We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Outstanding service and beautifully appointed hotel.A real haven from the rush and bustle of Yangon.Excellent buffet in the evenings and wonderful Danish Pastries at breakfast.
Not cheap but worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clifford H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    266
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
179
738
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Yes, it is absurdly pricey but it is almost worth it...

If you're staying in Yangon and are looking for a luxury experience you simply cannot best the Governors Residence. Don't even think about staying at The Strand!

Set in a lush, intimate grounds patrolled by the resident peacocks the residence is the perfect place to unwind from the chaos of Yangon.

The characterful main building boasts two very good restaurants and nicely evoked the charm of times gone by. This complemented by the usual O&E levels of service - the staff couldn't be more attentive, friendly and helpful and you have an unbeatable combination - just don't look at the bill!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

What should have been a highlight of our Myanmar trip was instead a big disappointment. Our tour organiser, Orient Express, let us down by scheduling us to arrive late and leave at 6am the next morning so we didn't get much benefit from this renowned hotel. Worse though, our room - 118 I think but if not it was on the RHS of the courtyard and up a flight of stairs and then on the left. First shock was the strong smell of insecticide on entering the room (no mosquitos we were assured, not surprisingly). The biggest problem came when we tried to sleep. The air conditioner was so loud I turned it off only to then be aware of two other loud motors. Our bags had to be outside the room by 5:30. More noise as the porters, talking without regard for guests, collected bags then loudly wheeled them across the cobblestones. (The bellboy had previously shown his dissatisfaction with a $1 tip by "forgetting" to book my massage. Incidentally, there are 2 bellboys to tip - one shows you your room, the other wheels your bag and carries it up the stairs.) We were assured that breakfast would be available in time for our early departure. I ordered poached eggs but gave up on them after a long wait. The waiter told my wife that it took a long time because "it was too early"! The eggs weren't wasted - the waiter gave them to another guest.
I've read that the stone bath is a feature of the rooms - be careful, they are no hand rails and I think it's an accident waiting to happen.
Disappointing too that a hotel of this renown rounds up it's restaurant bills - such pettiness is not in keeping.
The pluses - good massage at a reasonable price, and the curry buffet for dinner was very good, albeit with patchy service. And of course, the complimentary minibar (if only we'd had time to use it!).
With proper planning, better trained staff, and a quiet room (no one else on our tour had a problem like ours) this hotel would get 5/5.

Room Tip: Don't go to 118 - see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yragnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Much has already been said about this beautiful property, but it is well deserved. Could unfortunately only stay 1 night, do did not have the time the enjoy all of the facilities/services offered. Enjoyed though a great buffet dinner on the 1st floor and breakfast the next morning. (I also had another dinner when I returned a week after at their restaurant downstairs).
Orient Express has always some wonderful properties (stayed in Luang Prabang, Siem Reap and Samui), and The Governor's Residence certainly met with miy expections (which were high...).
Expensive yes, but definitely worthwhile.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelmontreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a very nice hotel in the "Oldie Colonial" style. It is all beautifully done and the staff kind and efficient. However it is a taxi ride from the central area. You couldn't walk it in the evening because there are no pavements, the roads are rutted and the lighting is poor, so you really need to be central. If you want a hotel where you just plan on sitting around the pool all day and not exploring the city, then this is the place. Otherwise find somewhere more central.

Room Tip: I think they are all probably all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

What a beautiful hotel! Nice rooms, very nice swimming pool and very nice restaurants.
The service was perfect!
We ended our myanmar trip in this hotel and had the burmese buffet as a last meal: it was absolutely delicious, and it reconciled us with burmese food!
Expensive but worth it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Being Yangon a place which is just opening as a choice for tourism, I would recommend this hotel emphatically !!
The decor is very chic in a colonial good teak building ,the service super and what is very important in Burma wifi through the whole hotel works great !
We stayed during a week at arrival and on our way back from visiting other places in Burma ..
Both times felt the satisfaction of being in a great peaceful base within more isolated and exotic places we visited in the country .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nora k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,632 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
588 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,487 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing