We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Everything about this exquisite hotel is near to perfection - the grounds, the lovely colonial architecture, the rooms, the pool, the public verandahs, the delightful staff, who seem to anticipate your every wish, the food. What an incredibly lovely place to stay. This hotel alone would be worth a visit to Myanmar.
The only, and truly only, quibble we have - which unfortunately seems to be endemic to even the very best hotels - is the inadequate lighting in the rooms. Reading at night is nearly impossible.
Otherwise, everything about this hotel is a delight. Thank you to management and the staff for making this such an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Mainau

Thank you for the time to write and share your recent experience at the Governors Residence with your fellow travelers.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us,we are aware of our lighting issue in the rooms and are currently working with a specialist to see how this can be best resolved.

Thank you again and best regards

--
Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    262
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
174
718
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Truly a wonderful place to stay in a fascinating city. The service was impeccable, and we were greeted multiple times throughout the day by name! The restaurant, pool, and overall setting are terrific.

The only minor nuisance was when they were spraying for mosquitoes - you are strongly advised to stay in your room or leave for a while (roughly two hours)... and mosquitoes were never an issue on the property, so perhaps it is for the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Jordan B

Minagalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence and thank you for taking the time to write.

We have indeed tried many things from lemongrass, to Incense and the only thing that really works is the fumigation for the Mosquito's,in any case we are still trying to find a less invasive way of dealing with this issue.

Again thank you for your feed back and looking forward to have you back again here soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were lucky to stay in this beautiful hotel in a superb setting for the first days we spent in Myanmar and the night before we left the country. The rooms are very comfortable (bedside lights in our first room didn't allow for reading in bed because of dark lampshades and low wattage, the second room had excellent bedside lights). Breakfasts are extremely good and varied, accompanied by delightful music played on a local instrument by a charming lady. We also had two excellent dinners. The staff is gracious, excellent and very attentive and so is the General Manager. Check in and check out couldn't be easier. As I broke my ankle in Laos in January I asked for a room on a lower floor for our return stay. The first thing we were told when we arrived the second time was that we had been given a ground floor room. I wish we had had more time to spend at The Governor's Residence and hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: Passing guests could view inside the ground floor room even when blind was down on side window. Seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear VictoriaSW1

Greetings from Yangon and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the
Governors Residence.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward to have you back sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is a lovely oasis in Yangon. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable with wonderful beds and beautiful teak floors. It is one of those hotels where you think of something you need and there it is, immediately to hand. The breakfast is one of the best I have had anywhere and the pool is clean and a good size set next to lovely gardens. The restaurant is excellent. We stayed twice and suggest you askfor an upstairs room as the ground floor rooms are a bit dark and the Internet, which is free, works better upstairs. Also, the hotel is not downtown but that can be a relief in Yangon and you can always take a taxi.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103 on the ground floor unless you want to have a very dark and cool room. The upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyer/Exporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Lawyer/Exporter

Mingalar bar and thank you for your kind review,it is a great motivation for all of us here at the Governors Residence to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We much appreciate the time you took to write and share your experience with everyone here on tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon here in yangon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We are teachers so whilst having to work flat out in term times we have the luxury of being able to travel every holiday. Consequently we have experienced a lot of hotels. The Governor's Residence in Yangon ranks right up there at the top of our list. We stayed for a total of nine nights at the start and end of a trip around Myanmar. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. ALL of them were lovely, helpful, friendly and professional - especially Htay Htay Pwin who served the wonderful mohinga (fish noodles - traditional Burmese breakfast) every morning. The food was stunning - both at breakfast, at the surprise cocktail party and in the restaurant in the evenings.
Beautiful old colonial style building - an oasis of peace and quiet in the middle of Yangon - with well presented rooms. The rooms had everything you would want including a daily delivery of fresh fruit and sweets.It would have been nice to have been able to read more easily in the room however - it was a little dark in the evenings.
We had friends who stayed at the famous Strand Hotel at the same time as we stayed at the Governor's Residence and whilst the Strand sounded great (and looked good when we visited for a drink) I'm glad we stayed at the GR. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The steps up to the top floors can be a bit slippery in the rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberryblueolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Strawberryblueolive

Thank you so much for your kind words of praise,we appreciate your efforts in writing and sharing your experience with everyone out there.

We take great pride in our staff and it is a great motivation for all of us that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back here soon

Thank you and regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

There is a small swimming pool but during rainy season was perfectly enough. Amazing breakfast with a delicious choice of asian and particularly burmese food. I loved the veranda! and the nice cocktails!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clody17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Kellyenz

Thank you for writing and sharing your views with the tripadvisor community,we appreciate your feedback,we have made significant improvements to our Wifi and even have additional mobile routers available that our IT Manager can install in every room if our guests feel that their connection needs improvement.

We would encourage you to check us out next time you are in town and see the improvements,we promise you want be disappointed.

looking forward to welcome you back here with us

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Let me begin by saying this is a lovely colonial style hotel. The rooms are lovely ( large stone spa baths, couches etc) and the grounds immaculate with an amazing pool. For a honeymoon or other holiday experience this is hard to beat. The staff are very accommodating - they go the extra mile to help you out. The downsides are that it's expensive (300$ a night all up) as are the food and drinks and it's a way to town for going out. As a business hotel it's not as good as it could be - I found the Internet slow in my room and I had to ask for an ironing board. I had mixed feelings - I normally stay t the traders hotel which is less grand but more practical. I think horses for courses - absolutely go if you are in town on holiday but for a business trip I would use the traders.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Kellyenz

Thank you for writing and sharing your views with the tripadvisor community,we appreciate your feedback,we have made significant improvements to our Wifi and even have additional mobile routers available that our IT Manager can install in every room if our guests feel that their connection needs improvement.

We would encourage you to check us out next time you are in town and see the improvements,we promise you want be disappointed.

looking forward to welcome you back here with us

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing