We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i wish they build better hotels so that one gets cheaper again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Governor's Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“i wish they build better hotels so that one gets cheaper again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was a bit disappointed to be honest, probably because for those money and with this fame it should have been better. I heard two years ago it was 90$, now I paid like 350$ and – maybe it makes me small man – at this price I start getting slightly irritated that I can’t get juice at the bar and then I see that my room is smallish, and why nobody swims in the pool? Because its not so great actually. Otherwise the staff is perfect, even their imperfections are very sweet and I liked them all.
Next time I’ll look for better deal though – I am not sure I will find anything.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    262
    51
    11
    5
See reviews for
174
718
76
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Governor's residence is located in the area embassy. Very quiet! The hotel is a colonial style architecture in the middle of a nice garden with a huge pool. Rooms are in the same style. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are great too. Staff very kind
But I find the hotel overpriced. The room and bath room are a bit small, the main building need to be refurbished and in the evening the pool started to be dirty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alcf2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, not too big, great service, internet, tv, good dining. No lifts so specify ground floor if limited. Simply loved the colonial feel to the property. It's in a nice area, the embassy area. You feel really special staying here

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this charming hotel before boarding the Road to Mandalay cruise. The setting was an oasis in bustling Yangon, the staff charming and food wonderful. I note some of the other reviews and cannot agree with their negative comments. If you are after chrome, glass and marble you are probably looking in the wrong place. This hotel has old world charm, polished timber boards and slow turning fans. It is not ultra modern nor does it purport to be yet we found all mod cons from flat screen TV, fridge in room, air-con and hairdryers etc. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom quite spacious. The bath was very large and almost too large to lie in but that is a minor complaint. The grounds are delightful with birds and peacocks strolling around the pool area. I used the spa one afternoon and found the staff competent and polite and the prices reasonable. Having wandered into The Strand hotel in central Yangon while it too looked charming it is right in the middle of a very busy and noisy part of town where The Governors Residence is 10 mins away and much quieter yet an easy cab ride to wherever you would want to go. My only gripe would be that other guests dragging their luggage along the boardwalks early in the morning was somewhat annoying but I'm unsure if they could be moved to reception via another less noisy route. We did not see a single mosquito during three nights.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel and will stay here when next we visit Yangon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This is my first time in myanmar.
I'm loving it. I'm stayed here for2night. Everything is good.
Breakfast is very good taste and excellent service. Everybody are helpful and frienly. The food is very delious. Next station i'll go to thailand for2week end then i'll come backagain.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We found this the most relaxing and friendliest hotel we've ever visited. The staff couldn't do enough for us; without exception they were delightful, and were keen for us to have the best possible experience of Myanmar. If you don't have the opportunity to stay, you should just go for the afternoon tea - delicious, and beautifully presented. If you do stay there, I advise you to build in a couple of extra days and take advantage of the daily events organised by the hotel, or just relax by the pool. We absolutely loved it and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was an oasis not centrally located, which is a good thing in a big and busy city like yangon. If you are up for an adventure you can walk downtown or to the shwedagon, but you have to be really brave and careful not to fall into the open sewers or holes on the sidewalk, which hopefully will be fixed in the near future.

The welcome was really friendly and professional, the cold towels certainly a bonus, but please don't hit the gong all the time because you hear this on the whole property and everytime you start to look up and wait for the new faces that arrive.

The rooms are not as nice as you would expect them to be for such a high priced hotel. The floors are creaking, the materials used remind you more of a low class hotel in verona, the bathtub layout is totally bizarre and if you don't provide a toilet brush then atleast provide the proper water pressure to get rid of last nights dinner remnants. The mosquitos are a real problem there, since my legs, after 10 days, are still looking like the elephant man. Smoking the whole place by the staff didn't work, so please provide mosqito-nets, since you already have hooks on the ceiling for that.

These were the only knock-downs. The property is really nice, the spa reasonable priced and well located at pool-side. The staff always has a smile on their faces and the breakfast was exceptional! Minibar free of charge is a plus.

Having complaints really should not be an issue if you spend 700$/night!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Thomas S

Mingala ba from Yangon and thank you for taking the time to write

We much appreciate you pointing out the "the good,the bad and the ugly" you experienced during your stay with us here at the Governors Residence.

So Sorry to hear that our signature gong welcome did bother you,unfortunately this will not change in the foreseeable future as we consider this part of the local authenticity and therefore part of the values that we stand for including delight,discovery and character that you find everywhere here at the Governors Residence and that proudly set's us apart from the rest.

On the contrary to your expertise we ourselves can not compare with low class Hotels in Verona due to a lack of experience in this field but would seriously doubt that there is much Teak,Terrazzo ,Norwegian down pillows,duvets or 600 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets used in Hotel rooms there,as it is here in our heritage property.

Our sincere apologies if the vintage teak floor did make noise here and there,we have noted and will follow through to have this looked after.

We and all of our returning clients would definitely disagree with you that our rooms are not nice,we understand however that this is a question of personal taste and will leave it at that.

The water pressure can be an issue especially when occupancy levels are high,we are aware of this and are currently working on a permanent solution for this we appreciate that you noticed and shared this with us

As for the wildlife prevention in the rooms,we are doing all possible including regular fogging,coils and anti mosquito lemon grass aroma oil lamps in all the rooms,unfortunately we do we have the occasional escapee,hence the mosquito nets are available 24/7 and only a phone call away for everyone including yourself,the elephant man and all our other guests,the nets are currently not permanently fixed as we are working on the appropriate carved wooden frames to fit the design of our rooms.

Last but not least do we completely agree with you that pointing out shortcomings is no issue at all and absolutely encouraged from our side especially when paying the rates that one does here at the Governors Residence,we did however notice that there were no comments made when our guest relation team talked to you on the second day of your stay,we would have definitely preferred you letting us know any inconveniences during your stay while on property to let us have a chance and accommodate all of your needs for an exceptional stay and a truly Burmese experience here with us.

In any case we are looking forward to your return to show you our improved efforts and remain meanwhile with the very best regards from the gateway to the golden land

Thomas Henseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing