We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great introduction to Burma / Myanmar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Burma / Myanmar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our home away from home for the first couple of nights of our wonderful trip to Burma / Myanmar in October 2012 was at ‘The Governors Residence’ in Yangon. We didn't stay at one of the large, rather impersonal hotels you can find in any big city centre anywhere in the world. No, we stayed out in the quiet, tree lined streets of the Embassy area. It was a really good choice.

This imposing teak mansion, beautifully restored, decorated to reflect Burmese culture and set in a tropical garden, is a delightful, small hotel.  There are no 'plastic smiles' here. This is a place where you are instantly made to feel at home, part of an extended family. Here we were introduced in a very special way to the genuine warmth and hospitality of the Burmese people. How lucky were we!

Manager Thomas is an excellent hands-on Manager, well respected and liked by all the Burmese staff and instantly liked by his guests. It did not take us long to learn what an excellent establishment he runs. Thank you Thomas. And thank you Me Me, Suzie, Thai Pie and all the staff. You are all gracious, warm and very hospitable.

A popular place in the lovely garden is the pool... especially after a hot day out exploring the city. (All such explorations can be planned by the hotel.) And the food served in this hotel is exceptionally good - fresh and beautifully presented. Thank you Ian and all your staff.

We both highly recommend TGR as part of any journey to this fascinating country.

You can see more of our photos and more description of this hotel on our website at www.jtdytravels.com

Room Tip: We were up on the third floor up among the tree tops and that was great. But as there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear JTDY

Thank you so much for your rave reviews and for remembering all the staffs names,it was apleasure to have you and we are looking so forward to welcome you back to the Governors Residence sometime soon.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    262
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
174
718
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed at The Governor's Residence for 2 nights. This is certainly a charming hotel. The perfect place to slow down and appreciate the finest life has to offer. Would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. You will not be disappointed with your choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ach1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Ach 1967

Mingalar bar and thank you for the kind comments,we do appreciate your feedback.

Looking forward to your return

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The setting as the Governors residence is lovely and the approach to the hotel across the little bridge provides a greta entrance to this colonail style comfortable hotel.
the lighting in the rooms is a bit dark and more lugage storage space needed.
It is without doubt the best hotel in Yangon although Im sure there will me lots more bulit now that it is starting to open up.

Room Tip: With improvements this will be an outstanding hotel as teh setting is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear DamianR

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience at the Governors Residence with everyone out there,we appreciate your words of praise as well as your suggestions.

looking forward to welcome you back here

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I was at the Governor's recently and loved it. I was on my own prior to joining an Intrepid tour and the 2 days were pure luxury. Absolute attention to detail at every step. The guy at the front desk remembered where I was from and acknowleged me whenever I saw him. The food was excellent, many choices for breakfast. Pool was perfect and the bar nicely positioned. I was invited to join management for Friday drinks which was a lovley touch. Management were very freindly, easy to talk to and very present. I could not fault my stay and will certainly return. A much better choice than the Strand and I liked that it was a bit out of town. The musem was close by as was a great eating spot.

Room Tip: My room was fine but you will need some help to work out how to close/open the shutters
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeenieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear NeenieAustralia

Thank you so much for your kind words on your recent stay with us at the Governors Residence, we are pleased that you enjoyed yourself and are looking forward to your return.

best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We arrived in the evening after a long journey back from Lake Inle. Top service in the check-in. We had room 103 on the "Garden Court" first floor, which was large and comfortable. The common areas, dining area and grounds outdo The Strand (which is nice but in a gritty part of Yangon). But two complaints -- (1) our room was very noisy as at 5:00 am you can hear every sound of guests talking and suitcases rumbling down walks; and (2) the only dinner menu available is pricy even by US standards and offers only "haute"cuisine and no more traveler friendly options. We then ordered fairly mediocre room service (arrived cold).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Lawyer47

Mingalar bar and thank you for writing,our apologies for the issues that you had while staying with us at the Governors Residence, we are aware that there are some noise issues sometimes and we are looking into this.

As for the food we do have a second dining option our "Burmese Curry Table" which is great value for money with free flow of draught beer included on the first floor which is also mentioned in the welcome letter that we provide.

In any case we will make a greater effort to promote this venue and assure that all our guests are aware of this outlet,in terms of pricing we are in line with current pricing of our direct competitors.

Terribly sorry about the cold Room Service this is of course not acceptable and will be put right.

We hope that you have the chance to visit is again and see our improved efforts for yourself.

best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here before our trip on the Eastern and Oriental boat, and we really enjoyed it. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We also stayed on the return from the river trip.I must also say something about the river cruise. This was also up there with the hotel. Wonderful.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Mitchcole

Thank you for writing and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Governors Residence,we much appreciate your feedback.

Looking forward to have you back sometime.

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

What an experience! From the welcome at Yangon International Airport, the friendly staff at reception, and the first experience of such a wonderful house and garden... it truly could have been a stay in a colonial edifice

The guest rooms are quite magic with hand crafted furniture,high quality bedding and every possible amenity. The bathroom is a dream with a huge walk in bath built for three! Toiletries were of good quality and plentiful.

The bar and restaurant continue the high quality now expected. The upstairs tiffen room overlooking a beautiful floodlit pool and garden is very atmospheric. Meals were good (breakfast commences at 4.30 am) and combined western and Burmese.

The staff are outstanding. Everyone knew my name as soon as I walked through. They were friendly, attentive and had a good command of English.

The Residence is situated away from the centre of town in the diplomatic quarter. A stroll around the block could see some quite magnificent edifices showcasing their country. My vote went to the Indian Embassy, named The White House. Magnificent!!

My one criticism.... lighting in the room. So atmospheric, so subtle, but try to read a book and you will be defeated. Surely a combination of existing lighting and a good, high powered desk or reading light is not impossible.

.

Room Tip: overlooking the ponds
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donalddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Donalddaniels

Mingalar bar from all of us here at the Governors Residence and thank you for sharing such a detailed feedback,your comments are much appreciated and your suggestions well received.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing