We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, functional and good value hotel option in Yangon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
San Jose
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“clean, functional and good value hotel option in Yangon”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel before leaving Myanmar. It is on the same category/price range as the Park Royal which is a bit closer to town center. Compared to park royal, room at sedona is more comfortable and better maintained; the bathroom is definitely a step up in term of cleanliness and functionality. The breakfast selection is huge offering wide variety of western and asian dishes. There is also a nice outdoor swimming pool. Except for its slight off center location, this hotel provides a much better value than the park royal. It is only 6km/4000ks from airport so a perfect hotel option for staying the night before going to airport.

Room Tip: asiaroom or agoda offers discounted rate...we paid 100usd + tax for a double that would cost 150usd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nguyenntvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    392
    177
    48
    26
See reviews for
74
145
61
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

It claims to be a five star, but the facilities, deco and everything is just the very standard hotel you can imagine. No character.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiang-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is a safe choice for Yangon. Rates are reasonable, rooms are fine though nothing fancy. Internet in the lobby is very slow, and not all Internet services are accessible (some ports may be blocked?). Four points given that it is Burma, in an advanced industrialized country, it would be three points.

We did not eat in the hotel or use any other facilities (pool etc.), so my comments are based entirely on the room and front desk experience.

Room Tip: Lake view is nice but not really something I would pay extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumshoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Nothing special. It is like a business hotel. Little Bit outside the City. Interieur looks a bit like in the 60's.
Very big Pool, but no clear water inside. 6-8 € to go to the airport by taxi, 4-5 € to go to the city. Staff was friendly. Bad exchange Rate for EUR And USD. To go to restaurants you need taxis, nothing in footrange.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwindi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a functional hotel trying to emulate something better. The public areas were not as clean as they should be...grubby fabrics on furnishings, glass top tables not clean. The room was OK but the whole hotel felt as if it needed deep cleaning. The pool area could be good but suffers the same problem. Because of this the idea of eating there is not enticing so I settled for a pizza as the safest option which is a shame to have to do in Asia.
The staff at reception could have been more helpful. Also my luggage didn't arrive in my room - when I located it by the bell desk, no-one had put a room ticket on it so it would have just stayed there. If you want cleanliness and service stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Firstly, I don't take kindly to undergoing a body and bag search every time I go through the front door or if I wanted a drink in Paddy's bar. I saw many people complaining bitterly about this indignity. No other hotel in Burma does this, and it is not even remotely necessary.
Secondly the attempt at providing Wi-Fi with convoluted passwords and web pages is irritating in the extreme, especially as it often crashed and you had to go through the routine of doing the webpage password things again and again.
The Italian restaurant had very slow service and the wines had up to 200% mark up on the same bottle of wine that you would find down the road in City Mart.
Also if something is on the menu it ought to be available at least sometimes. Never did get a bowl of French Onion Soup the whole time I was there.
The pool had a green algal bloom in it that was quite offputting.
The room was comfortable, the AC and the television worked, but I am an early riser and there was no hot water early in the mornings. Plenty during the day and night though.
Paddy's bar was lively at night, with a live phillipino band, but the Dagon beer on tap is nowhere close to the bottled Tiger beer. The burger and chips I had in the bar was excellent.
I paid $75 a night.

Room Tip: If you get a poolside view, you don't get the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRigrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed here for work in October 2011. Overall it was a pleasant stay. Rooms were comfortable and large. Bathrooms were clean and spacious. Good facilities - meeting rooms and banquet halls. Food was delicious too - a good mix of local and Western delicacies.

As with most Asian countries, staff were courteous & friendly.

I would stay here again & recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not2fussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#7 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Property: Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing