We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of Charm, Character and History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here one night and maybe this place needed at least one more night to enjoy its luxury. The property is laid out quite nicely, with a pretty pool and rooms that are quite spacious, especially the bathrooms. The creaky wooden floorboards can be a bit annoying especially when you are trying to make a late night quiet trip to the bathroom but that also adds to the British colonial feel of the place. The service (as was typical throughout Myanmar) may not be the most polished but the staff was well meaning, gracious and friendly. Plus they love children and our one year old couldn't have been more popular and pampered (this was true everywhere in Myanmar).

The only knock on the property and its a mild quibble for short stays is that its in a rather boring diplomatic enclave type of neighborhood surrounded by foreign embassies (the Sri Lankan one is actually just across the hotel entrance). However, most things are a 10 minute car ride away as Yangon isn't quite the huge city. And the quiet location makes for a very peaceful environment away from the city hustle.

While we didn't have any meals in the hotel, the breakfast buffet was adequate. Not quite the largest spread we encountered on the trip but decent and the food quality was good. All in all the place was very pleasant and oozed character. And its a loss less expensive than the more centrally located and posh Strand compared to which this place provided excellent value. I certainly wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Journeyman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear Journeyman1971

Thank you so much for your time and effort to comment on our property and your experiences during your stay with us we certainly appreciate it.

Looking forward to have you here again soometime soon

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Our second stay in this hotel was nearly going to be a dissaster. The room was reserved via an agency in Yangon called 'Guliver'. When we received our room, there was a lot of noise,and we noticed that the room was located next to the generator. This is not really what you expect when you pay your room 306$/night. After talking to management, we got another room, as nice but smaller. So, if you reserve, just make state clairly 'NOT next the generator!!
Dinner and breaakfast was excellent. Room very confortable, service minded staff. Chic place.

Room Tip: Make sure they do not put you next to the generator if you wish to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear Daniel911

Thank you for your review and comments,we do appreciate everyone that takes the time to leave a comment giving ourselfs and everyone some feedback.

We are aware of the noise issue for these rooms and are currently working on it,actually it is the kitchen exhaust motor that generates the noise and we are in the process of changing it,this should only take two or three more weeks as we are waiting for the new engine to arrive.

In any case we are trying to be as flexible as possible with any issues that anyone might have so feel free to ask for the Manager to sort things out.

Thank you and best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After being extremely jet lagged from a long international flight, this hotel provided us with a wonderful, quiet place to rest on our first night in this exciting country. The service was good,the staff professional, the bed soft, and the room very comfortable. The only draw back was that we arrived a bit before the room was ready and had to wait an hour before it was ready. I don't think this was the fault of the hotel however as we went during the busy season. I would certainly advise a booking months as early as you decide. We took a taxi at night which was very reasonable(3,000 K) to the Shwedagon Pagoda. There is a supermarket type store within a 5 minute walk which was quite interesting. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best ever on our trip. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on a third floor in a quite location.Did not hear a peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank utahlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Utahlover

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and sharing this with your fellow travelers.

We are glad you had such a wonderful stay with us and are continously working on keeping our service standarts to the highest possible level,we are also aware of certain issues that might arise from time to time.

As you mentioned that you had to wait an hour for your room I would like to take this opportunity to mention that our check in time is 2 pm and we suggest guests that arrive much before this hour to maybe have a small city tour or a relaxing lunch on our terrace while we get the rooms ready.

This is particulary important during the high season where we are continously fully booked hence little chance to have the rooms ready before that.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to be able to welcome you again soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. As high a quality as you will find anywhere in the world. The manager (an Italian bloke) was a nice guy and making sure things ran smoothly at night and had some interesting stories. Will (Self assigned English name) was an excellent bar tender with some great info and advice on Burma. We also were served by a female bar tender the best cocktails I've ever had in South East Asia. Rooms were very nice as were the gardens and pool. Breakfast was excellent and we also got in room massages which were good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Mr Big Cat

Mingalabar and greetings from the Governors Residence,thank you for your recent posting and raves about our team members,we are indeed proud of having such special people amongst us and are continously offering training to maintain this and allow our team to grow and improve themselfs.

We glad that you had such a good time here and would be looking forward to have you here again some time soon.

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

this hotel is an amazing place to stay at.
traveling with 3 kids (10,5 and 1) they put us in a single room with two daybeds for the 10 a 5 years old + baby cot for the baby.
food is excellent
very nice bathroom
lot of amenities in the bathroom
view from the room is very nice (garden)
very nice pool
international staff (italian manager)
waiters are very nice but sometimes you have to be very clear about what you need and probably they will not understand
very close to the pagoda

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldseeker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Worldseeker79

Thank you for your kind comments on our services and instalations,we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are continously working on becoming a better place.

We are aware that the communication can be a challenge here sometimes and are currently working on additional english classes for all our staff to improve this.

Thank you again for sharing with your fellow travellers and looking forward to have you here again some time soon

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

If you're looking for a true 5-star experience you've come to wrong country. But if you want to enjoy beautiful gardens, a lovely pool and a great meal in comfort and luxury, this is the place in Rangoon. The rooms are extremely comfortable and look out over beautiful gardens. The gardens are what make this place so special- peace and quiet in the middle of a noisy city. Dinner and breakfast were lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesTravels2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear JulesTravles2004

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Governors Residence.
We are sure as things progress we will soon be able to offer true 5 star experiences here in Myanmar as well as in other parts of Asia.

Looking forward to have you here again some time or in one of our other properties.

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very comfortable hoteal and staff were superb. However a dead mouse in the public toilets was a bit of a downer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear John

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Governors Residence and sorry to hear about this unfortunate encounter that you had, we would have been gratefulif this would have been communicated to us during your stay.

In any case as we are taking this very seriously we have taken the nessecary precautions with our pest control provider to avoid similar incidents in the future.

Thank you again and hope to see you back here again in the not to distant future

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
732 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
992 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#7 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £268 - £732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing