We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice city hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedona Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Yangon
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A nice city hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well situated halfway between the airport and the city. Major building work is being carried out in the drop off area and behind the swimming pool, a bit noisy there but once inside the building there is no noise at all. All the staff were cheerful, polite and helpful. Credit cards are excepted. Four lifts service the floors and considering the number of rooms they were efficient with hardly any wait for the lift to arrive. The Chinese Restaurant was a little chilling (air conditioning set very low) but the service, food (large portions) were good and the price, for hotel food, was resonable. We also ate in the Bassierre again the food was OK but the service was poor. The breakfast is their star, European and Asian food with masses of choice, definitely the best breakfast we had in the five hotels we stayed in during our time in Myanmar. On our first visit we were up-graded to a suite, quite splended but the basic rooms are fine and are kept clean and well serviced. A complementery drink offered when booking in is a nice touch. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    384
    175
    48
    24
See reviews for
72
137
61
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The entire hotel is under construction. Hammering and drilling starts at 8am. There is no quite place in this hotel, even the pool area is refurbished.
WiFi is not working.
We had booked 3 nights but escaped after one night because of the constant noise and the not working WiFi.
They forced us to pay the entire night £175 or USD 220 (no breakfast) without offering any refund. We had no upfront information about the construction, otherwise we would have avoided this hotel. Booking was made on booking.com
The refurbishment is necessary, the entire hotel is very old fashioned.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SabineAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I was in Yangon in November to conduct a HR Seminar. The local organizers put me up at Sedona Hotel where I had stayed before on one of my many visits to this city. It was then, at best a 3 star hotel trying to be 4 star! It was bland, ordinary but clean.
This time around there was construction going on in the hotel's attempt to upgrade its facilities. The construction works did not disturb my seminar proceedings. The price of rooms this time around was a real shocker.........Yangon is trying to be more expensive than HK, B'kok and S,pore!
I had a really good room..........5 star standard in the new section and it was kept clean on a regular basis by housekeeping. Dined at the Italian and Chinese restaurants. Both gave our party of four a good meal with attentive and friendly service to match.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenMorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel locates in front of a nice lake, but does not use the good view to their advantage. The hotel is old and renovation is ongoing which makes it unpleasant to stay because of the noise. Food and service is standard, lacking Mynmar charm. The price is rather high for its quality. If it is not because of the conference that was held there, I would rather stay somewhere else.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I was amazed that rooms were actually rented out when there was heavy duty construction going on the floor above bp from 8-6. Front desk was absolutely oblivious that this might be unacceptable and provided no apologies or alternatives. Other than that the hotel is a full service modern hotel that I suppose is a corporate hotel that lacks warmth, but clean enough. There was a large seemingly upscale wedding taking place so it is not a dive.n

Room Tip: Make sure there is no construction above room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank repeatvisitor_BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four days in order have a look around Yangon. We didn't know the hotel scene and relied on reviews on the internet. The price was shockingly high, but then again so were a lot of other hotels that came up. It's difficult to see why it would be so high, given that everything else was cheap. We assumed it would be a really nice place (like luxury hotels in India, for example - outrageous prices but worth it). However, it proved to be, at best, an average hotel. The room was nothing special. It was very loud if you were there during the day, since there was major construction going on in the room next door. The gym was quite poor, and always busy, because people from outside the hotel used it. Most areas of the hotel seemed to be kept at around 18C, so it was quite cold. There were two restaurants - an Italian restaurant and an international restaurant. The Italian place had some of the blandest food I've ever tasted. Even the bread and oil was bland. The international place was a little better. The main disappointment was the lack of a Burmese restaurant. Being in a new place, we wanted to try the local specialties. There were only three or four on the menu. The first night I had the chicken curry, which was delicious. It made me want to try even more Burmese food, but the selection was incredibly limited. Ordering non-Burmese food was a mistake. A Thai curry, for example, turned out like a Thai-colored Burmese curry (green and oily). The restaurant was open for breakfast at 0530, but we found that if you got there before about 8 there were a lot of items missing. For example, on our first day we enjoyed some of the curries with roti. However, the roti chef evidently doesn't get in until 8 or so. On our second day my wife wanted an iced tea at breakfast, and had no problem ordering one on the first day. They said they didn't serve iced tea until 7 AM. She had to prod them to bring her a hot tea and a glass of ice. In general the staff were not very helpful. The concierge didn't seem able to book any tours for us - which, in my experience, is what concierges do. We asked about going to Bago and he seemed clueless. He pointed us to the "travel desk" where the girl wanted us to pay $320 for a car for a day (we ultimately got a taxi for a third of that). We paid way too much for the room for noise, mediocre food, bad sleep, and poor workout facilities.

Room Tip: Try for a room that's not surrounded by hammering
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at this hotel, and had no problems with noise, although construction and renovation were going on. As mentioned, the noise was only during the day, and I actually only heard it once. The SEA Games were being held in Yangon while I was there, so the hotel was absolutely packed. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was plentiful and varied. There was never a problem getting a seat--only getting coffee in the morning!
Like others, I had a few drinks in the lounge because that was one of the only places to get good wifi, besides the business center.
My room was spaciousness and well cleaned. I ate in the Chinese restaurant one day at lunch, and the service and food was excellent.
Overall, this was a very good hotel by international standards and worth a recommendation. The beautiful lake across the street makes for a delightful place for a
walk, which is an added plus.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinjudy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
3.5 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
3.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Yangon

Property: Sedona Hotel Yangon
Address: No. 1 Kaba Aye Pagoda Road | Yankin Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sedona Hotel Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Hotel situated on 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens facing the south east end of Yangon's famous Inya Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sedona Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedona Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sedona Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing