We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Taw Win Garden Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$95
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savoy Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$206
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$278
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Governor's Residence(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$163
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky View Hotel(Yangon (Rangoon))
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,990)
Filter reviews
2,990 results
Traveller rating
1,685
1,020
211
39
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,685
1,020
211
39
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubgallery barsummer palaceclub roomscott marketchinese restaurantbusiness hotelexcellent hotelriver cruisemain restaurantbogyoke marketbreakfast buffet ispublic areasfive star hoteldowntown yangoncentral locationan oasis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,036 - 2,041 of 2,990 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

It is 30-45 minute drive from airport to Traders depending on the traffic. The hotel is great. Rooms are comfortable and WiFi speed decent. Lunch / dinner buffet starts at used 21 per person, but is well worth it. The food was amazing! This was the only hotel in Myanmar that accepted credit card payments, but there was a surcharge for it.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mikaramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Traders on 2 occasions - at the start and end of our tour of Myanmar, a total of 3 nights. The hotel and rooms were top notch, well presented and well maintained. Comfortable beds, nice bath amenities and good WiFi combined with a friendly and helpful staff made our stay a very enjoyable one. The breakfast buffet and separate bakery were superb with numerous selections to chose from. Definitely THE hotel to stay at for its location, rooms and service.

Room Tip: High floor will give you great views and some quietness from the streets.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Traders twice at the beginning and end of our trip to Myanmar. Its a big, busy hotel but everything worked very efficiently (air con, pool, check in, wakeupcalls etc) and it is in a great location for getting about to the tourist sights of Yangon. The rooms are dull and dated but they are presently being renovated (we hardly heard any construction noise). All staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is amazing. We were happy with our decision to stay here and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneSalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and chose it as it was my first trip to Myanmar. Staff were all friendly & helpful and location is such that you can easily walk to the market. We had a leaking air conditioning unit one night and the maintenance guy who came to fix it couldn't have been more helpful, efficient and courteous.
Breakfast was much like any other international hotel buffet and, as with dinner, I would have hoped to see a lot more local food available - there were only a couple of examples at breakfast and none the evening we had dinner at the hotel. Luckily, the hotel is close to a lot of local restaurants, and I would recommend only eating out in local places while you are here - partly because you get so much more variety and the local food is delicious, but also because the difference in price is amazing! USD$10 for a bowl of mohinga (rice noodles in fish soup) at the hotel, USD$5 for a good sized meal for 2 in a local place.
The pool was good and after checking out we stayed to use the facilities in the hotel waiting for our flight out.
Although there was nothing at all wrong with the hotel and I have no complaints, I might be tempted to try something a little more local next time to get more of a sense of the country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLambkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just came back from Yangon and stayed in Traders Hotel for 6 nights. Even if the hotel is now going for renovations, the place was still in order. The lobby was busy with many people coming and going as UNICEF is located here. The weather was hot and humid and the air conditioning was working very well in spite of brief electrical outage. Our room at the 16th floor had a view of Sule Pagoda; was quiet, very clean, the bed was comfortable, the hot shower was strong, and free wifi connection was fast, reliable and efficient. Free two bottled water was provided everyday. It was worth to include breakfast at Traders Cafe. The buffet offered a sumptuous wide selection of western, Asian, and local food. The Fitness Centre at the 5th level is a one stop place to go to - swimming pool, gym sauna, steam room, massage & Jacuzzi. Internet bookings of accommodations and flights around Myanmar were difficult and unreliable. The Business Center can give you informations and help you arrange your flights to other places to visit in Myanmar. The staff spoke English, were friendly and efficient.
We walked to Bogyoke Aung San Market, Sule Pagoda, High Court, City Hall, Maha Bandoola Garden, and Chinatown. Taxis to Shwedagon Pagoda cost 2000 kyats. Nearby is 999 Shan Noodle House for cheap and tasty Myanmar sticky rice or wheat noodles. Walk around, enjoy people watching and discover the Myanmar culture and way of life.

Room Tip: Request for a room at a higher level far from where renovations are on going.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews