We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay (traders' club)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Ranked #5 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent stay (traders' club)”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our room was on the 21th floor, it was a traders' club room which means we had breakfast in the club lounge and had a happy hour between 17:00 and 19:00, with free drinks (including wine and cocktails) and food. Breakfast was excellent, with buffet and wide choice of omelettes and pancakes/waffles, best breakfast during our stay in myanmar. The room was spacious and confortable, the queue for the lift was not too long. We tried the swimming pool once, not the most attractive one, but it was great during the hot day. Service was very good. Wifi worked well, we could even skype. Location is great, you can walk to scott's market and there's a supermarket (superone) at a walking distance. We never tried the restaurant. We would come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay-bologna-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    930
    194
    38
    32
See reviews for
286
946
204
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

What a great hotel with 5 star service...the restaurant was awesome. Great pool. Our guide warned us that wifi could be bad...not the case during our stay. The staff always had a smile for you. This is how all hotels in Myanmar should function but we knew that accommodations during our travels throughout Myanmar would go down hill...sadly it did. The only drawback was the smoking near the lounge area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyStayMyOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

After banging around SEA for a few months we had a stay at Traders in Yangon. It was a real five star stay. The breakfast and dinner buffets are incredible! The wifi was perfect. Friendly people who really perfect service with a smile. Sometimes you just have to spoil yourself! It's also in a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kluang, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

the hotel is in good location. prices are 6 star and they never seems to have rooms, the impression i got is they only have club room ALL the time.

local employee are good. the foreigners seems to be missing the smile.

forever renovation and they are not sorry for that. the good news, i got 50
% discount after the bombing incident and that also i requested. pathetic.

the lif is horribe. long waiting time.

Room Tip: get rooms below 8 floor. faster lif turnaround time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The best place to stay if you are looking for all the comforts of home (USA) at affordable prices in a great neighborhood where you can walk to so much. Lovely staff, great food and the Lounge is fantastic. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Yangon. This is the only place to stay in my book.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Shropshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at Traders Hotel at the start & end of out trip to Myanmar. We had been concerned about the reports of the 'bomb' 2 weeks before we went, but our travel agent explained there was no need to worry. We soon realised we had absolutely no need to worry. Myanmar is a FABULOUS place, Traders had installed security checks (the only hotel we came across this), and we all felt very safe. The hotel itself is superb. Top quality, rooms are great, most have a view, our 2nd stay we had a full pagoda view. We had a Club room, which are high up - 18th floor and above, which give you access to the Club lounge. Happy Hour (5.30-7.30pm) is great as all drinks and snacks are free. The restaurant on the ground floor was also a delight, on our first night we opted for fish & chips rather than the buffet as we'd been travelling so long our bodies were not that hungry to face the enormous buffet. Breakfast was great and plentiful, either buffet, or you could have eggs served to you to your liking. This hotel had full wi-fi, strong throughout the hotel, not something we experienced at every hotel, and the business section in the Club lounge was also free to use (both Windows & Mac).
A great start & end to our trip. I would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a club room to take advantage of the free bar & snacks at Happy hour, and you get great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was a fantastically well run Hotel bang in the centre of Yangon with room ,service ,staff,food etc all top notch. Only one problem we were unlucky enough to get allocated a room on a floor where they were "updating". The strong smell of varnish and the protective covers littering the corridors is not something we should have had to put up with !

Room Tip: Avoid the renovations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Yangon Max
Novotel Yangon Max
#4 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel Yangon
Savoy Hotel Yangon
#3 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Yangon
PARKROYAL Yangon
#10 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#2 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sule Shangri-La Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sule Shangri-La Yangon

Property: Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Address: 223 Sule Pagoda Rd., Pabedan Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#3 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#4 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sule Shangri-La Yangon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 22 story Hotel centrally located across from Bogyoke Market, in Yangon's business, cultural & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sule Shangri-La Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Yangon Rangoon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing