We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too good to be true”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too good to be true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you ever wanted to feel what life could have been in the British Colonial times, you must stay at this Shan prince mansion renovated exquisitely by the Orient-Express company. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the grounds are manicured and the staff is impeccable.The location,on a leafy side street of the Embassy district, is ideal to have a quiet night sleep. A bit pricey but well worth it.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    263
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
177
725
77
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Governor;s Residence is the perfect place to stay in Yangon. The rooms and grounds are lovely, the pool inviting, and the second floor Burmese restaurant allows you to sample the salads and local foods you may have hesitated to try elsewhere. The only trick is to get a reservation as they are booked up 6 months in advance. The manager told me to try last minute cancellations or book well ahead. the staff was helpful as were all Burmese we met.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear CarenB4

Thank you so much for your kind review,we are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Governors Residence.

We indeed recommend to book well in advance or give it a shot last minute contacting us via phone or via the email address provided on our website,as the peak season will end in April chances are anyway much better now to get your room at the Governors Residence.

Looking forward to have you back here with us soon

Best regards

Thomas Henseler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Situated in a quiet part of Rangoon and surrounded by trees, you would never know you were so close to the heart of a busy city. It is marvellously peaceful and relaxing, yet intimate, stylish and full of character. The ideally temperatured (at least, in February) swimming pool is tiled in green and so attractively doubles as a decorative feature, above one side of which there are dining tables. Our ground floor room was spacious and well appointed, the food we chose a consistent pleasure and, with every member of the staff going out of their way to greet you with a warm and engaging smile, whenever you meet them, it is hard not to fall in love with this hotel, as we have to say we did.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was our last stay at the end of 15 marvellous days in Burma. We actually felt it was almost too posh for us but were determined to enjoy what it had to offer. Wonderful breakfast with a huge variety of fruits, breads and other delicacies. I was determined to try as much as possible but fell far short of my intensions. Service throughout was excellent and room service a welcome and reasonable alternative after a late night at the Shwedagon Pagoda.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We are currently staying in this amazing Hotel - former residence of the Governors under British rule. The grounds are tranquil and leafy offering solice from the heat. Our room is large and comfortable with wood and its carvings obviously a feature of this property! The staff very friendly and cheerful - nothing is an issue! Food and beverage prices most affordable as is the laundry list. As a lover of breakfast when on vacation the setting by the pond is perfect. The buffet is of the highest quality offering fresh juices, cereals, pastries and hot choices for mains - what every Hotel offers, however this buffet makes you sit, relax and eat longer! So much so I bought 2 pastries - panna chocolat back to the room! I would recommend this Hotel...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

A haven in Yangon and the perfect way to start and finish your holiday in Burma. First class staff well directed by strong senior management team, great breakfast and dinner menus, very comfortable rooms and pretty garden & pool area. Only criticsm was limited range of lunch bar snacks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thestylemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

After touring the dusty streets of Rangoon or walking through the amazing sights of temples in the city The Governor's Residence is a most delightful place to relax. The gracious atmospheric rooms evocative of the colonial period in Burma are comfortable and elegant. The gorgeous pool is a great place to cool off and have drinks. Surrounded by tropical plantings within a lovely garden there is also a pond near the pool that adds to the cool feeling.Dining is outdoors on the terrace or indoors if preferred. The food is excellent in quality and service is very gracious. There is a wide variety of dishes to choose from. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the comfort and atmosphere of this elegant hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoldman60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing