We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel really special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Made to feel really special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip to Myanmar. The grounds are beautiful and the staff are really responsive and helpful. On our last day we didn't have to leave until 4.30 although check out was at 12 nut they willingly arranged for us to have a room to use before we left. This meant that we were free to enjoy our day and change before we started the long journey home.
The food is really good and there's a wide choice between western and eastern foods.
The rooms are lovely, shower works brilliantly and the bed is really comfortable. The only downside for me was that a very mild perfume is used to keep the rooms fresh which I'm sure most people would really like but I don't like. However, it was easy to open the windows and get rid of the 'freshness'!
Although it's not in the centre of Yangoon, it's very easy and inexpensive to get a taxi and the hotel staff were helpful in organaising this and also ensuring what the price would be before we got in.
I think what I liked best about this hotel was the atmosphere of calm and peacefulness which is an amazing thing to find in a large city like Yangoon. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, upstairs and downstairs, both were really nice and neither better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    262
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
174
718
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful old residence, and with only 48 rooms feels like your own home away from home. the setting is stunning, the service faultless and the facitilies beautiful. Our only complaint was not having enough time to settle in and enjoy - one night is not enough! the food and wine are beautiful and the rooms large and comfortable. Although our room had a squeaky air-con fan when it wasnt on high, which was a bit of a problem - however we did advise on check out, so hopefully it's fixed! (room 303 I think it was)

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, perhaps check the air-con noise prior unpacking!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedheadwlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Governor's Residence at the end of a two week trip to Myanmar in March 2011. It was a wonderful place to collect ourselves before leaving the country. If you want to see Yangon, the location of The Strand is a little more pedestrian friendly for seeing the city, but the rooms, grounds, restaurants and ambiance of The Governor's are better. I am glad that we started our trip at The Strand to see the city and ended at The Governor's as a place to unwind and relax I would gladly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel in our last night in Yangon in early january 2012. Before our tour around Myanmar we stayed in the Strand Hotel, which was also outstanding.

The Governor's Residence was a great place to spend the last night before we flew home. it's in a very peaceful location in the Embassy area.

The service is impeccable, the grounds are beautiful.

We ate here for breakfast, lunch and dinner and all were superb.

We didn't get to use the pool, but it looked very inviting.

We had a room in the new wing. it was large and everything worked properly.

A great relaxing choice of hotel in Yangon.

Lee and Jason, Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Yangon. Set in a quiet, leafy part of town it is the perfect place to relax after being out exploring the hustle and bustle of Yangon. It is situated in beautifully manicured gardens and the main hotel is a stunning old colonial house. The rooms were large and nicely decorated in a classic asian/colonial feel. The bathroom was good (complete with bulgari toiletries) and the bath was simply huge so lovely to relax in at the end of a day. The main restaurant was in the house and spilled into the gardens where you could sit at one of the tables hidden in the bushes and trees and so feel as if you were the only people there. At breakfast you could watch the sun come up whilst enjoying some lovely tea and the good buffet breakfast (where you could even have amazing lemongrass creme brulee and coconut panacotta!) and at dinner relax with small tea lights placed around the gardens. The upstairs was a large open area looking down across the hotel. Good place to relax at any part of the day. The pool was a perfect place to chill and swim after a hot morning of sightseeing.
The staff were excellent and very helpful thus making our stay very special. It is overall a wonderful place to stay and I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at The Governor's.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDelaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised after our stay here. It is one of the best hotels in Myanmar. Beautiful grounds, food, rooms and service. I wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Well managed establishment. Loved the old pool table on the top floor above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jksingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

A beautiful hotel in a couth area of Rangoon. We felt very comfortable walking out at night to a nearby restaurant (Padonmar, which served Thai/Burmese food and we sat out in a lantern lit garden which was lovely). We stayed 3 nights here, not consecutively but one at the beginning, one in the middle of our trip and the final night. By the second and third times it was like coming home especially as we were welcomed by the staff with "welcome back"! After a long journey from London the bed was blissfully soft and comfortable with crisp white sheets. The huge bath was very inviting but took a long time to fill. We enjoyed the food very much (a selection of Burmese and European dishes) but it certainly was not cheap as other reviewers have remarked. Cocktails were $10 which was very expensive compared to other hotels in Burma where we stayed. Breakfast starts at 04.30 which is helpful as many domestic flights leave early. We stayed in two ground floor rooms and one up on the first floor (all Garden View). The layout and facilities were the same in each (except the first floor room had a second bedroom attached) but the ground floor rooms definitely suffered from lack of privacy with people regularly walking past. As the rooms were dark, with all the dark wood, we needed the light on which made them even less private. I would love to stay here again if I ever went back to Rangoon, but we did have a couple of issues which are not acceptable in an Orient Express hotel and which related to things which we organised ahead of time but were not then done. My husband asked several hours ahead of dinner if the chef could make him a curry without onions because all the curries on the menu contained onions and he is allergic to them. He was told that was no problem at all, but when we sat down to dinner nothing had been done about it. The other incident concerned our friend who had single occupancy of a double room and the first two visits was given a room which backed onto a generator which kicked on and off all night. When we checked out after the second visit she asked for a different room when we returned for our third night and was told of course, no problem. But she was given the same room again.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing