We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Koekelare
2 reviews
“An excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a quiet oasis in the city! We felt very welcome and we loved the restored antique teak building.The food in the restaurant is excellent! Gastronomic!
The Mexican chief was very friendly and he knows his job. The grilled lobster and the fresh grilled prawns on the easter brunch were cooked to perfection!
The large swimming pool was very inviting and also here we had a perfect service! We had a perfect stay and would surely recommand this hotel to other people!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pro25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    263
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
177
725
77
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Amongst all the chaos of Yangon, this is by far the best hotel in the city. Situated in a quiet area of the city, this hotel not only has the best customer service in town, but you feel like you are staying in someone's home. Once the home, this hotel was transformed into a hotel that depicts the architecture of years gone by. The staff could not be more helpful and the food is wonderful. Try the curry bar upstairs for a real taste of Myanmar cuisine. With it's tranquil gardens and a 'must have' swimming pool to beat the miserable heat of Yangon, this hotel is by far the best hotel in Yangon currently.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalNomad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Governor's Residence in Yangon was the final 2 days of our holiday in fabulous Myanmar and it was a truly wonderful memorable and very part of our world. Upon arrival I needed specific medical attention which was provided with great attention and results. Our meals were beautiful and innovative, and Suzie our customer service person was just delightful. We could not recommend the whole experience as a first or final experience more highly. Thank you everyone. Lori

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A winning match, especially for those travelers used (and tired) of the same 5 stars hotels in Asia: perfect, immaculate, best service but.... Without local charm to it. The governor's residence has all the luxury and attentive service you would get in the "shangri la" or "park hyatt" but a "local" flavor to it that makes it absolutely unique without being pretentious. And the professionalism and kindness of its staff is remarkable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Spoutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I loved his hotel; it manages to be a real boutique hotel with the same class and care of a major five-star property but with the individual care and attention to detail from a boutique. This hotel - with expat management and a ratio of around four staff to one guest - has faultless attention to detail at every level. Rooms are immaculate and superbly well-maintained (a housekeeping and maintenance crew work tirelessly).

There are two restaurants, both in settings which will give you the 'colonial Burma experience' you dreamed about. The upper floor Indian and Burmese curry buffet of an evening is excellent and food is very fresh and wonderfully varied and a flavour adventure. The downstairs terrace (or AC dining room) has a very nice à la carte. We loved it so much we ate 'full board' in the hotel: breakfast (very good), lunch and dinner.

I cannot praise the care and attentiveness of the staff enough. I am already planning my next trip. A truly exceptional hotel experience and the best I've had in a couple of years (and I travel a lot)

Room Tip: Stayed in a Governor's room. Beautiful if simple design; both redolent if the country but also v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our stay at the hotel was absolutely faultless. The staff were friendly, courteous and provided exactly the right level of service. Great food, great location and a stunning property. If you visit Yangon then stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Governors residence is a stunning old colonial-feel hotel with teak wooden flooring, walls, panels and old pandas fans above you. Sitting having a cocktail you feel transported back to a different era.

All public areas are visually beautiful and the staff are amazingly helpful and chatty. Nothing was too much trouble and it was a genuine helpfulness rather than an expectation of a tip at the end of the stay. Hnin Nwe was particularly helpful.

We did a lot of sightseeing but still managed to squeeze in an hour by the glorious pool which complete with an array of gorgeous bar food and cocktails you are hard pushed to remember you are supposed to be in a country that's only just waking up to tourism.

The main building has a bar, breakfast room and a few small shops plus a beautiful veranda that overlooks the pool and gardens. At breakfast they had an egg station, dim sum and juice bar plus an impressive selection of cereals, cheese, cooked and cold breakfasts inside. At night the veranda turned into a magical, cool high end dining experience with a great chef at the helm (from Mexico which the menu gives more than a nod to). This was THE place to come for an evening so all the nicer to know we were staying here.

Upstairs is reached by a huge winding staircase with massive windows overlooking the back part of the hotel and rooms. The space is huge but actually feels less cosy at night - still great but not quite as perfect. This is where the nightly curry buffet is served ($42 pp) but we opted for the a la carte menu downstairs.

The rooms are behind what was the original 'Governors Residence' in newer two storey buildings. The room was large and spacious, beautiful teak floors, huge recently renovated bathroom with massive black granite bath/shower. We didn't spend long in the room but slept brilliantly with super cool AC and gorgeous soft bed linen and pillows.

There isn't a thing I can fault about the hotel and would return immediately. As a comparison we stopped in for a quick drink at its main competitor in Yangon "The Strand". Other than those wanting to stay there because of its history, there is a massive gap between the two. The Strand felt dated, stuffy, tired and somewhere my grandparents might have liked. The bar is supposed to be a hotspot but we went and it was so soulless and empty we didn't even stay for the drink.

The hotel also helped us arrange any tours of Yangon. We opted for the elephant coach which whilst pricey at $150 each we had the old thing to ourselves which felt totally decadent and fitting. That came with a driver, a drivers assistant who gave us drinks and freshly squeezed pineapple juice from the back area if the bus, a guide from 2-7pm and looks and stares and waves that were befitting of a celebrity. These buses are everywhere in the city and were used in the war a lot to transport troops around apparently but it was one of just three that had been decked out in cream fabrics and teak. It was deserving of the waves.

The guide we had - by sheer chance - was a young lady called Suzie who if you can you must ask for. Her English was perfect, she was funny, interesting and interested. She wasn't in a rush to show you anything she felt you should see, she worked through the list we gave her in time-efficient order making sure she added in a few of her own suggestions "shall we walk down this street - it's a really lively area and full,of gorgeous old buildings" and "oh how lovely, the market boat on the river is only here once a month - it's your lucky day. Do you want to jump on it to have a look". There was no parading us before her cousins' friends' aunt who made silk ensuring she'd get a little extra commission.

Lovely hotel, lovely tour and a lovely city that was supposed to be the quick stop of Myanmar.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#6 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Property: Belmond Governor's Residence
Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Governor's Residence in Yangon, Myanmar, is an imposing teak mansion hotel set in lush gardens. It's located within the elegant and lush green Embassy Quarter of Yangon, walking distance to the spectacular Shwedagon Pagoda. This Belmond hotel offers luxury in fascinating surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing