We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviewers are right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The reviewers are right!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

What more can I say that has not been already said. This hotel is all as promised, except better. The exceptional difference is really the staff. They were polite, thoughtful and pro-active without being intrusive. I was particularly impressed by one staff who told me "if you change USD in this hotel it's 800, but at the market it will be 850-860 and at the airport it's 865. So just change what you need here but for big amounts it's best to go to the airport"!

The only downside is that every since Aung Sang Suu Kyi said "come to Burma" last year, rooms are hard to come by and prices have tripled!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear AlexR48

Mingalar bar from the Governors Residence and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Governors Residence.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are working hard to keep service levels high to assure an exceptional experience.

We are looking forward to have you back with us soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    266
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
179
734
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is an exceptional place in many ways - exquisite architecture, serene, lovely pool and outstanding food. Could not fault anything. Quiet district in Embassy area, but downtown and other attractions only a cheap taxi trip away.

Room Tip: Upper floors have privacy when you open the wooden shutters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Sue I

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at the Governors Residence with your fellow travelers out there.

We much appreciate your feedback and are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us

Best regards from Yangon


Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

First off, amazing hotel in a great quiet location in Yangon!

Hotel is situated in the embassy area, slightly northwest of downtown Yangon.
I had a few doubts about not being close to downtown when booking the hotel but it is for the best.
Downtown Yangon is way too chaotic, noisy and not my cup of tea.
Being in a quiet area with plenty of trees and a very nice garden setting made this hotel very garden-resort like and extremely relaxing.
There are also restaurants nearby which serve great Myanmar food. Oishi!

The staff are very friendly and always smiling.
They also remembered my name and addressed me as such each time they see me.
Definitely the friendliest and best hotel staff that I have ever met.

Room is very large with nice wood blinds that are rolled up/down, very colonial style.
Stone tub bath was interesting and the bathroom was decked out in teak wood, very nice change from the usual marble whatever in hotel rooms.
I like the fruit plate with local seasonal fruit that gets refilled each day.

Breakfast is served very early in the morning until 10.30am and consists of mostly western offerings. Makes sense as most if not all of the hotel guests are from western countries.
There were some Myanmar breakfast items like the fish stew noodles and curry noodles.
Breakfast was tasty.
Had lunch at the hotel restaurant, which was also very good.

The pool is so very nice to relax and swim in, during the hot Yangon weather!
Be sure to bring your swimwear!

Only drawback that I had was the noise insulation and placement of the bed in the room I had.
Head position faces the door, which had bad noise insulation, so people opening other doors or walking up/down the stairs can really make a lot of noise.
Wouldnt have been so bad if it wasnt at midnight and at 5am.
Got woken up a few times the first night.
Be better if the bed was placed away from the door.

Overall, this is an amazing hotel and I highly recommend it.
Much better location and environment than the other 5star hotels in Yangon.

Room Tip: If bed faces the door, change room as it might get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Ronnie A

Mingalar bar from all of us at the Governors Residence here and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here and are most appreciative of the comments you made on our installations and quality of service.

We are aware of the sound proofing issues in some of the rooms and are working to resolve this.

Thank you again for your time and looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon here

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Everything about this exquisite hotel is near to perfection - the grounds, the lovely colonial architecture, the rooms, the pool, the public verandahs, the delightful staff, who seem to anticipate your every wish, the food. What an incredibly lovely place to stay. This hotel alone would be worth a visit to Myanmar.
The only, and truly only, quibble we have - which unfortunately seems to be endemic to even the very best hotels - is the inadequate lighting in the rooms. Reading at night is nearly impossible.
Otherwise, everything about this hotel is a delight. Thank you to management and the staff for making this such an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Mainau

Thank you for the time to write and share your recent experience at the Governors Residence with your fellow travelers.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us,we are aware of our lighting issue in the rooms and are currently working with a specialist to see how this can be best resolved.

Thank you again and best regards

--
Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Truly a wonderful place to stay in a fascinating city. The service was impeccable, and we were greeted multiple times throughout the day by name! The restaurant, pool, and overall setting are terrific.

The only minor nuisance was when they were spraying for mosquitoes - you are strongly advised to stay in your room or leave for a while (roughly two hours)... and mosquitoes were never an issue on the property, so perhaps it is for the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Dear Jordan B

Minagalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence and thank you for taking the time to write.

We have indeed tried many things from lemongrass, to Incense and the only thing that really works is the fumigation for the Mosquito's,in any case we are still trying to find a less invasive way of dealing with this issue.

Again thank you for your feed back and looking forward to have you back again here soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were lucky to stay in this beautiful hotel in a superb setting for the first days we spent in Myanmar and the night before we left the country. The rooms are very comfortable (bedside lights in our first room didn't allow for reading in bed because of dark lampshades and low wattage, the second room had excellent bedside lights). Breakfasts are extremely good and varied, accompanied by delightful music played on a local instrument by a charming lady. We also had two excellent dinners. The staff is gracious, excellent and very attentive and so is the General Manager. Check in and check out couldn't be easier. As I broke my ankle in Laos in January I asked for a room on a lower floor for our return stay. The first thing we were told when we arrived the second time was that we had been given a ground floor room. I wish we had had more time to spend at The Governor's Residence and hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: Passing guests could view inside the ground floor room even when blind was down on side window. Seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear VictoriaSW1

Greetings from Yangon and thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the
Governors Residence.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward to have you back sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This hotel is a lovely oasis in Yangon. The rooms are large and extremely comfortable with wonderful beds and beautiful teak floors. It is one of those hotels where you think of something you need and there it is, immediately to hand. The breakfast is one of the best I have had anywhere and the pool is clean and a good size set next to lovely gardens. The restaurant is excellent. We stayed twice and suggest you askfor an upstairs room as the ground floor rooms are a bit dark and the Internet, which is free, works better upstairs. Also, the hotel is not downtown but that can be a relief in Yangon and you can always take a taxi.

Room Tip: Avoid room 103 on the ground floor unless you want to have a very dark and cool room. The upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyer/Exporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Dear Lawyer/Exporter

Mingalar bar and thank you for your kind review,it is a great motivation for all of us here at the Governors Residence to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We much appreciate the time you took to write and share your experience with everyone here on tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon here in yangon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,604 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
557 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,473 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing