautiful grounds, food, rooms and service. I wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Well managed establishment. Loved the old pool table on the top floor above the bar.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jksingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

A beautiful hotel in a couth area of Rangoon. We felt very comfortable walking out at night to a nearby restaurant (Padonmar, which served Thai/Burmese food and we sat out in a lantern lit garden which was lovely). We stayed 3 nights here, not consecutively but one at the beginning, one in the middle of our trip and the final night. By the second and third times it was like coming home especially as we were welcomed by the staff with "welcome back"! After a long journey from London the bed was blissfully soft and comfortable with crisp white sheets. The huge bath was very inviting but took a long time to fill. We enjoyed the food very much (a selection of Burmese and European dishes) but it certainly was not cheap as other reviewers have remarked. Cocktails were $10 which was very expensive compared to other hotels in Burma where we stayed. Breakfast starts at 04.30 which is helpful as many domestic flights leave early. We stayed in two ground floor rooms and one up on the first floor (all Garden View). The layout and facilities were the same in each (except the first floor room had a second bedroom attached) but the ground floor rooms definitely suffered from lack of privacy with people regularly walking past. As the rooms were dark, with all the dark wood, we needed the light on which made them even less private. I would love to stay here again if I ever went back to Rangoon, but we did have a couple of issues which are not acceptable in an Orient Express hotel and which related to things which we organised ahead of time but were not then done. My husband asked several hours ahead of dinner if the chef could make him a curry without onions because all the curries on the menu contained onions and he is allergic to them. He was told that was no problem at all, but when we sat down to dinner nothing had been done about it. The other incident concerned our friend who had single occupancy of a double room and the first two visits was given a room which backed onto a generator which kicked on and off all night. When we checked out after the second visit she asked for a different room when we returned for our third night and was told of course, no problem. But she was given the same room again.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Lovely atmosphere with charming and attentive staff. Food quite expensive but you would expect that in such a luxurious hotel. Great to return to after travelling and overall excellent considering that the tourist industry in Burma is only just gathering momentum. Minor criticisms lack of hooks in bathroom etc, as the windows on many rooms face public areas net curtains would be beneficial for privacy. We were part of a group tour so the hotel cost was part of that so we did not know how much that was. However the rooms were really nice and very spaceous so we would return there if in Yangon. Pillows the best ever in any hotel!

Room Tip: Upstairs seemed to be more popular amongst the group re privacy etc.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews