We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel has fantastic service- smiles at every turn and lots of people ready to help you out with whatever you need. The grounds are lovely with a great pool and a nice lounge area on the second floor which was great for doing business or relaxing. Breakfast in the morning was varied, fresh, and tasty.
The only downside was that when they "fog" for mosquitoes in the evening. They leave each guest a warning letter when they are going to do it but I wish they went a little lighter with the application of the noxious fumes. Returning to my room right afterward, I could hardly breathe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0_Just_Laura_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear 0_just_laura_0

Mingalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence and thank you for the nice review,we appreciate that you took the time to write and share your experience with your fellow travellers out there.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations,as for the fogging we have tried a few different options,however
during the rainy season Mosquito's can be a real challenge here and the current treatment has proven to be the most efficient,we keep looking to find something a little less intrusive that can be applied instead.

Thank you again and hopefully we will be able to see you soon back here with us.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    265
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
178
732
78
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ST Martin Du Vivier
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Excellent hotel in the heart of Yangon. Classy and stylish. Excellent food. We loved the facilities with special mention of the pool. Comfortable rooms and excellent attention is paid to the guests.Price is steep but...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nordine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear Nordine B

Thank you for your appreciative lines,we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us at the Governors Residence and are grateful that you are sharing your comments with the travelling community out there.

Best regards from all of us here

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Governors Residence is a terrific property located in a residential area that obviously was a diplomatic precinct of Rangoon. As such, it is a little out of town, but it is not a real issue.
The building is an old mansion that has had 'guest houses' added into the garden. The restaurants, bars and verandahs are delightful and it has a magnificent pool which is really refreshing after a had day being a tourist in this interesting city.
Staff, service and food are all impeccable.

Room Tip: upper floor room are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear gra1sidney

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for the time you took to write about the Governors Residence and its services,we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be lloking forward to your return.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailandd
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

There is a good reason this is one of the most expensive hotels in Rangoon: it is one of the best by far - the style, the attentive service, the tranquility, and the good food. It is somewhat remote from the centre but a taxi is always on hand and it only costs around $2 or $3 to most locations downtown.
We arrived very early (8.30) expecting merely to drop off our bags, but instead were sat down with complementary drinks and cool towels and our room was ready within 20 minutes. Staff were all courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was varied and tasty. The swimming pool was long enough on the outer edge of its crescent shape to allow for decent laps to be done.
Cheap, no. But so long as you intend spending some time in the hotel it is certainly stylish (beautiful teak everywhere) and relaxing. A real colonial throwback, but with modern facilities such as wifi. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AfghanHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear AfghanHound

Greetings from Yangon and the Governors Residence,we are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and are sharing this experience with the travelling community out there.

We appreciate that you took the time to write and are looking forward to have you back with us here sometime soon.

With best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here as a birthday treat at the end of a 16 night tour around the country and wasn't disappointed. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive without being intrusive and trod just the right line between being friendly without over-familiar. Excellent English spoken by all too!

Room was large and very clean (i think it was a Govenor's room) and the range of food for breakfast meant that we didn't need lunch for a very long time after! Stayed in the hotel for drinks and dinner in the evening too and the food quality and presentation rivaled any London top restaurant.

Special mention to Thomas the manager and Aung one of the dinner waiters for being stars! An excellent advertisement for the Orient Express brand.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteLondonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Dear CharlotteLondonT

Mingalar bar and thank you for your review,we so pleased that we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is most appreciated that you have taken the time to share with the travelling community your recent experience at the Governors Residence, we are looking forward to welcome you back here soon.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked into stay here for two nights at the beginning of our 14 day trip, and ended up coming back at the end.

The staff are incredible and the hotel is a peaceful oasis. The food is quite expensive, but the included breakfast is incredible and there are many restaurants nearby.

I'm looking forward to a return trip just to return here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElishaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear ElishaLondon

Mingalar bar & thank you for your comments on the recent experience you had at the Governors Residence,we are so glad that we met your expectations and would be indeed pleased to have you with us soon.

Best regards from all of us here

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked a family room for 5 of us as the last night in our round Burma tour as we wanted a little luxury. What a disappointment! One toilet and shower in the family suite (in the same room) made getting ready for dinner a nightmare, especially when the shower ran out of hot water. Dinner in the garden was a lovely setting, but utter disaster. Despite our ordering five dinners only four came out, very late. The Burmese platter was barely edible, and a total disappointment as we had expected the best of local cooking.

The prices charged are shockingly high. I would never consider again. The setting is nice, but everything else was a let down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Richard J


Thank your writing about your experience at the Governors Residence and sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

As your visit has been a while back we are happy to let you know that we have been able to improve on our services and facilities and would encourage you to give us another shot on your next stay in Yangon.

We appreciate all the feedback we get as this gives us a chance to better ourselves

We would be looking forward to welcome you back at the Governors Residence

Best Regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing