We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, excellent in everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Ranked #14 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb service, excellent in everyway”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was part of a large group hosted by the Sedona Hotel in Yangon. In every way, I found the service to be excellent. The food was superb. The staff was accommodating in every possible way. The one weakness was room Wifi. This was my 3rd visit to Myanmar in 15 years. You can see and feel the progress. I enjoyed not being in the downtown area. Cabs were always conveniently available if I needed one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    411
    182
    49
    26
See reviews for
79
148
63
521
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed in Sedona hotel for one night on my business trip. Overall the hotel has some good service but unfortunately full of defects as well. On a good side, the hotel isa spacious, grand hotel with large lobby and high ceiling. Room has a so so decoraton but a clean room with modest facility and free wifi. The spa here is quite good even at a high price. On bad sides its location is a little far from central area where I later found many hotels are located in central area. The service is acceptable but did not meet standard. When we first arrived the officials at counterr seemed not to pay attention to us and let the guests wait for quite some times. Later on when we check out and want to pay by credit card, the hotel offical did not allow this and said we had to tell them first when we arrived! This is unacceptable given we had insufficient "new" dollar notes to pay and they insisted that we could not pay by cards even with 4% service charge. Even though we had sufficient cash in dollar to pay, the hotel officials rejected many of our new notes citing they were not new (with little wringle and some notes on 2003 year will be completely rejected). So if you are planning to go to Myanmar please prepare andtake only very new notes. In conclusion I will pick otherhotels like Park Royal, Traders, or some more luxury hotels like Governors house as the price tag is not very different but quality seems far and far away.

Room Tip: Stay at other centrally located hotels would be better than Sedona for the same money spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here on a 2 day trip with work.

The hotel arranged airport pick up for me, which was seamless.

Check-in was efficient but lacked warmth.

Rooms were of decent size, for a hotel in Myanmar. Bathrooms were ok but needed updating.

Internet, which was on a pay by hour basis, was painfully slow. I believe most places in Myanmar are afflicted by this.

Breakfast buffet was good. Excellent variety and fairly good quality. The fruit juices were good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Sedona on the last day of our trip. We had stayed at another Sedona so we knew not to expect much. This Sedona was much nicer than the one in Mandalay. It is located across from the Lake where Aung San Suu Kyi lives. The rooms were spacious, but the hotel on a whole needed updating. It was a business hotel, so there was no warmness about it. The best thing though was the breakfast. The food was very good.

Room Tip: I would get a suite on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a pretty standard 3.5 star hotel that thinks its a 5 star. The foyer bar is fairly soulless, and when we visited, the swimming pool was unavailable for use by guests. Rooms are fine but uninteresting, and bathrooms a little tired. Breakfasts are good (eat in the main, ground floor restaurant).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here one night, on the return leg of our trip to Myanmar.

This hotel is a 3 or possibly 4 star hotel.

The check-in is painless and swift.

The rooms are large enough, with decent facilities.

We were not asked if we wanted a smoking or non smoking room and, unfortunately got a smoking room. When we arrived, we thought it would be ok but it was very smelly when we went to bed. A mistake on our part and it would have been nice to have been asked.

We did not want to go out that night & toured the Sedona restaurants.

The Irish style pub downstairs looked ok; however, the hotel was hosting a huge, Chinese wedding the same night and the sight of the food preparation in the car-park impacted our Irish appetites.

The brasserie was closed (2030), despite being advertised. So we tried the Italian for pizza.

It has to be said, the restaurant experience was below par. The pizza and bread were very bland. The Tiger beer was great though! The same restaurant served breakfast the next morning. The selection looked great but the egg chef struggled with the guest requests & everything was ... well bland. In addition, we were charged extra for asking for cappuccino, instead of the standard coffee: a practice I hate.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify if you want non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_from_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

As we had never stayed in Mandelay before, we opt for no surprises and booked an up market hotel. Arriving these the Sedona appears to be an average hotel, for facilities, services while the prices are really elevated. I have even filled out an appraisal form to the chain in Singapore telling that teh Manadaly hotel had really elevate prices for mediocre service and facilities.
However the location is really magnificent, locate in one of the strategic corner of the Mangadlay fort the view over both the fort and the Mandelay hill are really magnificent.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side of the hotel as this view is what you all came for !! See photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,659 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Yangon
Melia Yangon
#5 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
#15 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,381 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Property: Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar
Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing