We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a lovely place”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

A lovely place that confirmed all the previous rave reviews. Although it may be argued that the Strand is more central, the hotel is merely a few moments out of the centre and its whole ambience is so much more pleasant and in keeping with the Burmese style. Our guide also confirmed that given the noise in town we were staying at the right place.

The only quibble was that our first room was too near the electricity generator but we were moved with alacrity and with profuse apologies. Charming people and a great pleasure for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Nat R

Thank you for your contribution commenting on your recent stay with us at the Governors Residence.

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we where able to sort out the glitch with the room.

Looking forward to have you back here with us sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    266
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
179
734
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
316 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Governor's residence is everything you'd hope from a boutique hotel in the E&O Group - elegant, quiet and charming. Frogs croak at night, crickets chirp and the well manicured gardens give the impression of a jungle paradise. The decor is colonial in style, with heavy woods and the extensive use of silk. The bar has real ambience both upstairs and downstairs.

The hotel is a collection of villas, centred on a 1920s property, so there are some stairs involved. The internet connection is good and the food delicious. Interestingly, we found the western dishes to be better than the Myanmar dishes - there are better local restaurants around the city but the international servings are among the best in the city. The wine list is excellent and I would recommend the Red Mountain Shiraz Temprenillo as a good value introduction to Burma's wineries in Shan State.

There is no fitness centre but the staff can direct you on a jog around the Shwedagon pagoda which is very relaxing and on relatively unbusy roads. The pool is more a free form moat than a training pool. In terms of value for money the rates have shot up with the liberalisation of the country and the challenge for the property is to ensure that they are a step ahead of the other hotels in the city to command the premium that they do.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear TheHorseys

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to write about it,we are always keen to hear back from our clients.

Thank you for your comments on the ambience as well as the food and we agree with you that there might be better local places for Myanmar cuisine,also we are trying hard to keep a good balance on our western dishes as well as local.

your recommendation on the wine is spot on as we encourage all our guests to try this great local product.

Last but not least we are aware of the price tag and will be renovating the entire Hotel early next year to be on top of things,we invite you to come back and see for yourself our impoved value for money product.

Thank you again and

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Simply excellent!
Not much more to say about it, but I will as i need to use up 50 characters!

Breakfast, evening dinner, the pool, the rooms (esp the pillows), the staff, the grounds, completely faultless, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

This hotel represents pure class/quality with attention being paid to the finer details eg the "please do not disturb" sign was a carved wooden Buddha, the soap tray was a marble flower!

Pay the money and stay there

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelCake340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear AzamatUK

Thank you for spending time and comment on your recent stay with us at the Governors Residence.

Out of the 50 words you had to write we liked the first one best,it is much appreciated that you noted some of the small details that make the Governors Residence such a great place to stay.

Again thank you for your comments,our staff will be greatly motivated to keep it this way.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Everything you find in this hotel will make your stay memorable. The colonial buolding is set in an oesis of tropical vegetation. Rooms are comfortable and charming. The restaurant is excellent and serves a good bland of south-east asian and french cousine. The bar made of teak wood and refreshed by the typical fan is the ideal place to relax after a busy day od explorations in Yangoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Riccardo R

We much appreciate the time you took to leave a comment on your recent stay with the Governors Residence.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and shared this with the travelling community,we are working hard to keep things this way and improve where we can.

Again thank you and

Best Regards from Yangon

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

First stayed here back in 1999...came for two blissful days this time as part of The Global Scavenger Hunt group...what a great place still, albeit a little faded, it is a warm and wonderful place to stay before you head out into Myanmar's hinterland. Pool is wonderful, the food is great, the outdoor eating is sublime...management is a little cold, but the rest of the staff is warm, helpful and at your service! Wifi works great too!

Room Tip: I highly recommend hiring a car outside the hotel compound...maybe $5-10 a day...same service, bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear William C

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us at the Governors Residence and sorry to hear that you felt the Management comes across a little cold .... this is definatly not our intention and we will for sure work on that.

Also glad to let you know that we will be renovating next year ( dates tba) and will be enjoying brand,spanking new rooms with all the bells and whistles,so make sure you come and visit us towards the end of next year and check it out.

Looking forward to have you back

best regards

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This boutique hotel was a wonderful oasis during our time in Yangon. Yangon itself - and Myanmar generally - is a great place to visit but like many large Asian cities, it is an intense place to visit. However, on being met at the hotel entrance and walking down the timber walkway over the lovely pool into a gracious, colonial buiulding, you immediately feel at ease. The service was gracious and attentive, the rooms large and comfortable and the meal - both the breakfast, which was excellent - and the evening meal which we felt was good value for the quality of food and presentation. To top this, was the lovely garden and large pool which was a welcome relief after a morning's touring. Try it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithFagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear KeithFagg

Greetings from Yangon and thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Governors Residence with the traveling community.

We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself, we can assure you that all are working hard here to keep it this way and we are looking forward to have many happy returns from yourself.

Thank you again and best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is a pricey but worthwhile stop if you are in Yangon. Beautiful atmosphere tucked away in the embassy area of Yangon. Although that means it is a bit away from the centre.
The staff were excellent, welcoming, helpful at all times. Rooms lived up to expectations.
A great place to come back to for a siesta in the heat of the afternoon, before resuming your sightseeing. Then an evening dining in the garden.

Room Tip: All good so no need to be picky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Donandchristine

Mingalabar and great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us while feeling that your received value for your dollars.

The team works hard to make sure we keep it this way and improve further.

We would love to have you back here and are looking forward to that.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,473 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing