We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start and finish....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
beijing
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Start and finish....”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We booked our first night in Yangon in this wonderful property to Kick off our trip with style and grace..... We found both..... The reception and greeting exceptional along with the traditional gong that welcomes each guest. We had a ground floor room near the pool... Very practical.. But keep the shades drawn.... Be sure to request additional water on arrival as the two bottles provided disappear quickly in the heat. The bed quality excellent and pillows perfect. The in-room air conditioning is tricky so plan to get some instruction. Both restaraunts serve excellent food.
The staff quickly learns you name and a few Mingalaba's and your feeling very colonial.
We then decided to close our trip with one addtional night in the Governor's and were welcomed home like family.... Even given the same room! We enjoyed the entire experience and will use the property on our next escape to the wonderful country and people of Myanmar and the Governor's residence.

Room Tip: Ground floor near pool if you enjoy the pool and a chance to catch a bit of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalnomadMontbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    266
    50
    12
    5
See reviews for
179
736
79
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Our Myanmar travel agent (Ainda Travel) booked us here for the last night of our trip to Myanmar -- what a treat!
The luscious grounds, the very attentive service from all of the staff, and the good food, combined to cap off a wonderful trip.
It is truly an oasis in the city, with an inviting and wonderful swimming pool, too.
The rooms are comfortable and clean -- to be expected with such a fine hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The place to stay when in Yangon. Warm welcome, professional service with a personal touch. Great breakfast, slightly limited dinner menu. Spacious rooms, very comfortable. Good internet access. Nothing is too much, customer centricity in practice. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Erik Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The grounds are gorgeously landscaped and lit at night. The main hotel building, a 1920s teak mansion, is one of the most beautiful secular buildings in Yangon, and the buildings that have been added to hold the guest rooms are perfectly complementary. The hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; all are excellent (though we found the dinners very rich). The rooms are spacious, well designed, and attractively furnished. The staff is both extremely friendly and highly professional.

In short, what is there not to like?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent three nights at TGR over Christmas with my parents who flew in to join us from the UK. We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff were very friendly and obliging and we loved the garden setting and being able to take our meals on the airy verandah. We also appreciated the Christmas Eve Gala Dinner held in the garden. The charming staff soon fixed up a few misunderstandings with our booking and seating arrangements and then proceeded to spoil us wonderfully when we booked in with them for Christmas Day Brunch.

We had a ground floor room which was a little dark as we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time unless we wanted to be in full view of guests on their way to the pool. However it was very spacious and we preferred the understated colonial elegance to the more brash style of my parents' room.They had one of the two newly renovated rooms so it was very interesting to compare. Their room was very well placed, more private than ours and had a well appointed balcony. Their bathroom was gorgeous- very sleek and modern, but we didn't really care for the large heavy furnishings in the bedroom. My parents on the other hand really liked it so that worked out well.

All in all an excellent start to our holiday and we set out for our Road to Mandalay River Cruise in very fine form!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I am not sure what I was expecting but I felt the hotel was subpar. Our room was dark(not enough lighting),our AC hardly worked, the service was average, and in general the hotel felt tired.The noise from the staff up and down the stairway was off putting.The breakfast was the highlight.The location was good as it is away from the city center and did afford a quiet haven from the loud and dusty city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beside it's quite location, the nice swimming pool that invites you to relax and read a nice book, the attentive service with well trained staff, the rooms are marvelous!!
Nice decoration, big beds, big bathroom with a great shower and good amenities.
the internet might be slow but who is here to care about it??
this is a place to relax! Period

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
643 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
560 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,473 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing