We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Belmond Governor's Residence
Ranked #1 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hands down, the best hotel in Myanmar and one of my favorite worldwide. The hotel itself is beautiful-- the bridge from the reception to the main building is a delight as is the well maintained swimming pool.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and have every amenity you could request.
The staff is very friendly and hardworking. The travel desk was very helpful booking airline tickets for intra-Myanmar travel. (very difficult for USA residents)
The restaurant serves excellent food and with a Burmese smile.
If you have the chance, attend the cocktail hour with the staff--you will meet some great people and gather knowledge of Myanmar not available in travel books.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovernorsResidence, General Manager at Belmond Governor's Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Grant K

Wow what a smashing headline,you really made our day here .........

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience here with the traveling community out there,we much appreciate the time you took to let us have such a fantastic feedback.

We will definately share this with the team.

Best regards and hope to see you soon again in Yangon

Thomas Henseler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here four days while exploring Yangon and the surrounding area and found it to be a relaxing and soothing refuge from the hubbub of a busy city. Located in an affluent part of the city only a short drive from the city center the area is surrounded by numerous embassies as well as many very good restaurants. The room was comfortable and very good size for the three of us. Wonderful bathroom with a huge black stone tub. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. You have the feeling you are back in the old days of the British administration. Very atmospheric, especially in the evenings. Lovely pool. It would be nice if they had a small fitness facility. The breakfast included with the room was excellent - the fish and noodle soup, a classic Burmese dish was wonderful and well worth trying. Western found is also available though I didn't try it apart from the excellent baked goods. A great place to stay with very attentive and friendly, smiling service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our experience during the stay was exceptional from check-in to check-out. We had notified the hotel of an early check-in and were able to immediately go to our room following check-in. The included breakfast buffet was unbelievable and offered a great mix of local and international options.
Rooms are large and offer a nice seating area. The bathroom offers a very large tub and has a shower with great water pressure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent a week in Mianmar. Unforgettable experience. We chose The Governor's Residence in Yangon and it was a perfect choice. Fantastic hotel, with a spacious room, beautiful gardens, perfect service, huge swimming pool, wonderful breakfast. One of the best hotel I stayed ever.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edurath67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here at the start and end of our trip. What a treat! Wonderful setting in an upmarket residential area so about 10 mins from centre of town (some might see this as a drawback, until they see the centre of town). Gorgeous tropical garden, huge swimming pool, well equipped and large bedrooms with very comfortable beds and proper pillows, and excellent service - probably the best service I've experienced for ages anywhere. Although we weren't there long enough to take advantage, they seem to offer something everyday, be it a talk, a walk or yoga etc. We were told by our guide that the breakfast is the best in Myanmar. We thought it one of the best we've had anywhere in the world. We ate once at their myanmar buffet restaurant which was good but expensive. There are other good restaurants within 5 mins walk.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Warm welcome from all staff. Ever times we meet the staff even though not guest service staff, they show warm welcome and be ready to assist us.


The food is delicious and so nice presentation. We can touch how intention of chef to prepare the food for us during 6 days staying.l Thank you for your full attention consistently.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kanokenath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We (a couple in our early 30s) stayed here for a couple of days at the start of our journey around Myanmar, and loved it so much that we returned for another couple of days at the end of our trip. Each day the hotel offers a free activity. The 'travel like a local' tour took us on local trains and buses and to colourful markets - fantastic. The staff are a delight, the breakfast buffet is almost unrivalled (including champagne and creme brulee, because why not?), and the pool area is absolutely fantastic. Our room for the first couple of days was quite nice, but the next room was beautiful. We will definitely return here when we next visit Myanmar.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bospub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
748 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,665 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
397 reviews
2.9 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Governor's Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Governor's Residence

Address: 35 Taw Win Road | Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#1 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £204 - £558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Governor's Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Belmond's international collection of iconic luxury hotels, trains and river cruises, Belmond Governor's Residence is a 1920's teak mansion and hotel situated in the heart of Yangon, Myanmar. Surrounded by lush gardens and lotus ponds, and home to two resident peacocks, the property is a peaceful oasis and retreat from the bustle of downtown. The hotel features the Kipling Bar and two restaurants, including the renowned Burmese Table, a gourmet introduction to the cuisine of Myanmar. The Mandalay Restaurant on the lower level of the mansion serves international fine dining al fresco on the terrace overlooking the lotus ponds. Guests can enjoy swimming in the fan-shaped pool in the gardens or indulge in treatments at the Governor's Oasis Spa. Complimentary daily guest activities and complimentary guest bicycles are provided. The hotel is located near the iconic Shwedagon Pagoda and a short taxi ride to the city center. The People's Park is located within two blocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Governor's Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Residence By Orient-Express Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Governors Residence Yangon Rangoon
Governors Residence Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Belmond Governor's Residence Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing