We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Standard hotel, nice staff hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“International Standard hotel, nice staff hospitality”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here for two days and was impressed with their service standard. I did not expect much anyway in the beginning. The hotel is quite old but reasonably well maintained and in the city center. The room has standard decoration, although the bathroom may need upgrade as it started to look a bit too old. The food was ok and staff was really nice and polite. The internet connection was ok, not fast but acceptable to connect with work and outside world. ( although they blocked certain sites )

I love the lobby lounge area decoration. I thought it was stunning as it has the traditional burmese architechure and style.

Only setback thing for international traveller is they do not accept American Express Credit Card, so you will need to use Visa/Master card instead and they also charge 4% credit card fees which i am a bit annoyed as the room is not cheap.

I'll give it 3 star rating compared to other international hotels but it is probably the best in Yangon as it is managed by the Shangri la hotel chain group.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker, ensure you ask for non smoking room as the smoking room smells quite bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,446
    948
    196
    39
    32
See reviews for
300
959
215
669
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vavuniya
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Keeps to Traders standard trademarks but in south east asian Traders circuit none can match the sincere touching service of its staff.Its not traders training but the hospitality/kindness of the Myanmar people.

I stayed in club sector and was ripped off since traders lounge/rooms are under refurbishing so to a dwarfed lounge you are taken and with minimal comfort.Check whether lounge/rooms are relocated before going in to club quarters.
You will love or hate the location-its in the city centre possibly not salubrious in yangon but quick for take off and slow to get in. For the service by the staff I will take it again.
Spa is very reasonably priced -its worth an inhouse in the room-still cheaper;indeed pleasantly strange.Very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid Traders Club until satisfied the true club/lounge section in duly reopened otherwise it is plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
We strive to deliver the most comfortable stay at Traders and we were disappointed your stay was affected by the location of the temporary Traders Club Lounge. Upgrading our Club Lounge ensures we will soon be able to offer an the best view in Yangon from the Club Lounge as it will have an uninterrupted vista of the Shwedagon pagoda . Ruvinivavuniya we are confident that the lovely nature of our team coupled with being well trained will compliment one another and on your next visit you will be pleasantly surprised. Phillip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is my 3 rd stay in Traders, Yangon. Must say the club class is absolutely wonderful despite the current renovations hotel is facing. Service is personalised.There were nice gestures like snacks and a bottle of wine left in the room as a welcome gesture. Its convenient , just round the corner from Scotts market., very central and convenient if you want to explore downtown,.
The downside is prices have gone up astronomically since my last visit in Oct 2011 ,If I recall correctly I paid around US$160 for a double club class room . This time its USD $268 for single occupancy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishdocbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was my second visit to Yangon Burma, and our hotel experience at Traders was very good.
Burma is finally coming out of the dark ages and moving forward.
The people have such a harsh exterior, but very friendly once you get to know them, they have a bit of a wick sense of humour.
There is such a lot to see and do in Burma, from pony and cart rides in the local streets, to cooking classes and Karen women in mid Burma, just fasinating life style, only draw back I find the heat uncomfortable.
I will make a third trip back in a couple of years and travel south again to where my Pop worked
before he died.

GREAT place to visit.

Room Tip: Higher levels have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonjeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I had on a past trip to Yangon looked in on Traders and thought that it would be a good place to stay as it looked well maintained and its location was only a 2 minute walk from Scott (Bogyoke) Market. I was not disappointed.
The hotel is located near the markets and a walk (although most people, particularly in the hot season will take a taxi) to the old colonial center of Yangon. If you are a little more adventurous and like to mix with the locals it is also only a couple of blocks from the thriving street markets near Bon Soon Pat St where locals get their food and clothing.
The hotel is a well maintained property with good size rooms that were as good as any I have seen in Yangon. The staff were helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The breakfast buffet is very good as is the food in the hotel restaurant if you wish to eat in house. Downstairs in the lobby is a medical centre of sorts, as my wife was suffering from a stomach bug I went down there and after a few words with the doctor I was given the appropriate antibiotics to deal with the local bugs (latter I managed to check with my doctor in Sydney who agreed with the selection of antibiotic) and was out in about 5 minutes with the drugs at a total cost of only $US5 - this seems to be a good place to know about as after a few weeks in the far flung areas of Myanmar it is not uncommon to pick up a tummy bug :)
Overall I would recommend this as one of the best hotels to stay at in Yangon based not only on the rooms and service but also on the location - as a total package it is hard to beat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at Traders Yangon 5 nights in July 2012. We had forgotten to ask for airport pick-up, but we just talked with the guys holding the Traders sign so they helped us arrange a local taxi. The airport was some 25 min from the hotel and it cost us USD10.

As we had read on TripA that the hotel was under renovation, we asked for a newly renovated room at check-in. They had none available so we ended up paying USD35 extra for a club room which was on a newly renovated floor. Check-in was smooth though, and we got great service.

Our room was big and very modern, with good wifi connection, flat screen and an excellent bed. Bathroom is also pretty big and feels very fresh. The club lounge is temporarily moved to a seperate section in the Grammy Bar on second floor. This worked well, and the food and service in the club lounge was superb.

The first night we arrived rather late, so instead of trying to find a restaurant outside of the hotel we settled for the buffet in the hotel. It was USD20 per person. This was not a very impressive buffet though. I had some sashimi, and it was very wet and soggy, not sure why. We tried many of the dishes, but we did not really feel that the general impression of the food was as good as you would expect from a Shangri-La sister hotel. But again, service during the dinner - excellent. The other nights we ate at the hotel we ordered a la carte, much better food!

Breakfast is OK. There is an egg-station, pancake-station, noodle-station and lots of other foods. You also have much fesh fruit, mango was just heavenly. A couple of mornings one in our company did not feel well, so the staff just asked what breakfast items to bring to the room, again, excellent service.

We stayed at 17th floor. If we, after a day of sightseeing, came back for a small rest in the afternoon we were met by the sounds of drilling and hammering in concrete (probably floor 18 is being refurbished at the moment). This is of course unavoidable, and for future guests it is good. But for us, kind of tiring.

Location is very central. Close to markets and pagodas. If you wanna go to the Shwedagon Pagoda it takes some 10 minutes by taxi and cost you USD3. We had bought Lonely Planets Myanmar guide, in which there was a great tip for a walking tour on your own in Yangon. The starting point of that tour is close to the hotel, so we really recommend it. We spent some 4 hours on that walking tour (as we explored The Strand Hotel quite long).

You can use USD in most transactions, but you WILL need local currency as well. Next to Traders there is a hotel called Central. They have an exchange counter, but they were so little friendly with us so we decided to make our exchange somewere else. This week, Central Hotel and some other bank branches paid 878Kyat per 1USD. We met one guy at a cafe who gave us 900Kyat per 1USD. Anyway, there are many places to exchange, and you will be asked several times per hour when walking around. We used approximately kyat worth of USD10 per day per person, including some shopping. The rest of our expenses we paid for in USD.

IMPORTANT: Bring more money than what you think you will need. No ATMs around..
IMPORTANT: Bring new, no-marked, clean USD-bills. Many 1$ and 5$ are recommended.
IMPORTANT: Think twice before eating ANY fresh fruit/salad, or already prepared food (as it may have been ready waiting for you to buy it for a loooong time. If you get a delhi-belly not improving after 1 day, ask Traders Hotel to send their in-house doctor. He will give some anti biotics.

Traders Hotel is a good 4* hotel. For us it is a weak 4 in rating as the renovation actually bothered a bit and as we were not thrilled with the buffet. Room standard is very high and the service is a super strong 5* from us. We would be happy to be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room. Also ask to be in a section with low noise levels (if renovation sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k-daniel-a-sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were on the 18th floor in a spotlessly clean and well appointed room. The staff were, without exception, courteous and helpful. Breakfast was a delightful buffet with both Western and Oriental food. We had an excellent Indian buffet one evening at very reasonable cost. There were a bank of lifts and even at busy times we rarely waited more than a minute or so. The rooftop swimming pool is a great place to relax and, again, the pool attendants are first class. If you stay here also try the top floor restaurant in the building on the opposite side of the road - again great food at a sensible rate, with excellent panoramic views over the city. It is clearly designed as a business hotel hotel, but we were on holiday and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our only criticism was that, even at that height, one could hear the perpetual chanting coming from the Sule Pagoda (which went on all night!). I understand this was a festival and not the norm.

Room Tip: Go high and non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#2 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,354 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
610 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#1 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#11 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Property: Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing