We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belmond Governor's Residence
Nearby Hotels
PARKROYAL Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sule Shangri-La Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sedona Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Loft Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Summit Parkview Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveller rating
1,102
286
53
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,102
286
53
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetgovernor's roomembassy districtcocktail partymandalay restaurantteak mansionkipling baran oasislush gardensbeautiful hotelmain buildingplace to staybusy citycolonial timeslovely poolcurriescolonial style
Filter
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel brings you back to colonial times in Yangon with lot's of rotan seats in the cosy ,open air lounge and spacious suites with lot's of teak. Restaurant offers first class cuisine, both local as well as European food. The hotel has a nice open air pool. Staff is extremely helpfull. Is located in the residential area of embassies, away from the hassle and buzz of downtown city. The best choice if you need to stay in Yangon ( better than Strand hotel!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guldensporen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear guldensporen


Thank you so much for taking the time to write,we most appreciate your feedback and kind comments on your recent stay at the Governors Residence.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back here some time soon

Thank you and regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

OK. I couldn't stay here but so badly wanted to. They are fully booked, but ate here and the food is excellent, the service great and the property is the best in Yangon. Yes, the prices are also the most, but you pay for what you get and here it's worth every penny. This would normally be twice the price elsewhere in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Hughsam

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your views with the traveling community out there,please do let us know if plan to visit again so we can secure a room for you.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stop searching! This is the best of the best. I was fortunate enough to have stayed here for a few nights in October 2010. The landscaped grounds are pristine and offer many photographic opportunities. Be sure to take your swimsuit too as the pool is one of the highlights of this amazing property. The staff is the most gracious and helpful I have yet to encounter. I particularly enjoyed sitting at the little cafe/bar (inside and out) and thoroughly enjoyed the near-perfect cappucinos, amazing food and looking through the selection of current local newspapers. Breakfast was faultless, with a superb selection of local fruits, yoghurts, cereals and goodies along with the usual selection of eggs cooked to order, bacon, potatoes and breads. One of the most interesting spots is the billiards lounge upstairs. You will feel as if you are in a Burmese mansion from the early 1900's. It is a masterpiece of local artwork, paintings, furniture and flowers-all served up in a completely open-air, unpretentious relaxing atmosphere. Set some time aside to lose yourself in one of the lounges with a good book or to pen some postcards. It simply doesn't get any better. The most memorable thing about the Governor's Residence, to me, is the beautiful staff. **(I also spent a few days volunteering around the corner at the Mary Chapman Orphanage for the Deaf. I very highly recommend you pay it a visit as it is only a 7-10 minute walk away and there are over 300 deaf, orphaned children there. Take along a few treats of your choice to share (toys, coloured pencils, lollies) It is a life-changing experience)**

Room Tip: The suite overlooking the pool is where I was (pleasantly) upgraded to. It had an amazing king bed in it...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Grant T

Mingalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence,even so your visit has been a while back we appreciate your comments and the effort made to write and share.

We invite you to visit us again and see how we have improved since your last visit and are sure the Orhpanage would love to have you back for a few days as well.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager

I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just stayed here for a day because had read great reviews about the hotel, and i must say it did not disappoint. there are many reviews about this place and must say all are true. Some things that i did notice though is the hotel is actually quite small - but with good spacious rooms, a good pool area facing the bar & restaurant. Personally i felt the hotel is perfect for family/couple getaways, more than for business traveler like me

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayushmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Ayushmanc

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Governors Residence.

We appreciate the time you took to share this with your fellow travellers and are most appreciative of your positive comments.

We are looking forward to welcome you again here at the Governors Residence in the not to distant future

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The rave reviews of this hotel are fully justified. We stayed there twice in August, once for a couple of days on arrival in Myanmar, and again at the end of the trip. Beautiful grounds and pool, and lovely rooms - worth upgrading to The Governor's Room. Easy to get in and back from downtown Yangon - the hotel can call local taxis and advise on places to see. Great to have the greenery and tranquility of the hotel to come back to. Excellent lounge area and great breakfast in particular. But what really made this was the staff. A special mention to Thomas the GM, his assistant also confusingly called Thomas, and Suzie. All made us feel very welcome from the start. Suzie met us at the airport, and helped us to sort all our onward arrangements to Bagan and Inle Lake. It was in large part thanks to her that the whole Myanmar trip came together so well - we cannot thank her enough. It is the warmth and level of service which would (will) ensure that we stay again - even more than the quality of the hotel itself. The occupancy rates are moving steadily up - book now while you can!

A final (unrelated) tip - be careful about visas on arrival - its not what it sounds like (you need a prior letter of authorisation from the Ministry of Tourism). Either get a visa before you travel, or get one from the Myanmar Embassy in Bangkok if you're transitting there (arrive by 8:30 latest to be near the front of the queue, and take a couple of passport-size photos. Get a form from enterprising nearby photocopying place.Take your air ticket. You should be able to get the visa back in the afternoon and travel the next day).

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the Governor's room - great views out over gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear David b

Mingalar bar and thank you for your kind review we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Governors Residence and that our team went the extra mile to assure pleasant and comfortable experience in Myanmar.

It is a great motivation to all of us here to receive your comments and thanks to the pride of the team to promote their home country with the finest of hospitality and service attitude.

We are very pleased that you took the time to write and share your experiences here with the travelling community out there.

Thank you for that, we are looking forward to welcome you back here soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews