We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

A good, well located hotel. It is very close to city centre and is well appointed and comfortable. Reasonable restaurants nearby for local food. It is well worth being close to the centre of Yangon. It is about 1 hour from the airport due to the heavy traffic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsanmarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,994 - 2,000 of 2,856 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a lovely hotel - lovely welcome by the staff, bedrooms beautifully appointed and very quiet probably due to the carpets on the outside hall floors. It is centrally located for all the local sightseeing places. Very nice french restaurant on the route to Scots Market which is very close to the hotel. Cannot understand why it only has a four star rating - should be higher. The higher the room you have the better view you get over Yangon downtown area! Also a good rooftop view.

Room Tip: go for a high up room unless you do not like heights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodoldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights end of January 2013 in a Club room. The club lounge was fantastic with great staff and excellent food/drinks/breakfast. There is still ongoing building works in place but this did not affect our stay.
Staff spoke very good English and were very helpful with advice on changing of cash, trips etc.
Our room was on the top floor with exceptional views of the pagoda.
Plenty around the hotel to walk for shopping etc.
Our only complaint was that other residents could smoke in the lounge bar on the 1st floor which can be very uncomfortable for those of us who don't smoke but thankfully the staff made up for that with there excellent service with a smile.
All in all an extremely pleasant stay and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend club rooms albeit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiffaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Using this hotel as a base for the first 3 days of our time in Yangon. The location of the hotel is ideal and the rooms comfortable and spotless. The pool is large and pleasant but overlooked by neighbouring buildings. We were warned about the refurbishment but is caused no problems.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasidevally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed there one night in the premiere suite - it was great and I would recommend it to anybody. But the other types of rooms , I think , were good too. Beautiful interior, helpful staff, everything was on the very high level of service. The bathroom was excellent. the pillows and bed - very good. Mostly the hotel was occupied by business-trip voyagers but it could be kindly recommend for tourists.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolie-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife and I spent our first night in Yangon, Myanmar at the Traders Hotel. What a pleasant surprise for us. After driving through dark, noisy and exhaust filled streets we walked into another world. From the reception we received by staff to the big comfortable room we were impressed. Actually we were a bit embarrassed about our good fortune as we were enjoying something that the people outside could only dream of. My wife loved the large bathtub.
In the morning we were treated to perhaps the best breakfast buffet we have ever had, certainly in Southeast Asia. After breakfast we did a walkabout outside the hotel and were exposed to reality in Myanmar. However, the people were all friendly and seemingly happy.
Our only regret was we had a plane to catch so had to check-out.

Room Tip: We had a club room which was great. The view isn't worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Traders Hotel was awesome. Location is great, the staff were all fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. All Staff were happy to have a chat, my fiance and his family were born in Burma and had not been back since they left 42 years ago so it was great to have that in common. We learnt a lot about the best shopping places etc to go. Internet was quick and able to be picked up all over the hotel (some hotels only have access in the lobby). The restaurant was excellent with either the buffet or a la carte. The gym was great and the massages were excellent. The pool is good but not a lot of shade. Room service staff too great. We will definately be staying at Traders again. Everybody was very polite and always had a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. The cost was quite high but I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms with windows overlooking the front of the hotel and the street are the best as you can loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillRay100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,657 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#4 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
745 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#2 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#12 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd. | Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £107 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing