We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquility in a busy city in transformation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility in a busy city in transformation”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Very professionally run, modern hotel with a welcoming atmosphere, geared to business and sophisticated tourists. The staff are friendly and attentive, going out of their way to be helpful.
The food is fresh and the menu is imaginative, well prepared beautifully presented.
Our room was large and well appointed with free WiFi that was much faster than expected.
As a bonus, the hotel was within walking distance of the Bogyoke Market.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Traders Club room, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    943
    194
    39
    32
See reviews for
296
957
210
655
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed at Traders on our last night in Myanmar. We had not been warned that Traders Club was being renovated so were surprised to discover the lounge had been moved to a function room on the 3rd floor so check in for Club guests is done in the lobby. There was a notice in our room dated April 2012 informing guests of ongoing renovations - obviously not finished yet.
Our agents had supposedly booked a double non-smoking club room but we were offered a smoking room. When we declined we were told we would have to wait at least an hour for a non-smoking room to be available. Only when we complained was it suggested we wait in the temporary Traders Club and make use of the facilities. This was the only hotel we stayed at in Myanmar that did not offer a welcome drink or refreshing towel to all its guests on arrival.
There were canapes and drinks in the lounge from 5.30 to 7.30 and a bottle of wine in our room which was nice although nothing to indicate it, the bottled water, fruit or nuts were actually complimentary so we had to check with the staff.
The buffet breakfast was extensive with eggs cooked to order. The bacon for some reason was with the bread rather than the other hot food items which was unusual for a non halal restaurant.
The staff in the Traders Club lounge all spoke good English, were very aaccommodating and professionaal

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatever141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Many thanks for your recent review and I am disappointed that after a long journey we were not able to ensure you got into your preferred room fast and efficiently. We have information on all our managed sites and reservation channels, and I will trace the reason that you were not informed of the refurbishment, please accept my apologies for this. We offer Traders Club room guest complimentary welcome snacks, and red wine which should have a welcoming message indicating these are with our compliments. Whatever141, I will certainly rectify these shortfalls in the coming days and thank you for your feedback.

I have noted your observation that we do not offer a welcome drink and this is due to feedback from some guest who simply want a fast and speedy check-in as a priority. We will look into this again.

Interestingly. we found that placing bacon or pork with other hot dishes generated remarks from some patrons, so we made a choice to completely separate these and this is the reason the bacon is located in an isolated spot on the buffet !
We look forward to seeing you again at Traders in Yangon, Phillip C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Traders is a second tier Shangrila brand. This hotel is very nice, close to the Scott/Bogyoke market, the train station, and within walking distance of the waterfront. It is primarily an upscale business hotel; it has a nice lobby area for sitting/ working on your computer or meeting friends. Breakfast buffet is extensive and very good. Had a good lunch one day - an interesting ix of SE Asian choices as well as Western food, I believe. The staff are very professional and helpful.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have nicer views - both towards the river and away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westsidewoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Well located for Scott market, Sule Pagoda and crailway station this is a very good place to stay in Yangon. Good rooms and service, magnificent buffet breakfast and small but pleasant pool area.Reasonably priced restaurants nearby if you want to eat out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banglamung
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We enjoyed our time in this hotel and were happy with our room and the hotel facilities; very helpful staff, a fantastic buffet breakfast with a wide selection of dishes, and on top the Traders Club with amazingly good food and drinks. Beside of this the hotels location with a huge market nearby and good restaurant in the neighborhood made our stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: Traders Club Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This hotel has more than great location. It is situated in downtown Yangon within walking distance from Chinatown, the Indian area and several good markets. The hotel itself is lovely with extremely accommodating staff. Staff all speaks good English. Our room which overlooked the pool, was lovely. It had all the amenities one needs with a touch of class. They have a lovely sitting area where your can lounge, work online, read and order lunch or drinks. The amazing breakfast had a huge array of food from many different cultures - Myanmar, Indian, Chinese, Japanese and Western. All of which we sampled was excellent. Loved the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DafyAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We are pleased that you found the service and hotel enjoyable, the breakfasts are famous here and we now have selections from eight diffrent countries which our Executive Chef hopes to expand upon, DafyAleberta we hope to see you hack here in the near future to enjoy our breakfast spread, Phillip C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at the hotel over Chinese New Year 2013. We arrived after midnight and there was a slight problem with the room that was booked but that was resolved in minutes. The Hotel is the 4 star Shangrila brand and is well priced. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Some rooms have a view of Schwedagon Pagoda. The facilities are nice and the pool very welcoming during the heat (although more lounge chairs would be nice - there are not enough). The renovations in Feb 2013 are still underway so taking an afternoon nap is not an option but we were told that they were almost done. The Traders Lounge has been relocated to a meeting room during the renovations but had a good breakfast and evening offering. No point in paying for the Strand or the Governors Residence unless you are looking for the experience of staying in old colonial buildings and are willing to pay up for the experience and the luxury. The best part is the location. Minutes from the market, the train station, Sule Pagoda, the waterfront and a short ride to Schwedagon Pagoda. What we noticed here was the top notch customer service. All of the staff have been very well trained which combined with the genuine Burmese friendliness sums up to 5 star customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip C, General Manager at Sule Shangri-La Yangon, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Its most appreciated to read your feedback and that our front desk team were efficient and quick to make sure your room preferences were met. I am very happy to share with you that we are about to receive our new pool side furniture and this will complete the refurbishment of the new Health Club and make the pool deck on Level 5 a very relaxing and peaceful location after travelling around Myanmar. Eiying we hope you will chose Traders on your next stay in Yangon Phillip C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
654 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Property: Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing