We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 158 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a converted residence into a luxe hotel in a third world country. Everything almost works. Staff is very helpful and attentive. Breakfast is good. Rooms vary and many are up difficult stair access but are spacious with full bathrooms and good amenities. Dinner is varied and good. The buildlng itself is beautifully maintained and obviousl has a great deal of historic character annfelel. As the country develop this will continue to be THE place to stay.

Room Tip: ask about stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear reviewerabc

Mingalar bar from all of us at the Governors Residence,thank you for your review and the kind words on our facilities and service.

We work hard to keep things on a top level and are always most encouraged if we can delight our guests,we most appreciate the time you took to post your comments for the traveling community out there.

Looking forward to have you back here with us sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
There are newer reviews for Belmond Governor's Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just back from four wonderful nights at the Governor's Residence.
We loved everything about this hotel.
Great location near several beautiful embassies in a quiet section of Yangon.
Beautiful and well-maintained pool.
Excellent breakfast buffet with local specialities.
Very nice hospitality from all of the staff, especially Me Me.
Thanks again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Family Suite with 1 king bed and 2 twin beds, ideal for a family.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Wland

Thank you so much for your kind review,we much appreciate your time to write,it is a great inspiration to us to get such feedback, this will make us work even harder to assure continued exceptional service at the Governors Residence.

We hope to be able to welcome you back here soon

Thank you again and best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Really sensational hotel in Yangon. Perfect service. Gorgeous setting. Outstanding food for Myanmar. The only choice for a seductively atmospheric colonial slice of life in an eternally fascinating city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boywithkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear boywithkite

Thank you so much for your raves,we certainly appreciate you taking the time to write and share your experience at the Governors Residence with everyone here.

We will share your review with our staff as this is a great motivation to all of us.

Best regards and looking forward to have you here with us again sometime

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My first impression of the hotel service was not good as the person who supposed to pick me up at the airport almost missed me. I waited for more than 15 minutes before he finally appeared. His excuse was that he was in the bathroom.

Another hiccup occurred during the check-in process. Initially I was told that my room was not ready and I needed to wait for about 5 minutes. After 10 minutes passed and I asked them again, I was told that it would be about one hour before the room was ready.

With the exception of those two incidents though, I found the hotel and its service very satisfactory. I recommended the Governor's Room on the second floor- the extra money you paid worth the extra benefits the room offered. The room was very cozy and had very nice view of the pond and garden. It was very relaxing to stay in the room – especially during the rainy days. You can open the window to hear the rain drops – extremely relaxing and refreshing.

The selection in the room service menu was not much but the quality of the food was very good. I ordered sirloin steak with mushroom sauce and it was very yummy. Also the cream brulee with mint broth was to die for that I ordered it every day during my 3-day stay at the hotel.

There was one disappointing thing about the room though, which was the price of the minibar items. A can of coke, which you can easily bought outside the hotel for about 50 cent, cost 5 dollar. In my opinion, the hotel should at most charged 1 dollar for that can of coke.

Most luxury hotels in Asia have friendly and smiling staffs. Having said that, somehow the friendliness and smiles in this hotel seem more genuine. The staffs seem to really want to make you happy during your stay in the hotel.

Comparing this hotel to its competitor, the Strand Hotel, I would say that Governor Residence has better location since it is located in the tranquil and quiet embassy areas. Walking around the hotel was a very peaceful experience as you passed so many beautiful colonial type houses that become Embassies. Also, the hotel has much better landscape with beautiful swimming pool and big garden.

For my next visit to Yangon, I will definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanna07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Dear Joanna07

Greetings from all of us here at the Governors Residence and thank you for writing about your experience with us,its these comments that help us getting better and assuring a continued top level service.

We are sorry to hear that your transport had not arrived on time and have talked to our transport provider to assure this will not happen again,punctuality is an important part of our service vision.

As for your check in our apologies for the misunderstanding,our official check in time is at 14:00 hrs however many of our guest arrive early these days and since we have been so busy in August it is not always possible to have the room ready early,we do understand however hat our communication here has not been precise and will correct that.

Thank you for your kind words on our F&B services and standards we much appreciate the fact that you enjoyed the Chefs cuisine.

We are working continuously to improve our service wherever possible and are grateful for constructive criticism.

We are looking forward to welcome you back here at the Governors Residence in the not to distant future

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This review is a shout out to all the staff, from Thomas to Oscar, and the ones who rightfully deserved the spotlight. Their warmth made my stay in GR one of - I could say - top 10 places I have stayed at.

Amazingly Speechless. You are hospitality personified.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinMorten1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Martin Morten1972

Mingalar bar and thank you so much for your kind review,it is great motivation to all of us to receive this kind of recognition,we know that not always everything is perfect but we make a great effort to overcome any glitch with attention to detail and personalized service as well as spending time with our guests.

Thank you again for your words of praise and we are definitely looking forward to have you back here with us soon.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel, but it just doesn't feel like it warrants the prices they are charging.

Rooms are nice. They burn a liquid incense lamp that is really strong--just blow out the candle and it will dissipate fairly quickly. The shower is quite luxurious, though the temp mixer has a latency problem and requires a precise hand to get it to balance between very hot and lukewarm. Once you get the sweet spot, however, it is fantastic. Wifi extends throughout the property and works as well as you'd expect in Myanmar. The bar area upstairs is nice and breezy, and was a good place to while away the rainy hours during our trip. Breakfast was quite good.

They take credit cards (with a 5% surcharge). That was a pleasant surprise to us, and made managing expenses in Myanmar a bit less stressful.

Our first room had a broken air conditioning unit. We let the hotel know, and then went out to lunch. When we came back, about 90 minutes later, they hadn't done anything about the problem--it was as if we hadn't said anything. When we went back to the desk, they said they would find us another room. We waited in the bar while they cleaned the second room (the first was humid and 27 degrees), and they comped our drinks while we waited, which was a nice touch.

The cards they print to explain the hotel location to taxi drivers do not work. Taxi drivers do not know where the hotel is, and the card doesn't help. We finally learned to call the hotel and have them dispatch one of the taxis that wait outside the hotel. This doesn't cost extra and gets you back to the hotel without a problem.

The location is quiet and pretty far from everything else. However, it is a short walk from Feel Myanmar restaurant, which was very good and a nice way to taste a lot of local foods at one time. We walked around in downtown Yangon and had a drink at the Strand hotel, which is more central but which has links to the government according to nytimes.com. If we return we might stay again at the Governor's Residence.

The hotel aside, it seems that the rainy season is serious business in Yangon, so maybe don't visit in August if you can help it. I have never seen it rain so hard or for so long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear emilyq

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience at the Governors Residence with the travelling community out there.

Sorry to read that we did not fully meet your needs and faulted in several areas,we will work on this and make sure that this doesn't happen again.

We do appreciate any feedback and are spending much time to train and address issues with our team to avoid recurrence's.

Thanx for the tip with the Taxi card we will work on it and make sure that it is better explained.

In any case we would love to welcome you back here to show you that we can do better.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The whole hotel staffs deserve the credits. From the moment I checked in until the time I checked out. I received warm welcome and greeting all the time. The room was well maintained and spotless.

When I had the breakfast, the front desk staff, Susie, came by and greeted with me with a warm smile. She asked me what my plan would be that day. I told her that I did not have plan. She then came back with a Yangon map and gave me some suggestions, which turned out to be the best time I had in Yangon. This is just an example. The rest of staffs were all very nice and helpful too.

I left the security box in the room wide opened one day (with passport and cash in it). When I came back, the passport and cash was still untouched. Very decent people.

It has a very nice environment and atmosphere inside and around. I had a great walk while staying there.

One thing they should improve was their breakfast. I stayed in this hotel for five nights. Eating the same food every morning was boring. They should change their menu daily.

A travel tip:
Catch a ferry in front of Strand Hotel and cross the river. Hire a tricycle and take you around. You will see how general people live in Yangon. You can image what a disaster could have be when a typhoon hit this country in 2008.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishing s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear fishing s

Mingalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence,we appreciate that you took the time to write about your recent experience here with us and are so glad that we met your expectations.

Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was able to deliver first class service,we will make sure Susie receives the extra merits that she deserves.

As for your point on breakfast we do agree and will implement some changes within the next 2 weeks so you can see for yourself our improved product on your return with us.

Thank you also for mentioning your little episode with the open safe,Myanmar in general is probably one of the safest places anywhere and the people are very honest and helpful anywhere.

Again thank you for your time and looking forward to have you back with us here sometime soon

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
956 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
335 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#16 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £189 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Belmond, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing