We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but not exceptional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good, but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Located in the neighborhood of the embassy's this hotel is surrounded by lush green gardens, a generous pool, a good little spa and has a couple of good restaurants. I have to say overall I was a bit disappointed of my stay, I believe this was as I had just come off the 12 day river cruise on the Road to Mandalay by Orient Express. That set the bench mark on the service and attitude of the staff, alas for us at check in, I felt it was very abrasive and rather rude by the lady who checked us in. Throughout our couple of nights stay, although the staff were friendly, the service was not exceptional. Naturally I thought perhaps that is what one is dealt with in a country still developing its service industry, however, at the other hotel we stayed in in Yangon (The Strand) I felt the service was better & so was the Road to Mandalay. However, lets get back to the hotel. The rooms are very generous in size, not elegant or 5 starish, simple with wooden floors, wood furniture and large enough to fit two sofas. The bathroom was great, with a big sunken bathtub in stone. And great products in the room and service, cleanliness was perfect. The food was good and well presented, with the F&B Manager spending time with us to explain the food and wine paring. If you have a few trips to Yangon as part of your visit to Myanmar I would choose this as one of the hotels to stay in, especially so you can get a comparison. Perhaps even this one at the end of your trip, so you can also relax by the pool and gardens.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mytravelworldrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear No Boarders0704

Mingala ba from Yangon and thank you for taking the time to write

Sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations here at the Hotel,we will of course continue to train and coach our team to assure that incidents such as your check in will not repeat itself.

We are constantly exploring new and creative ways to encourage our team to go the extra mile and get things right the first and each and every time while we look after our clients,our apologies for not having succeeded this time.

We believe we are on the right way and would encourage you to give us another shot next time around to show you the progress that we have made.

We are also always keen on hearing from our guests while on property as this gives us the chance to set things right on the spot and sort out any issues that may exist.

Again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again here at the Governors Residence in the near future

Best regards

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    262
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
174
718
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We so much enjoyed our stay at the Governor's Residence. Perfect service, beautiful garden & rooms and the best breakfast you can imagine. The rooms are big and so is the pool. The staff is so friendly and helpful and they really try to make everything happen. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirjam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I had read many reviews of this hotel but had never before stayed or even dined here despite visiting Yangon more than ten times.

Well, as the saying goes, the best things are worth waiting for. The Governor's Residence is everything it claims to be and then some, and then some more.

Envisage understated elegance combined with Myanmar charm and hospitality with a not insignificant infusion of global standards of luxury,

Wonderful teak-finished rooms with AC that works well, a terrazzo bath, beautiful grounds and gardens, swimming pool and spa. However, what really sets TGR apart from its rivals are its F&B offerings and levels of service.

The food in the the Mandalay Restaurant is on a par with the best worldwide and the new potato, mushroom and watercress starter is the best starter I have ever had on the planet. Also, TGR serves a wonderful selection of wines by the glass at little more than Weatherspoon's prices while its a la carte dining offerings are comparably priced to UK pub grub in the suburbs.

I was so impressed and chilled that I extended my stay and did not venture out of the grounds for my entire three-night stay.

Other plus points (at least for me):

Staff address you by your given name
Blackout curtains in the room
Zen-like atmosphere

Also, and perhaps most importantly, TGR is the only hotel or cafe in the country where I have no concerns about the hygiene and the only place in Myanmar that I trust the ice.

One potential negative for some people:

Wifi speed - I had no trouble surfing or even using Skype in my room or in public areas but - currently, at least - it's not fast enough to download Youtube or content or large graphics files.
If fast Internet is a deal-breaker for you, then suggest you stay at Traders that today has the quickest speed in the city.

If I were striving to award TGR 11 out of 10, then there a couple of things that come to mind but, in all fairness, I did not mention these during my stay.

The really nit-picky gripes, and these are only mentioned so as to give an unbiased account for Tripadvisor, bearing in mind the $480 rack room rate are... the extractor fan in the bathroom was too noisy to luxuriate in the amazing sunken bath; the limited selection of TV channels; being charged differing amounts for the same dishes in the restaurant on different days; and the rounding up of bills to the nearest USD.

I accept that if you're staying here then a few dollars either way is unlikely to leave you going hungry tomorrow but that's not the point.

Also, please get a couple more chilled CDs for the spa so you're not listening to the same old, same old on a 30 minute loop.

Overall, though, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in Asia - nay, globally. Next time I visit Yangon, I would rather stay here than anywhere else even if TGR's room rates mean I cut short my visit by a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BouBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Nothing would have prepared us nor our group of friends when we visited Myanmar on a 5 night tour of the country! Altho' we had heard that the hotel was unique in every respect & the official residence of the British Governor, during colonial rule, this hotel will stand out as of one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in! The hotel is not the typical multi-storeyed, one would normally expect to find. It's sheer simplicity, built entirely in beautiful Burma teakwood, including the bathroom floors, was unique in every way! The rooms were comfortable & spacious having large windows with stunning views of the lush green outdoors! Breakfast served in the open verandahs, with views of the nearby lily pond & beautiful old trees in the background was a feast for the eyes amidst the falling rain! The hotel indeed,had class & a personal touch to it, with excellent services provided by courteous staff.

A strong recommendation for someone visiting Yangon, Myanmar!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vatsala584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here in August and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. I recommend this hotel to visitors to Yangon. Travelers should note that standards in Myanmar are not as high (yet) as other parts of Asia such as Hong Kong or Thailand. Nonetheless, the room was clean, the staff friendly and the food good. The outdoor pool is an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelWarriorChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the start and end of our trip to Myanmar. Wish we could have had an extra day to just relax around the pool. Staff very attentive and look after the little things. Fresh fruit in room and welcomming letters both stays. Breakfast buffet was wonderful. Had no hot food the 2nd visit as the pastries and desserts were simply too delicious not to keep going back for more. Attended the welcome coctail party first evening. Only wish our room had been turned down whilst we were there as we were very tired and went straight to bed after - not realising that the turn down involved the installing of the nighttime blockout curtain. Discovered this on 2nd stay.
Walking distance to Schwedagon and local supermarket for some cold Myanmar beers.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vada_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
426 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Governors Residence, the food was terrific! The room was very spacious and the staff were fabulous. Taxi to the Scott Market is only A$3 from the hotel, so getting around is extremely cost effective.
This was a great place to use as a base for touring Yangon and its surrounds before boarding The Orient Express boat "The Road to Mandalay" for a spectacular trip on the Ayeyarwady River‎ from Mandalay to Bhamo and Bagan. Yet again the Orient Express team has delighted us with their incredible service and great facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth_and_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing